Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 11:54:34 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: CPU and GPU mining, question.  (Read 8209 times)
MPC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 10:58:11 PM
 #1

Hey guys.

I just want some thoughts about this.

I got a gaming rig with:

Sandybridge 2500K @ 4.4 Ghz

and a GTX 295 (Getting old).


I started mining with this a few weeks ago after a friend of mine told me about bitcoins. He told me to use a CPU miner and GPU miner at the same time, but I have read posts about people recommending only to use the GPU miner since the CPU miner steals productivity from the GPU, and the CPU does not earn enough.

I am using these miners on my PC: RPCminer-Cuda for graphics and bitcoin-miner for CPU.

So here's the question: Shall I turn off the CPU miner and just keep the GPU miner on? Or use both of them?

When I do not use my PC, the CUDA miner is normally at around 37000 khash/s while CPU miner is at  21.3 MHash. Not sure if these numbers are correct, but if I turn of my programs and keep both miners on, those numbers come up.

BTW, I do not pay for the electricity Smiley

Hoping for an answer shortly!

- MPC
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480809274
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809274

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809274
Reply with quote  #2

1480809274
Report to moderator
1480809274
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809274

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809274
Reply with quote  #2

1480809274
Report to moderator
1480809274
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809274

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809274
Reply with quote  #2

1480809274
Report to moderator
anodyne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 11:27:12 PM
 #2

First of all, I think you should see if you could get two CUDA miners working. 37Mhash/s seems like only one of the GPUs is doing any work, and I think you should be able to get at least 80Mhash if you have both of them running. After that, you can see if the CPU makes any difference. And keep an eye on your cooling at that CPU clock... SSE optimized mining is quite a stress test.

Bitcoins: solid enough to build pyramids.
steelhouse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 11:59:44 PM
 #3

Wy not put he 295 card on ebay get $100 and then buy a new amd card and get 250+ Mh/s
MPC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 12:07:23 AM
 #4

First of all, I think you should see if you could get two CUDA miners working. 37Mhash/s seems like only one of the GPUs is doing any work, and I think you should be able to get at least 80Mhash if you have both of them running. After that, you can see if the CPU makes any difference. And keep an eye on your cooling at that CPU clock... SSE optimized mining is quite a stress test.

How do I get 2 CUDA miners running? Make a new bat file for the CUDA with a different worker ?

Wy not put he 295 card on ebay get $100 and then buy a new amd card and get 250+ Mh/s

Na, too lazy for that. Also upgrading after the summer so Ill get something good then!
V2-V3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


Jagersfontein


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 12:10:41 AM
 #5

I recommend using only the GPU miner. it looks like you ate only running one of the GPU cores on your GTX 295 If you launch another miner with device ID GPU1 for your second core it will double your CUDA GPU production.
www.bitclockers.com

MPC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 12:20:47 AM
 #6

I recommend using only the GPU miner. it looks like you ate only running one of the GPU cores on your GTX 295 If you launch another miner with GPU1 for your second core it will double your CUDA GPU production.
www.bitclockers.com

What do you  mean with launch another miner with GPU1? 
V2-V3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


Jagersfontein


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 12:33:06 AM
 #7

Change the number of miner threads for CUDA from 1 to "2" because you have 2 GPU's

MPC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 12:44:43 AM
 #8

I'm kinda new so I am a bit stupid when it comes to get things going Tongue

I got rpcminer-cuda.exe running right. And you want me to change a file from 1 to 2 threads because I got 2 cores. Which file do I edit to add 2 cores?  When I edit my bat file for rpcminer-cuda this comes up:

rpcminer-cuda.exe -url=http://btcmine.com:8332 -user=myuser -password=mypass -workrefreshms=20000
anodyne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 12:54:29 AM
 #9

I'd recommend taking a look at GUIMiner for easy management of miners: https://github.com/Kiv/poclbm

If you look under the "File" menu you'll find the option "new other miner", which gives you a few options to play with in addition to the default OpenCL miner. Once you have one miner set up, you make another one and simply select the GPU/CPU you want to mine on in the dropdown.

Bitcoins: solid enough to build pyramids.
MPC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 01:01:23 AM
 #10

I'd recommend taking a look at GUIMiner for easy management of miners: https://github.com/Kiv/poclbm

If you look under the "File" menu you'll find the option "new other miner", which gives you a few options to play with in addition to the default OpenCL miner. Once you have one miner set up, you make another one and simply select the GPU/CPU you want to mine on in the dropdown.

Hey.

I got it downloaded and I am looking at it. But when I choose "Other Miner" and choose my cuda miner, it still does not list cores, but it has something called Extra Flags, maybe I got to write something there?

Also I guess in username I type in the workers name?
anodyne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 01:19:32 AM
 #11

I have to admit ignorance to the finer details of mining on dual Geforce cards, but adding the flag -gputhreads=2 could be a start. If you look in the folder Miners/puddinpop you'll find a readme that lists the available flags. Other than that, I think you have to wait for someone less ignorant to find this thread to give you further advice.  Smiley

Bitcoins: solid enough to build pyramids.
MPC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 02:08:27 AM
 #12

The command was  -GPU=1  for core 1 and  -GPU=2 fore core 2.

Thanks anyhow! It got it working! I'll try running the CPU miner at the same time to see if the speed goes down. Atm both CUDAs are at 37 Mhash/s

However my temps are at 99 *C :/

They were normally at 75-80 during 1 CUDA. Is 99*C too hot for the GTX's?


Also, is there a command I could add which could stress them less?
MPC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 03:41:35 AM
 #13

I switchd to openCL and I got 50 Mhash/s per core Tongue 15 more Mhash than CUDA!!

But, does anyone know a command to stress the GPU's less?
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:14:58 AM
 #14

You should check your power consumption with a kill-a-watt. Unless you have very cheap power you're probably paying more to mine than you earn.
MPC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 10:03:47 AM
 #15

You should check your power consumption with a kill-a-watt. Unless you have very cheap power you're probably paying more to mine than you earn.

Not paying for electricity Smiley
MPC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 08:12:12 PM
 #16

Bump!

Any Extra Flags commands to stress my GTX 295 less? DO not like running them at 103*C Tongue
MPC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 08:41:05 PM
 #17

My last bump!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!