Bitcoin Forum
September 02, 2015, 11:48:26 PM *
News: New! Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.11.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: UPnP for auto-forwarding Bitcoin ports  (Read 6215 times)
ilovebitcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile

Ignore
August 20, 2010, 11:33:07 PM
 #1

How about using UPnP for auto-forwarding Bitcoin ports? (8333 TCP)

Also, why can't you use other ports?

15ucPt61t2uhiH5G3THkreYainZ47UHst8
1441237706
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1441237706

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1441237706
Reply with quote  #2

1441237706
Report to moderator
I HATE TABLES I HATE TABLES I HA(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻ TABLES I HATE TABLES I HATE TABLES
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1441237706
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1441237706

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1441237706
Reply with quote  #2

1441237706
Report to moderator
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile

Ignore
August 21, 2010, 08:49:08 AM
 #2

How about using UPnP for auto-forwarding Bitcoin ports? (8333 TCP)

Also, why can't you use other ports?

Having UPnP enabled in your router is a security suicide. UPnP inside your trusted local network is ok, but I would not use it in your router.
ilovebitcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile

Ignore
August 21, 2010, 09:36:37 AM
 #3

I've seen a few people saying that, but honestly, I don't see why it would be a suicide. I don't really care that an application can change my port forwarding configuration. Why would I?

15ucPt61t2uhiH5G3THkreYainZ47UHst8
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile

Ignore
August 21, 2010, 09:50:57 AM
 #4

I've seen a few people saying that, but honestly, I don't see why it would be a suicide. I don't really care that an application can change my port forwarding configuration. Why would I?

If someone can open ports in your router it can led to all kind of security holes. There was even a bug in the windows implementation of upnp that allowed anyone in the internet to open a port in your router. Its just not safe to allow automatically opening ports in your router.
ilovebitcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile

Ignore
August 21, 2010, 09:59:01 AM
 #5

A malicious application would focus on deleting everything, so what more is destroyed if UPnP is enabled?

15ucPt61t2uhiH5G3THkreYainZ47UHst8
cocodapuf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile

Ignore
July 07, 2011, 10:24:58 PM
 #6

A malicious application would focus on deleting everything, so what more is destroyed if UPnP is enabled?
Where'd you get that idea? A malicious application would have no interest in deleting stuff, your PC is way more useful intact, but under remote control.
Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 556


View Profile

Ignore
July 08, 2011, 03:43:50 PM
 #7

If there already is malicious software on your computer it doesn't really matter if UPnP is enabled or not.
Disabling UPnP does not prevent outgoing connections.
NAT is not a firewall. Really.

Bitmessage: BM-2cX6rekaVpHEDvASupDCwnaCthDsJYPGDJ
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!