Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:34:16 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PCIe x1 bandwidth ok?  (Read 2365 times)
Jokah
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 07:07:46 PM
 #1

On my Asus P8Z68-V pro it has three PCIe slots running at x16, x8, x4.

From what I have been told, on other forums, if I put three cards in this board the lanes will run at x8, x1, x1. Is this correct?

Can anyone clarify if this is how it will run and if so will this be adequate for mining. I know running at x4 doesn't really affect mining but is x1 taking it a bit too far?

1480854856
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480854856

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480854856
Reply with quote  #2

1480854856
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 01:05:56 AM
 #2

For mining all you need is processing power - not bandwidth. x1 is sufficient.
Jokah
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:38:34 PM
 #3

Brilliant. Turns out I might be wrong though. I've now been told it runs as x8, x4, x4 but disables some features on the board. Either way I'm good to go.
Coma
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:05:13 PM
 #4

Does Mhash/s affects bandwidth needs?
For little as it might be, what is the required PCIE bandwidth?
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:12:12 PM
 #5

pcie x1 can handle 250MB/s. Mining require few kB/s. If it were only a matter of bandwidth you could connect thousands of cards to on pci e x1 and it would still be sufficient
Coma
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:39:05 PM
 #6

Ok, I understand that. But can someone explain why mining requires only uses a few kB/s?
Haxxy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:45:10 PM
 #7

Ok, I understand that. But can someone explain why mining requires only uses a few kB/s?

I would imagine it's because after being given the task, it doesn't need to talk to the rest of the computer much as long as it's calculating. Drawing graphics and such must require much more communication with the rest of the PC, sending and receiving tons of new information every second.

Coma
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:08:22 PM
 #8

Ok, I understand that. But can someone explain why mining requires only uses a few kB/s?

I would imagine it's because after being given the task, it doesn't need to talk to the rest of the computer much as long as it's calculating. Drawing graphics and such must require much more communication with the rest of the PC, sending and receiving tons of new information every second.

So far so good, but when the gpu decides to communicate, what does it communicates and why?

Thanks for the answers, guys.
Haxxy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 08:35:32 PM
 #9

For that matter, would a standard PCI slot work for mining?  I can't recall if the card will downclock itself, or if the form factor will even match.

The form factor won't match, and I'm sure the slot even supplies a different amount of power or something.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!