Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 10:31:09 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 2 cards mining, 1 consistent the other varies Help please :)  (Read 2725 times)
Jdumond
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 02:11:47 AM
 #1

Hello-

I recently popped my two 5830's in my box.

I did not crossfire them, and when i begin to mine they both put out around 255.5 M/Hs

if I wait a couple of seconds the second card will drop down to 150 M/H's

I am using windows 7 64 bit
GuiMiner 5/21/11


any help?

I dont like the guy. How many reasons do I have? alot.
How many reasons do I need? none.
I just dont like the guy.

Donate here: 1Juv5x7PHcNQdRzdUpWK1DHMKwMy7j7zxj
Tradehill: TH-R11447
1480717869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717869
Reply with quote  #2

1480717869
Report to moderator
1480717869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717869
Reply with quote  #2

1480717869
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 02:19:25 AM
 #2

Hello-

I recently pooped my two 5830's in my box.

I did not crossfire them, and when i begin to mine they both put out around 255.5 M/Hs

if I wait a couple of seconds the second card will drop down to 150 M/H's

I am using windows 7 64 bit
GuiMiner 5/21/11


any help?

Try with poclbm first, run one on the first GPU, wait 10 minutes and and then run another one on the second GPU, wait a few and then see if it drops, try playing with -f and -w.
Iceredwing
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 02:32:01 AM
 #3

are you sure you are not running more mining instances on a single card? I do that sometimes.
Jdumond
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 02:38:32 AM
 #4

I have tried the first option of waiting, starting another s3ession of the miner, i am getting the same results

pcie x8 v x16 matter at all?

what flags would you suggest i try?

Thank you again.

I dont like the guy. How many reasons do I have? alot.
How many reasons do I need? none.
I just dont like the guy.

Donate here: 1Juv5x7PHcNQdRzdUpWK1DHMKwMy7j7zxj
Tradehill: TH-R11447
lentilboy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 02:51:53 AM
 #5

Check your GPU temp on the troubled card.  I had a similar problem when a GPU went >90C. 
Jdumond
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 03:24:15 AM
 #6

Check your GPU temp on the troubled card.  I had a similar problem when a GPU went >90C.  

You are completely correct, I didn't even notice card was at 93c.

The fan on the card is not functioning, sigh, RMA time i suppose

Thank you for your help.

I dont like the guy. How many reasons do I have? alot.
How many reasons do I need? none.
I just dont like the guy.

Donate here: 1Juv5x7PHcNQdRzdUpWK1DHMKwMy7j7zxj
Tradehill: TH-R11447
ronaldinho_07
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 03:47:16 AM
 #7

i have 2 HD5870,i'm using win 7 ultimate x86 with CCC 11.4 SDK 2.1.
but when mining,only the first HD5870 runs Huh

how can i fix it ? Any guide for me   Embarrassed
thanks
HudsonStan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 08:18:25 AM
 #8

Check your GPU temp on the troubled card.  I had a similar problem when a GPU went >90C. 
It is temperature problem mostly.
I have 2x HD5870 and second was steadily 100Mh/s under first. One 120mm fan gives me this 100MH/s, so it is definitely best coin/buck hardware :-)

1Bgii2mFTks2xbtF7RBk6ZzSTP5rvyQEKB
lastobelus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 09:04:19 AM
 #9

seems to be a bug in linux with the graphics drivers & gnome or whatever the desktop gui is called.

Here's how it affected me:

running 4 cards. If I ran the 3 that my monitor was not plugged into, all was fine.

If I ran the "main" card, cpu would peg at 100%. The mhash rate of ALL cards would fluctuate wildly, averaging about 10-15% lower than when not running the main card.

Top would show kworker using 40%cpu, and the miners (phoenix) using up to 20%

I switched to headless ( with a /etc/init/gdm.conf that looks like exec /usr/bin/X 2>&1) and all was good.

all four cards run at a consistent rate, and cpu is about 5%


(this is actually the first time in my life I've used a linux gui! even though I've logged thousands of hours on linux servers. And I didn't use it long before ditching it...)
fasti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 09:28:10 AM
 #10

I have 2x 6950 in linux, if I'm on it with remote desktop or locally, the secondary card drops from 340Mhash/s -> 260Mhash/s. But if I leave the comp alone(no one logged in/no cables attached), deepbit reports ~680Mhash/s over time. And I have equal amount of done shares from both of them.

1QCcAR3e3wdxr7CcJ8ND1NmWuvLttCJScH
andrepcg
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113



View Profile WWW
May 27, 2011, 04:07:12 PM
 #11

i have a 5850 and a 5830. if i run only the 5850 (device 0) i get 300 Mh/s @ 55ºC. as soon as i open the second miner for 5830 (device 1). the performance for the 5850 decreases to 260 Mh/s @ 58ºC. im sure this is not about temps...

windows xp
phoenix miner phatk kernel
cpu load 15%


when 5850 is mining alone, gpu usage stays @ 95%.
when 5850 is mining at the same time as 5830, 5850 gpu load decreases to 80% and 5830 gpu load stays @ 92%

im using the 5850 as my primary card


can you help me??

█  Bitcoin-Portugal  █ • Carrega Telemóvel com Bitcoins • Blog
1FjknJQA2EigBrDov8dXFgiXqdzZBopNnb
Batouzo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 04:17:20 PM
 #12

Are you sure this can't be effect of GUI using the card?  Try -f 1 or similar FPS option.

Other reasons for card slowing might be network problems (but no reason for it to affect just one card)...

Is it always the 2nd card? Even if it works alone? As last resort I would try if switching their places (PCIe slots) helps (probably not)
andrepcg
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113



View Profile WWW
May 27, 2011, 04:29:28 PM
 #13

if i mine only with 5850 (device 0) using -k phatk DEVICE=0 PLATFORM=0 AGGRESSION=5 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=128 -> 315 Mh/s (gpu @ 95%, temp @ 60ºC)


as soon as i start mining with 5830 (device 1) using -k phatk DEVICE=1 PLATFORM=0 AGGRESSION=6 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 (so now their mining at the same time), 5850 drops to 260 Mh/s and 5830 stays at 245 Mh/s

█  Bitcoin-Portugal  █ • Carrega Telemóvel com Bitcoins • Blog
1FjknJQA2EigBrDov8dXFgiXqdzZBopNnb
keybaud
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 06:37:25 PM
 #14

Hello-

I recently popped my two 5830's in my box.

I did not crossfire them, and when i begin to mine they both put out around 255.5 M/Hs

if I wait a couple of seconds the second card will drop down to 150 M/H's

I am using windows 7 64 bit
GuiMiner 5/21/11


any help?

Is the card that drops regularly the one your monitor is on? if you use the PC whilst mining the GPU will still need to be used to display the desktop, which will reduce your hash rate, especially if you start watching things on Youtube with Flash hardware acceleration enabled...
andrepcg
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113



View Profile WWW
May 27, 2011, 06:49:25 PM
 #15

yes, the card that drops hash rates is the one the monitor is connected to. im not playing any video or anything like that

but that doesnt explain why i can get 320 Mh/s (98% gpu usage) on the primary card (display) while the other card is not being used.

EDIT:

i found what the problem was. i was using chrome with gpu acceleration. closed it and started the miners again and everything is fine now Cheesy

█  Bitcoin-Portugal  █ • Carrega Telemóvel com Bitcoins • Blog
1FjknJQA2EigBrDov8dXFgiXqdzZBopNnb
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 06:39:03 AM
 #16

yes, the card that drops hash rates is the one the monitor is connected to. im not playing any video or anything like that

but that doesnt explain why i can get 320 Mh/s (98% gpu usage) on the primary card (display) while the other card is not being used.

EDIT:

i found what the problem was. i was using chrome with gpu acceleration. closed it and started the miners again and everything is fine now Cheesy


hmm, hadn't thought of that, Smiley
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!