Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 07:52:50 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 6970 power problem?  (Read 1341 times)
heavyb
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile WWW
May 29, 2011, 06:38:36 PM
 #1

Hey guys,

I have been running my miner for a week straight with no problems, suddenly out of nowhere I noticed my miner going into a "power save" mode randomly for no reason. When I click on the pclbm.exe file the fan on my 6970 jumps and then it goes into this power save mode and my monitor goes asleep. I can get it to wake up out of this mode then either. I have check all my power options and I turned off any sleep modes based on idle time and I cant figure out why this happens. Any advice would be great!!

1481269970
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481269970

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481269970
Reply with quote  #2

1481269970
Report to moderator
1481269970
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481269970

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481269970
Reply with quote  #2

1481269970
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481269970
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481269970

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481269970
Reply with quote  #2

1481269970
Report to moderator
heavyb
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 12:53:12 PM
 #2

please help! my mining has crawled to a standstill because I cannot get the miner to run pclbm without exiting into power save mode. this sucks, I may just quit and sell my rigs.

mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:06:30 PM
 #3

Have you tried other miners?
What are the GPU temps when your miners are running?
heavyb
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 06:27:57 PM
 #4

73 degrees. I havnt tried it on other machines, it is the only one I have with a PCIE slot. I am thinking the video card may have burnt out, only being a week old....but I have the warranty so I can just exchange it at microcenter.

mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 07:15:02 PM
 #5

73 degrees is normal.
What I meant was have you tried other software, like phoenix or diablo miner. There is a possibility that video card is faulty, but I think other causes are more likely. I wouldn't send it to manufacturer, because if you are wrong, you'll waste a lot of time and just lose money for postage. If I were you, I'd find another computer to try that video card on. I, for exampl,. have a motherboard which refuses to operate if gpu gets above 80 degrees.
What OS are you running? If it's windows, try LinuxCoin distribution. It's very easy to start mining
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!