Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 11:01:34 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Wrong network?  (Read 952 times)
zombieslayer9099
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120

Java Coder


View Profile
April 07, 2015, 12:21:44 AM
 #1

Code:
-ERROR - 1428364614: (BDM_mainthread.cpp:429) BDM thread failed: Block file '/Users/admin/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/blocks/blk00253.dat' is the wrong network! File: 00000000, expecting f9beb4d9

What does this mean? I pray that I don't need to rebuild my Core database.

Did you know there are 1,461,501,637,330,902,918,203,684,832,716,283,019,655,932,542,976 possible bitcoin addresses? To put that into perspective, that's greater than the width of the universe in zeptometers (10^-21 meter).
  ▁ ▂ ▄ ▅ ▆ Cloudmining 101: how to avoid scams  ▆ ▅ ▄ ▂ ▁
1513206094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513206094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513206094
Reply with quote  #2

1513206094
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513206094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513206094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513206094
Reply with quote  #2

1513206094
Report to moderator
1513206094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513206094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513206094
Reply with quote  #2

1513206094
Report to moderator
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
April 07, 2015, 01:00:26 AM
 #2

Looks like, for some reason, there's a chunk of data in the file that has 0x00000000 instead of a mainnet block's "magic bytes." Not sure offhand why this would happen. Somebody else will have to comment.

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1694

Armory Developer


View Profile
April 07, 2015, 01:35:27 AM
 #3

Look at the file content yourself, is it leading 0s?

zombieslayer9099
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120

Java Coder


View Profile
April 07, 2015, 02:14:57 AM
 #4

"f9 be b4 d9" are the first bytes, I think that may have just been a weird bug in Armory

Did you know there are 1,461,501,637,330,902,918,203,684,832,716,283,019,655,932,542,976 possible bitcoin addresses? To put that into perspective, that's greater than the width of the universe in zeptometers (10^-21 meter).
  ▁ ▂ ▄ ▅ ▆ Cloudmining 101: how to avoid scams  ▆ ▅ ▄ ▂ ▁
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1694

Armory Developer


View Profile
April 07, 2015, 02:19:38 AM
 #5

"f9 be b4 d9" are the first bytes, I think that may have just been a weird bug in Armory

It's possible Armory looked at the file right when Core created it but before anything was written to it, so it read a bunch of 0s instead.

helgabutters
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
April 25, 2015, 12:05:40 AM
 #6

I am having this issue consistently in 0.93.1 Linux.

I leave armory running 24/7 and check on it every few days. Most of the time I'll find this error which means it hasn't been keeping the database updated so it crashes armory and I need to restart and wait for it to catch up.
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1694

Armory Developer


View Profile
April 25, 2015, 08:12:53 AM
 #7

The issue isn't so much that this situation happens but that Armory considers it's a fatal throw and kills the main backend thread as a result (instead of ignoring this error). Will be fixed in the upcoming version.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!