Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Bitcoin Technical Support => Topic started by: soy on July 13, 2015, 09:11:16 PM



Title: bitcoin core, 2 systems.
Post by: soy on July 13, 2015, 09:11:16 PM
I have Bitcoin Core on two systems.  One is synchronized the other still a few weeks behind.  I know I can copy the blockchain from one to a properly configured external drive then load the blockchain to the newer system using the command line switches.  But, can I add the complete system as a peer to the incomplete system?  It's only a few weeks behind but getting data slowly.  It will probably be complete by tomorrow morning regardless but just wondering.


Title: Re: bitcoin core, 2 systems.
Post by: achow101 on July 13, 2015, 10:00:16 PM
I have Bitcoin Core on two systems.  One is synchronized the other still a few weeks behind.  I know I can copy the blockchain from one to a properly configured external drive then load the blockchain to the newer system using the command line switches.  But, can I add the complete system as a peer to the incomplete system?  It's only a few weeks behind but getting data slowly.  It will probably be complete by tomorrow morning regardless but just wondering.
You can start up the incomplete one with the flag
Code:
-addnode=<your other system's ip>
This will let it connect to your other one, although it may not download the blockchain from it.


Title: Re: bitcoin core, 2 systems.
Post by: soy on July 13, 2015, 10:26:59 PM
I have Bitcoin Core on two systems.  One is synchronized the other still a few weeks behind.  I know I can copy the blockchain from one to a properly configured external drive then load the blockchain to the newer system using the command line switches.  But, can I add the complete system as a peer to the incomplete system?  It's only a few weeks behind but getting data slowly.  It will probably be complete by tomorrow morning regardless but just wondering.
You can start up the incomplete one with the flag
Code:
-addnode=<your other system's ip>
This will let it connect to your other one, although it may not download the blockchain from it.

If making the complete blockchain system a node and using said switch to add its ip as a node  to the not yet complete system, presently up to block 364402 Jul 8, 2015, why not?  Isn't that a node function?


Title: Re: bitcoin core, 2 systems.
Post by: achow101 on July 13, 2015, 11:42:45 PM
I have Bitcoin Core on two systems.  One is synchronized the other still a few weeks behind.  I know I can copy the blockchain from one to a properly configured external drive then load the blockchain to the newer system using the command line switches.  But, can I add the complete system as a peer to the incomplete system?  It's only a few weeks behind but getting data slowly.  It will probably be complete by tomorrow morning regardless but just wondering.
You can start up the incomplete one with the flag
Code:
-addnode=<your other system's ip>
This will let it connect to your other one, although it may not download the blockchain from it.

If making the complete blockchain system a node and using said switch to add its ip as a node  to the not yet complete system, presently up to block 364402 Jul 8, 2015, why not?  Isn't that a node function?
If it connects to other nodes as well, it may download the blockchain from other nodes. To prevent it from connected elsewhere, use
Code:
-connect=<your other system's ip>
instead. -connect will make it only connect to the specified node(s).


Title: Re: bitcoin core, 2 systems.
Post by: soy on July 14, 2015, 12:06:44 AM
I have Bitcoin Core on two systems.  One is synchronized the other still a few weeks behind.  I know I can copy the blockchain from one to a properly configured external drive then load the blockchain to the newer system using the command line switches.  But, can I add the complete system as a peer to the incomplete system?  It's only a few weeks behind but getting data slowly.  It will probably be complete by tomorrow morning regardless but just wondering.
You can start up the incomplete one with the flag
Code:
-addnode=<your other system's ip>
This will let it connect to your other one, although it may not download the blockchain from it.

If making the complete blockchain system a node and using said switch to add its ip as a node  to the not yet complete system, presently up to block 364402 Jul 8, 2015, why not?  Isn't that a node function?
If it connects to other nodes as well, it may download the blockchain from other nodes. To prevent it from connected elsewhere, use
Code:
-connect=<your other system's ip>
instead. -connect will make it only connect to the specified node(s).

TY


Title: Re: bitcoin core, 2 systems.
Post by: soy on July 16, 2015, 06:18:23 PM
Both nodes on 192.168.1.0 and both have the other added, the one which is behind by only 50 blocks has 7 peers ping time n/a and the one node, my other system with a complete blockchain at 285ms.  The node with the completed blockchain lists 9 connections, all showing a ping time.  The nodes showing n/a in ping time aren't listed on the complete blockchain node.  Perhaps I should add those nodes to the incomplete node.


Title: Re: bitcoin core, 2 systems.
Post by: achow101 on July 16, 2015, 06:22:39 PM
Both nodes on 192.168.1.0 and both have the other added, the one which is behind by only 50 blocks has 7 peers ping time n/a and the one node, my other system with a complete blockchain at 285ms.  The node with the completed blockchain lists 9 connections, all showing a ping time.  The nodes showing n/a in ping time aren't listed on the complete blockchain node.  Perhaps I should add those nodes to the incomplete node.

Did you use -connect or -addnode?


Title: Re: bitcoin core, 2 systems.
Post by: d4n13 on July 17, 2015, 10:20:39 PM
I have Bitcoin Core on two systems.  One is synchronized the other still a few weeks behind.  I know I can copy the blockchain from one to a properly configured external drive then load the blockchain to the newer system using the command line switches.  But, can I add the complete system as a peer to the incomplete system?  It's only a few weeks behind but getting data slowly.  It will probably be complete by tomorrow morning regardless but just wondering.
Since you didn't name your OS, I'll assume Windows.
Thread: HOWTO: Run Windows Bitcoin-Qt with Blockchain elsewhere (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1097174.0)
Transaction Rescue Bounty Campaign (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1123441.0), ... Charitable Transaction Rescue Service (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1123063.0)