Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 03:54:04 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Did I wreck my 5850?  (Read 2175 times)
KedP
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45

^_^;


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2011, 09:28:52 PM
 #1

So I had my two Asus 5850s running nicely.

gpu0 was at 85C, overclocked to 800MHz, getting about 305 Mhash/s

gpu1 was at 80C, overclocked to 950MHz, getting about 380 Mhash/s

Everything seemed fine, and I had read that it was safe to overclock these cards to 950MHz and since the temperatures weren't too bad I figured it was ok.

But then gpu1 went down to 0 Mhash/s Sad

After letting it cool I tried again, rechecked all the settings, made sure everything was working right, and it runs at 300 khash/s

Is this what you guys call a brick? Did I wreck my card?

I thought 950MHz was fairly safe for these cards? Sad I had read that ATI cards won't even crash until 100C

Am I screwed? Sad

174YPL4sbCvQwR42Smp6kiXfzSynF6zY4K

Like my post: 1DvQzs6zaE4HR2gjRRDd6dfu6mJJaCQv7Z
1480780444
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780444

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780444
Reply with quote  #2

1480780444
Report to moderator
1480780444
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780444

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780444
Reply with quote  #2

1480780444
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480780444
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780444

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780444
Reply with quote  #2

1480780444
Report to moderator
zale
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 09:32:33 PM
 #2

Those are pretty high temps, mines are at ~70°C, but usually yes they should run up to 105°C.
Maybe they just crashed and are stuck at 2D settings now. Have you checked the clocks?
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 09:32:48 PM
 #3

sounds like you messed with the BIOS.  did you save the old one?  try re-loading it?

doesn't look good though.  950 is pushing it.  what voltage were you using?  what MemClocks?
KedP
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45

^_^;


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2011, 09:35:41 PM
 #4

Those are pretty high temps, mines are at ~70°C, but usually yes they should run up to 105°C.
Maybe they just crashed and are stuck at 2D settings now. Have you checked the clocks?

I reset them to factory defaults right after it happened. I just went and checked right now and this is what I got:

Code:
Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    725           1000
             Current Peak :    725           1000
  Configurable Peak Range : [550-1200]     [900-1400]
                 GPU load :    99%
ERROR - Get clocks failed for Adapter 1 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series

Sad Sad Sad Sad

Like my post: 1DvQzs6zaE4HR2gjRRDd6dfu6mJJaCQv7Z
KedP
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45

^_^;


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2011, 09:37:35 PM
 #5

sounds like you messed with the BIOS.  did you save the old one?  try re-loading it?

doesn't look good though.  950 is pushing it.  what voltage were you using?  what MemClocks?

I didn't touch the bios, voltage, memclocks

I read on some overclocking forum that the asus 5850s could safely go to 950MHz

gpu0 still gets 275MHash/s at factory defaults. It's just gpu1 that isn't working.

Now it seems to not even be responding  Lips sealed  Cry

Like my post: 1DvQzs6zaE4HR2gjRRDd6dfu6mJJaCQv7Z
zale
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 09:38:53 PM
 #6

Shut your PC down and only plug gpu1 in.
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 09:41:50 PM
 #7

Shut your PC down and only plug gpu1 in.

yes.  then look at it (assuming it comes up at all) with something like AMDOverdriveCtrl (if using linux), or the CC control panel.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 28, 2011, 09:48:30 PM
 #8

doesn't look good though.  950 is pushing it.
i'm using 5850 at 1030 core, 230 mem, with no problems.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 09:54:22 PM
 #9

doesn't look good though.  950 is pushing it.
i'm using 5850 at 1030 core, 230 mem, with no problems.

i've got a couple reference cards in one box at 925/315.  and slightly overvolted.  but i'm not an overclocking wizard by any means.  and my approach is mostly i don't wanna have to mess with anything - fire and forget.  that box has been running without a hitch (at under 70 C) for about six weeks...
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 10:05:02 PM
 #10

sounds like you messed with the BIOS.  did you save the old one?  try re-loading it?

doesn't look good though.  950 is pushing it.  what voltage were you using?  what MemClocks?

I didn't touch the bios, voltage, memclocks

I read on some overclocking forum that the asus 5850s could safely go to 950MHz

gpu0 still gets 275MHash/s at factory defaults. It's just gpu1 that isn't working.

Now it seems to not even be responding  Lips sealed  Cry

That's incorrect. ASUS's 5850s go to ~890MHz (up to ~920MHz depending on how "lucky" you are with the card) safely at default voltage. They can run stable @ 950MHz (and higher) only after you've bumped the voltage up to ~1.2v (I think this may be lower, but I haven't fiddled with it enough). However, without overvolting, overclocking will generally not brick your card.

Simply reboot the computer (assuming you didn't set MSI AB to apply settings at startup) and you should be fine.

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
kosovito
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 10:08:52 PM
 #11

I have an Sapphire 5850 Extreme, and im afraid about overclocking, so im running default. (725)

What the BEST option to OC my card, WITHOUT any problem (of course, i dont wanna touch voltages)

Temperature? Mhz ??

Thanks

Please sir, give me any coin Smiley  135T7F27z7Mtvwffz359BE1zSfYgT1oJ8S
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 28, 2011, 10:15:46 PM
 #12

I have an Sapphire 5850 Extreme, and im afraid about overclocking, so im running default. (725)

What the BEST option to OC my card, WITHOUT any problem (of course, i dont wanna touch voltages)

Temperature? Mhz ??

Thanks
i can get 1000 core with stock voltage.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
kosovito
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 10:40:08 PM
 #13

I have an Sapphire 5850 Extreme, and im afraid about overclocking, so im running default. (725)

What the BEST option to OC my card, WITHOUT any problem (of course, i dont wanna touch voltages)

Temperature? Mhz ??

Thanks
i can get 1000 core with stock voltage.

Im glad for you (really), but im not asking for that, probably get 1000 is not very safe, i just want OC but, in a very safe range

Please sir, give me any coin Smiley  135T7F27z7Mtvwffz359BE1zSfYgT1oJ8S
KedP
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45

^_^;


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2011, 10:42:29 PM
 #14

Shut your PC down and only plug gpu1 in.

I don't have physical access to the machine at the moment but I'll try this as soon as I get home

Thanks so much for the advice, I hope you guys are right that it isn't bricked. Note that I've already rebooted a few times though Sad

Like my post: 1DvQzs6zaE4HR2gjRRDd6dfu6mJJaCQv7Z
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 28, 2011, 11:12:31 PM
 #15

I have an Sapphire 5850 Extreme, and im afraid about overclocking, so im running default. (725)

What the BEST option to OC my card, WITHOUT any problem (of course, i dont wanna touch voltages)

Temperature? Mhz ??

Thanks
i can get 1000 core with stock voltage.

Im glad for you (really), but im not asking for that, probably get 1000 is not very safe, i just want OC but, in a very safe range
changing the clock cannot direct damage your GPU (unlike overvolting), although the extra heat may damage it. just start up a miner, and increase the core clock until it crashes, take your last clock, decrease by 10 mhz, and that  should give you a stable clock. If you're concerned about heat, just put fan to max, and overclock until the heat is higher than 80 C

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
kosovito
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 11:31:04 PM
 #16

I have an Sapphire 5850 Extreme, and im afraid about overclocking, so im running default. (725)

What the BEST option to OC my card, WITHOUT any problem (of course, i dont wanna touch voltages)

Temperature? Mhz ??

Thanks
i can get 1000 core with stock voltage.

Im glad for you (really), but im not asking for that, probably get 1000 is not very safe, i just want OC but, in a very safe range
changing the clock cannot direct damage your GPU (unlike overvolting), although the extra heat may damage it. just start up a miner, and increase the core clock until it crashes, take your last clock, decrease by 10 mhz, and that  should give you a stable clock. If you're concerned about heat, just put fan to max, and overclock until the heat is higher than 80 C

OC without voltage, CANNOT damage my card?? ARE YOU ABSOLUTELY SURE??

Please sir, give me any coin Smiley  135T7F27z7Mtvwffz359BE1zSfYgT1oJ8S
zale
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 11:43:35 PM
 #17

I have an Sapphire 5850 Extreme, and im afraid about overclocking, so im running default. (725)

What the BEST option to OC my card, WITHOUT any problem (of course, i dont wanna touch voltages)

Temperature? Mhz ??

Thanks
i can get 1000 core with stock voltage.

Im glad for you (really), but im not asking for that, probably get 1000 is not very safe, i just want OC but, in a very safe range
changing the clock cannot direct damage your GPU (unlike overvolting), although the extra heat may damage it. just start up a miner, and increase the core clock until it crashes, take your last clock, decrease by 10 mhz, and that  should give you a stable clock. If you're concerned about heat, just put fan to max, and overclock until the heat is higher than 80 C

OC without voltage, CANNOT damage my card?? ARE YOU ABSOLUTELY SURE??
No it can't. But it will most certainly crash if you OC too much without increasing CoreV. That's not a problem though as it will restore the original clocks automatically.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 28, 2011, 11:56:32 PM
 #18

OC without voltage, CANNOT damage my card?? ARE YOU ABSOLUTELY SURE??
changing the clock cannot directly damage your GPU (unlike overvolting), although the extra heat may damage it. just start up a miner, and increase the core clock until it crashes, take your last clock, decrease by 10 mhz, and that  should give you a stable clock. If you're concerned about heat, just put fan to max, and overclock until the heat is higher than 80 C

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
KedP
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45

^_^;


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2011, 03:26:34 AM
 #19

So after changing the PCI slot and booting it up on its own, it worked.

Thanks everyone, I'll send some of my few bitcoins your way

Like my post: 1DvQzs6zaE4HR2gjRRDd6dfu6mJJaCQv7Z
KedP
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45

^_^;


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2011, 03:28:17 AM
 #20

zale i would send you coins but you dont have a hash in your sig Tongue

not that i have much to give anyway Smiley

Like my post: 1DvQzs6zaE4HR2gjRRDd6dfu6mJJaCQv7Z
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!