Bitcoin Forum
September 28, 2016, 10:10:08 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.0 (New!) [Torrent]. Make sure you verify it.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: UPnP for auto-forwarding Bitcoin ports  (Read 6940 times)
ilovebitcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 20, 2010, 11:33:07 PM
 #1

How about using UPnP for auto-forwarding Bitcoin ports? (8333 TCP)

Also, why can't you use other ports?

15ucPt61t2uhiH5G3THkreYainZ47UHst8
1475100608
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475100608

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475100608
Reply with quote  #2

1475100608
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1475100608
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475100608

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475100608
Reply with quote  #2

1475100608
Report to moderator
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
August 21, 2010, 08:49:08 AM
 #2

How about using UPnP for auto-forwarding Bitcoin ports? (8333 TCP)

Also, why can't you use other ports?

Having UPnP enabled in your router is a security suicide. UPnP inside your trusted local network is ok, but I would not use it in your router.
ilovebitcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 21, 2010, 09:36:37 AM
 #3

I've seen a few people saying that, but honestly, I don't see why it would be a suicide. I don't really care that an application can change my port forwarding configuration. Why would I?

15ucPt61t2uhiH5G3THkreYainZ47UHst8
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
August 21, 2010, 09:50:57 AM
 #4

I've seen a few people saying that, but honestly, I don't see why it would be a suicide. I don't really care that an application can change my port forwarding configuration. Why would I?

If someone can open ports in your router it can led to all kind of security holes. There was even a bug in the windows implementation of upnp that allowed anyone in the internet to open a port in your router. Its just not safe to allow automatically opening ports in your router.
ilovebitcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 21, 2010, 09:59:01 AM
 #5

A malicious application would focus on deleting everything, so what more is destroyed if UPnP is enabled?

15ucPt61t2uhiH5G3THkreYainZ47UHst8
cocodapuf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 10:24:58 PM
 #6

A malicious application would focus on deleting everything, so what more is destroyed if UPnP is enabled?
Where'd you get that idea? A malicious application would have no interest in deleting stuff, your PC is way more useful intact, but under remote control.
Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 624



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 03:43:50 PM
 #7

If there already is malicious software on your computer it doesn't really matter if UPnP is enabled or not.
Disabling UPnP does not prevent outgoing connections.
NAT is not a firewall. Really.

Bitcoin donations: 1H2BHSyuwLP9vqt2p3bK9G3mDJsAi7qChw
Siacoin donations: a1f21647e7045c9db6f1380b38f1464f54a532a22763aac8bafb122adfa502eda9b7dfcaf654
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!