Bitcoin Forum
May 07, 2024, 01:35:48 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: An open letter to April 14th, 2018.  (Read 1695 times)
americanpegasus (OP)

Activity: 770
Merit: 502

View Profile
April 14, 2015, 08:24:59 AM

Hello future.  The date is April 14th, three years ago (2015).  I am americanpegasus, the author of the Declaration of Blockchain Independance and Labrys (the first fictional novel built around bitcoin, to be released in a few months time).  In 2018 I am also famous as one of bitcoin's biggest proponents, though here in 2015 I am just getting started.  

I write this as a greeting from a different time.  A time when a million bits cost $220 (a whole 'bitcoin'), and a single U.S. Dollar could buy you 4,500 entire bits.   Grin

I know, that sounds crazy.  But don't envy us.  The decision seems obvious in retrospect, but even as one of bitcoin's biggest fans, I tell you the atmosphere is anything but obvious right now.   Huh

Many of you already knew about bitcoin in 2015, and many of you didn't.  Some of you heard about it and dismissed it as silliness.  I know I certainly derided it when I first encountered it at the peak of the 2013 bubble; I thought it was some kind of World of Warcraft gold or something.  Regardless, I'll bet you certainly know about it by now.  Things have probably changed slightly, huh?