Bitcoin Forum
July 16, 2024, 10:42:02 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Super basic questions about your mining experience...  (Read 586 times)
matthew1820 (OP)

Activity: 8
Merit: 0

View Profile
April 03, 2015, 11:48:27 PM
Last edit: April 04, 2015, 12:37:48 AM by matthew1820

I'm learning how to run mining software just to gain some experience with it. Right now I'm CPU mining Dash at a very low hash rate, while working on bringing my GPU online next. I've never used any of this tech before... wallets, miners, anything. I've never even done a crypto transaction, so it's all new to me.

So, I'm connected to a p2pool node with my CPU miner churning out a scorching ~130 kH/s from 3 of 4 cores.  Grin

I get a lot of these:

Code:
[2015-04-03 17:38:39] Stratum detected new block

I get a few of these per minute:

Code:
[2015-04-03 17:39:36] accepted: 168/169 (99.41%), 132.47 khash/s (yay!!!)

And I occasionally get one of these:

Code:
[2015-04-03 17:45:28] Stratum connection timed out
[2015-04-03 17:45:28] Stratum connection interrupted

It's been 4 days so far and, as expected, there've been no payouts. Looking at other miners in the pool with similar hash rates, it could easily be a couple of weeks before I score anything, if I do at all.

I'm curious, though, about a few things:  Huh

How will I know if I am paid? Does the miner alert me to that fact? Will my wallet simply update as coin goes into the receiving address? Is there anything else I need to do to allow it to happen?

Is there anything I can do (besides waiting and hoping or adding more hash rate!) to make sure my configuration is working? How long do I give it (at this ridiculously low hash rate) before I decide it's broken?

Is there actually a minimum hash rate below which the pool will never pay anything?