Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:29:13 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Underclock memory on 6990 Linux?  (Read 2679 times)
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 10:00:51 PM
 #1

Hello,
Has anyone successfully underclocked a Radeon 6990 under Linux using amdoverdrivectrl? If so, would you mind sharing your overdrive profile?
No matter what I do, an underclock doesn't take. Here's what I currently have:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<OVERDRIVE_PROFILE>
<PERFORMANCE_LEVEL level="2" gpu="83000" mem="30000" voltage="1120"/>
<PERFORMANCE_LEVEL level="1" gpu="50000" mem="125000" voltage="1000"/>
<PERFORMANCE_LEVEL level="0" gpu="25000" mem="15000" voltage="900"/>
<FAN_SETTING percentage="auto"/>
<FAN_CTRL enabled="yes"/>
<FAN_CTRL_CURVE type="0"/>
</OVERDRIVE_PROFILE>
1481012953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012953
Reply with quote  #2

1481012953
Report to moderator
1481012953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012953
Reply with quote  #2

1481012953
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481012953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012953
Reply with quote  #2

1481012953
Report to moderator
1481012953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012953
Reply with quote  #2

1481012953
Report to moderator
ius
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 10:23:46 PM
 #2

Check with aticonfig --odgc. If your desired memory clock doesn't fall within the range shown, you'll need to edit the BIOS I'm afraid..

PGP: 0xCC06E446 Bitcoin: 19kdfgW1KXQgV7SCLEPAojtHxN9xotGkGH
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 10:39:38 PM
 #3

Check with aticonfig --odgc. If your desired memory clock doesn't fall within the range shown, you'll need to edit the BIOS I'm afraid..
Does amdoverdrivectrl not support the 6x series yet. the method above works fine on a 5970 though aticonfig doesn't.
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 11:40:51 PM
 #4

After much fiddling, I discovered that a 6990 underclock can in-fact be done under Linux using amdoverdrivectrl. The problem with my profile above was that profile 2 had memory at 300 and profile 1 had it at 1250MHZ. It appears that the memory clock on a higher profile cannot be lower than one on a lower profile. So, the following profile worked for me. Feed it with something like:
amdoverdrivectrl -b -i 0 6990.xml
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<OVERDRIVE_PROFILE>
<PERFORMANCE_LEVEL level="2" gpu="83000" mem="30000" voltage="1120"/>
<PERFORMANCE_LEVEL level="1" gpu="50000" mem="30000" voltage="1000"/>
<PERFORMANCE_LEVEL level="0" gpu="25000" mem="15000" voltage="900"/>
<FAN_SETTING percentage="auto"/>
<FAN_CTRL enabled="yes"/>
<FAN_CTRL_CURVE type="0"/>
</OVERDRIVE_PROFILE>

Hopefully this is of use to someone.
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 02:05:31 AM
 #5

I've done this before but the card itself appears to ignore the settings.  I have 6950, 6970, and 6990 and they all seem to blow through the "peak", whereas a 5870 follows the clocking request quite closely.  Do you actually get the 69xx to clock down the memory when it's under load?
Ah, you are quite correct. The peaks show lower but the actual clock doesn't come down. Do Windows users get this as well?
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 02:29:43 AM
 #6

Nope, but I'm also getting that peak problem on my 5850. (Linux)

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 03:00:38 AM
 #7

Nope, but I'm also getting that peak problem on my 5850. (Linux)
Did you underclock via RBE? I wonder if an RBE underclock would fix this. I don't have a windows install to test that, though it's tempting.
molecular
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 06:06:32 PM
 #8

I've done this before but the card itself appears to ignore the settings.  I have 6950, 6970, and 6990 and they all seem to blow through the "peak", whereas a 5870 follows the clocking request quite closely.  Do you actually get the 69xx to clock down the memory when it's under load?
Ah, you are quite correct. The peaks show lower but the actual clock doesn't come down. Do Windows users get this as well?

I can verify this problem. Using my self-made tool that uses adl-calls to set the clocks of all 3 performance level.

This method works on a 5970 and it works to set the Peak clock, but the card simply ignores the peak and aticontrol --odgc reports "Current Clock 1250 Mhz, Peak Clock 150Mhz".

Damn you, amd

PGP key molecular F9B70769 fingerprint 9CDD C0D3 20F8 279F 6BE0  3F39 FC49 2362 F9B7 0769
darkpandora
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 06:39:47 PM
 #9

amdoverdrivectrl dont work on 6990, you cannot underclock memory. have anyone had any luck with underclocking 6990?

K U R D I  S T A N
K U R D I S T A N
K U R D I S T A N
molecular
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 07:11:43 PM
 #10

I've done this before but the card itself appears to ignore the settings.  I have 6950, 6970, and 6990 and they all seem to blow through the "peak", whereas a 5870 follows the clocking request quite closely.  Do you actually get the 69xx to clock down the memory when it's under load?
Ah, you are quite correct. The peaks show lower but the actual clock doesn't come down. Do Windows users get this as well?


aha! just found some info in another post: https://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=18107.msg229587#msg229587

apparently you can underclock ram down to 100Mhz below core clock.

EDIT: actually, it seems here, I can go down to 800Mhz

PGP key molecular F9B70769 fingerprint 9CDD C0D3 20F8 279F 6BE0  3F39 FC49 2362 F9B7 0769
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!