Bitcoin Forum
October 16, 2019, 10:52:54 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: AntMiner S5 Hardware Errors  (Read 4458 times)
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
April 21, 2015, 12:14:05 AM
 #1

One of my Antminer S5s, powered with a Corsair 750m PSU, sometimes has almost 2% hardware errors and either chain #1 or #2 powers down (as it is >10°C cooler than the other chain). Why is this? It's just this one S5 that has this issue.

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, & Twister posts pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571223174
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571223174

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571223174
Reply with quote  #2

1571223174
Report to moderator
1571223174
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571223174

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571223174
Reply with quote  #2

1571223174
Report to moderator
Zich
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1000

CryptoTalk.Org - Get Paid for every Post!


View Profile WWW
April 21, 2015, 01:18:47 AM
 #2

One of my Antminer S5s, powered with a Corsair 750m PSU, sometimes has almost 2% hardware errors and either chain #1 or #2 powers down (as it is >10°C cooler than the other chain). Why is this? It's just this one S5 that has this issue.

2% is still acceptable. But since you mention problem on chain 1 & 2, probably dead chips or bad connection.

 
                                . ██████████.
                              .████████████████.
                           .██████████████████████.
                        -█████████████████████████████
                     .██████████████████████████████████.
                  -█████████████████████████████████████████
               -███████████████████████████████████████████████
           .-█████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       ..████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████..
       .   .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .      .████████████████████████████████████████████████.

       .       .██████████████████████████████████████████████
       .    ██████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
           .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
              .████████████████████████████████████████████████
                   ████████████████████████████████████████
                      ██████████████████████████████████
                          ██████████████████████████
                             ████████████████████
                               ████████████████
                                   █████████
.CryptoTalk.org.|.MAKE POSTS AND EARN BTC!.🏆
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
April 21, 2015, 02:17:00 AM
 #3

2% is still acceptable. But since you mention problem on chain 1 & 2, probably dead chips or bad connection.
No dead chips are reported.

Sometimes chain #1 fails, and other times it's chain #2. I haven't seen both fail at the same time though. That's what's peculiar about it.

My average temperature is 52 °C, and the temp never exceeds about 68 °C. (Where the miner is isn't in a very constant temperature environment.)

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, & Twister posts pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
Zich
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1000

CryptoTalk.Org - Get Paid for every Post!


View Profile WWW
April 21, 2015, 02:23:44 AM
 #4

2% is still acceptable. But since you mention problem on chain 1 & 2, probably dead chips or bad connection.
No dead chips are reported.

Sometimes chain #1 fails, and other times it's chain #2. I haven't seen both fail at the same time though. That's what's peculiar about it.

My average temperature is 52 °C, and the temp never exceeds about 68 °C. (Where the miner is isn't in a very constant temperature environment.)

Maybe near dead chips, but you can check the ribbon cable and tighten them.

 
                                . ██████████.
                              .████████████████.
                           .██████████████████████.
                        -█████████████████████████████
                     .██████████████████████████████████.
                  -█████████████████████████████████████████
               -███████████████████████████████████████████████
           .-█████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       ..████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████..
       .   .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .      .████████████████████████████████████████████████.

       .       .██████████████████████████████████████████████
       .    ██████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
           .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
              .████████████████████████████████████████████████
                   ████████████████████████████████████████
                      ██████████████████████████████████
                          ██████████████████████████
                             ████████████████████
                               ████████████████
                                   █████████
.CryptoTalk.org.|.MAKE POSTS AND EARN BTC!.🏆
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1934



View Profile
April 21, 2015, 02:52:57 AM
 #5

One of my Antminer S5s, powered with a Corsair 750m PSU, sometimes has almost 2% hardware errors and either chain #1 or #2 powers down (as it is >10°C cooler than the other chain). Why is this? It's just this one S5 that has this issue.
[/quote}

Try switching psu from another s-5 see if the problem follows the psu or the s-5.

if the same s-5 still fails with a second psu drop the frequency on the "bad"  s-5

my guess is  the psu  a 750 corsair is a little weaker then it should be and the bad  s-5 is just a little weaker then it should be.

If I am right you run out of gas so to speak and it shows as 2% error rate.

what clock /freq do you use?  what is your hash rate.?


I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
April 21, 2015, 03:52:32 AM
 #6

Try switching psu from another s-5 see if the problem follows the psu or the s-5.
Yes, I do have a Rosewill 750W Capstone PSU I could try. It's an 80+ Gold, which technically should make it better than the Corsair 750m (which is a Bronze), even though the Rosewill was less expensive, right?

If I am right you run out of gas so to speak and it shows as 2% error rate.
Yes, that's correct.
what clock /freq do you use?  what is your hash rate.?
everything normal: 350 clock rate, 1.1 Thash/s hashing on average

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, & Twister posts pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
April 21, 2015, 05:53:57 AM
 #7

I updated to the new, April 15 firmware. Let's see if that fixes things.

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, & Twister posts pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
April 22, 2015, 09:53:18 PM
 #8

So, I'm using another PSU with it, and one of the two chains is still a much cooler (~20°C cooler) than the other, and it's only hashing at 526 Ghash/second (@350 clock rate). Clearly, one chain is dead.

So, that was using P2Pool. Switching to Eligius, things are hashing at normal rates, both chains are operating, etc. I really wonder why that would be.

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, & Twister posts pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2015, 11:22:01 PM
 #9

Why do I only have 4 operational ASICs on Chain #2? Did the other chips short out or something?

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, & Twister posts pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2015, 11:28:09 PM
 #10

Why do I only have 4 operational ASICs on Chain #2? Did the other chips short out or something?
Now my whole Chain #2 died. It's somewhat intermittent:


Why is my AntMiner S5 chain only intermittently operational? What could cause this, how could I diagnose it, and what is the solution? Will BitmainTech replace it for me? How do I know if it's under warranty? Is there a warranty?

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, & Twister posts pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 25, 2015, 11:34:50 PM
 #11

Why do I only have 4 operational ASICs on Chain #2? Did the other chips short out or something?
Now my whole Chain #2 died. It's somewhat intermittent:


Why is my AntMiner S5 chain only intermittently operational? What could cause this, how could I diagnose it, and what is the solution? Will BitmainTech replace it for me? How do I know if it's under warranty? Is there a warranty?

On warrenty did you buy from bitmain?  And has it been under 90 days.   That is warrenty and you must buy it from them for it.

And first look through - https://bitmain.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/204875015-How-to-diagnose-S5-hashing-PCB

Then if needed try - https://bitmain.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/203559969-My-S5-hashes-at-about-600GH-S
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
May 26, 2015, 02:49:24 AM
Last edit: May 26, 2015, 03:14:26 AM by Geremia
 #12

On warrenty did you buy from bitmain?  And has it been under 90 days.   That is warrenty and you must buy it from them for it.
Yes, it came from Bitmain, but it's been more than 90 days…I'll check those out; thank you

Oddly, I unplugged the "Power Cable to Control" (with it still running), which cut the power to it, and plugged it back in. I also sprayed the Chain #2 board with some electrical contact cleaner, and that helped. Now the little red light on that board is on! Thank you & may God bless you!

Update: But the it's no longer on now! ☹ It just shows: "------ -------- -------- -------- " in the "ASIC status". Hmm…

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, & Twister posts pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1119


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 26, 2015, 04:19:09 AM
 #13

If the problem was on one hashing board, I'd say its the S5, but because the problem is moving it becomes 50x more likely that its the shared resource, being the PSU. Test with your second PSU and see where the problem migrates, if it remains.

Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
May 26, 2015, 06:09:12 AM
 #14

If the problem was on one hashing board, I'd say its the S5, but because the problem is moving it becomes 50x more likely that its the shared resource, being the PSU. Test with your second PSU and see where the problem migrates, if it remains.
It has the same problem regardless the power supply. I have a Corsair and Rosewill and have tried both.

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, & Twister posts pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
May 26, 2015, 06:22:48 AM
 #15

And has it been under 90 days.   That is warrenty and you must buy it from them for it.
Yay! The boards are dated March 3, 2015! But, I bought it via Craigslist. Am I out of luck? I know the person I bought it from bought it from Bitmain directly. Should I ask him for the order number?

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, & Twister posts pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 26, 2015, 07:12:16 AM
 #16

And has it been under 90 days.   That is warrenty and you must buy it from them for it.
Yay! The boards are dated March 3, 2015! But, I bought it via Craigslist. Am I out of luck? I know the person I bought it from bought it from Bitmain directly. Should I ask him for the order number?

I would contact him to get order number.   You will need that to do a warranty RMA. Also would contact them soon as 90 day on that most likely is quick approaching.

I'm sorry to possibly pop bubble I don't know how strict they are but it's possible they could consider it not warranty with it being bought from another party and not directly them Sad  - https://bitmain.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/202661989-Limited-90-Day-Warranty-Terms: This warranty is valid only in the United States and Canada and grants specific legal rights, it does not extend to owners of the product other than the original owner.

But you might ask them nicely and see if they are willing to help.  Please let us know if they do give you work under warrenty or not.

Best of luck
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
May 26, 2015, 05:28:05 PM
 #17

I'm sorry to possibly pop bubble I don't know how strict they are but it's possible they could consider it not warranty with it being bought from another party and not directly them Sad  - https://bitmain.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/202661989-Limited-90-Day-Warranty-Terms: This warranty is valid only in the United States and Canada and grants specific legal rights, it does not extend to owners of the product other than the original owner.

But you might ask them nicely and see if they are willing to help.  Please let us know if they do give you work under warrenty or not.
They actually know I'm not the original owner, but they don't care. They just said they'd need the order number. Smiley

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, & Twister posts pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
Vorta
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 27, 2015, 02:40:43 PM
 #18

Why do I only have 4 operational ASICs on Chain #2? Did the other chips short out or something?
Now my whole Chain #2 died. It's somewhat intermittent:
https://i.stack.imgur.com/Eyzta.png

Why is my AntMiner S5 chain only intermittently operational? What could cause this, how could I diagnose it, and what is the solution? Will BitmainTech replace it for me? How do I know if it's under warranty? Is there a warranty?

I had this happen with my miner. What I found out is that the connection between the hash board and the central board was not good. Tightening the cable connections and rebooting the miner fixed it.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 27, 2015, 05:26:51 PM
 #19

I'm sorry to possibly pop bubble I don't know how strict they are but it's possible they could consider it not warranty with it being bought from another party and not directly them Sad  - https://bitmain.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/202661989-Limited-90-Day-Warranty-Terms: This warranty is valid only in the United States and Canada and grants specific legal rights, it does not extend to owners of the product other than the original owner.

But you might ask them nicely and see if they are willing to help.  Please let us know if they do give you work under warrenty or not.
They actually know I'm not the original owner, but they don't care. They just said they'd need the order number. Smiley

Thats good news from you!   I was not sure how close they would follow the term.  I was hoping they did not follow it and would help out.

They really are helpful and a good asset to use.   Great support team.
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2015, 01:36:35 AM
 #20

They really are helpful and a good asset to use.   Great support team.
Yes, Bitmain's support is much better than Coinbase's (so is Circle's).

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, & Twister posts pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!