Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Bitcoin Technical Support => Topic started by: Gifted on November 04, 2015, 03:38:55 AM



Title: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: Gifted on November 04, 2015, 03:38:55 AM
Hi, I am new to bitcoind and linux and i'm trying to learn. I have recently Bought a gambling script from someone and i thought i could install myself to learn.

In the config file it asks

$rpc = array(
      'login' => 'RPC_login',
      'password' => 'RPC_password',

Ive searched google and have found so many confusing instructions or out of date.

Im using thcservers.com that i bought with bitcoin  and i have access to ssh but do i really need ssh or can i upload and configure manualy.Does the server have to download the blockchain through shell?




If anyone can tell me what to do step by step that would be great. :)


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: achow101 on November 04, 2015, 03:40:16 AM
What is the server OS? You will probably need to do it through ssh, and it is actually easier that way.


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: Gifted on November 04, 2015, 03:41:02 AM
What is the server OS? You will probably need to do it through ssh, and it is actually easier that way.
linux, i have been trying through ssh but its new to me


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: achow101 on November 04, 2015, 03:42:41 AM
What is the server OS? You will probably need to do it through ssh, and it is actually easier that way.
linux
What linux distro? Ubuntu? Debian? CentOS? FreeBSD? etc.


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: Gifted on November 04, 2015, 03:45:42 AM
What is the server OS? You will probably need to do it through ssh, and it is actually easier that way.
linux
What linux distro? Ubuntu? Debian? Fedora? Mint? etc.
How do i find out??  in the cpanel it just says linux


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: achow101 on November 04, 2015, 03:47:36 AM
What is the server OS? You will probably need to do it through ssh, and it is actually easier that way.
linux
What linux distro? Ubuntu? Debian? Fedora? Mint? etc.
How do i find out??  in the cpanel it just says linux
Open up an ssh session and type
Code:
lsb_release -a
into the console. Post the output here.


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: CrappyJavaScriptDev on November 04, 2015, 03:49:34 AM
What is the server OS? You will probably need to do it through ssh, and it is actually easier that way.
linux
What linux distro? Ubuntu? Debian? Fedora? Mint? etc.
How do i find out??  in the cpanel it just says linux

What you have is website hosting which more than likely denies you root access and wont allow you to install bitcoin. Does the script allow remote connections to bitcoind?


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: Gifted on November 04, 2015, 03:50:00 AM
What is the server OS? You will probably need to do it through ssh, and it is actually easier that way.
linux
What linux distro? Ubuntu? Debian? Fedora? Mint? etc.
How do i find out??  in the cpanel it just says linux
Open up an ssh session and type
Code:
lsb_release -a
into the console. Post the output here.
  -bash: lsb_release: command not found


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: achow101 on November 04, 2015, 03:51:22 AM
-bash: lsb_release: command not found

That's odd, it should work. Try
Code:
cat /etc/*-release


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: Gifted on November 04, 2015, 03:52:59 AM
-bash: lsb_release: command not found

That's odd, it should work. Try
Code:
cat /etc/*-release
cat: /etc/*-release: No such file or directory


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: Gifted on November 04, 2015, 03:56:04 AM
i have tried many different system instructions and none work so i guess this is my first problem. let me ask my server help window, now waiting for respond.


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: CrappyJavaScriptDev on November 04, 2015, 04:00:24 AM
i have tried many different system instructions and none work so i guess this is my first problem

Like I said...You have the wrong type of hosting. You have cpanel hosting when you instead need a VPS.

If the script you purchased allows for remote connections to bitcoind you can install bitcoin on your home pc (or any other server) and allow remote connections so that your cpanel host can connect to your bitcoind node at home OR you can buy a VPS and install bitcoin and a web server on that.


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: Gifted on November 04, 2015, 04:01:10 AM
Ok i'm using     CentOS


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: Gifted on November 04, 2015, 04:02:16 AM
i have tried many different system instructions and none work so i guess this is my first problem

Like I said...You have the wrong type of hosting. You have cpanel hosting when you instead need a VPS.

If the script you purchased allows for remote connections to bitcoind you can install bitcoin on your home pc (or any other server) and allow remote connections so that your cpanel host can connect to your bitcoind node at home OR you can buy a VPS and install bitcoin and a web server on that.
 Ok, thats sound good...how do i do this? i do have vps already installed on my computer


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: achow101 on November 04, 2015, 04:03:43 AM
cat: /etc/*-release: No such file or directory

Well that's a problem.

I just checked the website and I think you are using CentOS 6 since that is the default linux version for vps with cpanel.

Type the following commands:
Code:
yum install nano
nano ~/.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf

This will open up an interactive window where you can edit text.

Add the following lines:
Code:
server=1
rpcuser=<YOUR USERNAME>
rpcpassword=<YOUR PASSWORD>
where <YOUR USERNAME> and <YOUR PASSWORD> is the username and password you want for the rpc server. The password should be hard to guess and a random string of letters and numbers because knowing the user and pass means that someone could potentially send commands to the rpc server and steal all of the bitcoin there.

Then hit Ctrl+x and follow the prompts to save the file. Once that is done, start up bitcoind (or restart it). In the config file for the gambling script, set the RPC_Login and RPC_password to <YOUR USERNAME> and <YOUR PASSWORD> respectively. Make sure to keep the single quotes around each one so that it recognizes the strings.


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: achow101 on November 04, 2015, 04:04:34 AM
i have tried many different system instructions and none work so i guess this is my first problem

Like I said...You have the wrong type of hosting. You have cpanel hosting when you instead need a VPS.

If the script you purchased allows for remote connections to bitcoind you can install bitcoin on your home pc (or any other server) and allow remote connections so that your cpanel host can connect to your bitcoind node at home OR you can buy a VPS and install bitcoin and a web server on that.
That is wrong. The hosting service has the option for a VPS with cpanel also installed. Since he has ssh access, he can do the stuff I posted above.


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: CrappyJavaScriptDev on November 04, 2015, 04:06:34 AM
i have tried many different system instructions and none work so i guess this is my first problem

Like I said...You have the wrong type of hosting. You have cpanel hosting when you instead need a VPS.

If the script you purchased allows for remote connections to bitcoind you can install bitcoin on your home pc (or any other server) and allow remote connections so that your cpanel host can connect to your bitcoind node at home OR you can buy a VPS and install bitcoin and a web server on that.
That is wrong. The hosting service has the option for a VPS with cpanel also installed. Since he has ssh access, he can do the stuff I posted above.

Ah didn't see that you can choose to have your VPS come preinstalled with cpanel. I guess we will need clarification on which plan OP picked from https://www.thcservers.com.


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: Gifted on November 04, 2015, 04:16:35 AM
ok i confirmed, it is saved


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: Gifted on November 04, 2015, 04:22:59 AM
ok bitcoind is not starting up...what is the command line?


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: achow101 on November 04, 2015, 04:24:36 AM
Thankyou very much i guess now i setup a blockchain account and get private key
Your welcome. If you'd like, you can tip my address in my signature.


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: Gifted on November 04, 2015, 04:36:12 AM
Thankyou very much i guess now i setup a blockchain account and get private key
Your welcome. If you'd like, you can tip my address in my signature.
I dont think i installed bitcoind right or not sure if im using right command to run bitcoind


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: achow101 on November 04, 2015, 05:09:45 AM
I dont think i installed bitcoind right or not sure if im using right command to run bitcoind

What error are you getting?


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: Gifted on November 04, 2015, 05:19:35 AM
I dont think i installed bitcoind right or not sure if im using right command to run bitcoind

What error are you getting?
    Not enough file descriptors available.
when i use this command  ./bitcoin-0.11.1/bin/bitcoind &


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: achow101 on November 04, 2015, 05:21:12 AM
I dont think i installed bitcoind right or not sure if im using right command to run bitcoind

What error are you getting?
   Not enough file descriptors available.
when i use this command  ./bitcoin-0.11.1/bin/bitcoind &
You need more RAM. You need set least 4Gb of RAM to run bitcoind decently well. I suggest that you upgrade your server.


Title: Re: Noob help with rpc bitcoind
Post by: Gifted on November 04, 2015, 05:37:22 AM
I dont think i installed bitcoind right or not sure if im using right command to run bitcoind

What error are you getting?
   Not enough file descriptors available.
when i use this command  ./bitcoin-0.11.1/bin/bitcoind &
You need more RAM. You need set least 4Gb of RAM to run bitcoind decently well. I suggest that you upgrade your server.
oh i see  thank you. is there a way around it using my computer at home like the other guy said with vpn?