Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 06:24:59 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: what just happened?  (Read 1757 times)
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 03:50:55 AM
 #1

need data...

1.) the two biggest pools go down.
    a.) were any of the other pools affected?

2.) i couldn't start a local Bitcoin client on any of my miners for the period of the outtage.  did anyone else have that problem?


has anyone noticed any communication difficulties on 8332, or 8337?

that was weird.  and short.  it didn't appear to be localized.

comments?
1481437499
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437499

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437499
Reply with quote  #2

1481437499
Report to moderator
1481437499
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437499

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437499
Reply with quote  #2

1481437499
Report to moderator
1481437499
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437499

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437499
Reply with quote  #2

1481437499
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1bitc0inplz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 04:02:56 AM
 #2

DDoS from Russia, is what the word is.

Mine @ http://pool.bitp.it - No fees, virtually 0 stales, what's not to love!
Chat with us @ #bitp.it on irc.freenode.net
Learn more about our pool @ http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=12181.0
supa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 04:07:00 AM
 #3

2.) i couldn't start a local Bitcoin client on any of my miners for the period of the outtage.  did anyone else have that problem?

I didn't have this problem at all.  Did you have them all pointed to pools?

I'm in the middle of deciding whether or not I want to use some of my available permanent hosts for Bitcoin nodes.  I was watching my recent connections.

For the two nodes that I don't pay-per bandwidth for, the connection count went from 160 and 156 to 18 and 32.....

Peer connections going from 300+ to 50 is a little weird, no?

I checked the hosts and there were no signs of repeated connects, login guessing or denial of service-looking-things, so nodes weren't affected.

As of whenever this posts goes up..  I've got about 100 connections.

I'm more interested in being a node than a miner.

Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 04:08:45 AM
 #4

DDoS from Russia, is what the word is.

but what were they attacking?  it wasn't just slush, or just deepbit.

i'd still like to know if anyone else had trouble starting their local client.

if it was an actual DDoS - from wherever - it was only a test.  too short.

the pools are going to have to establish whitelists...
1bitc0inplz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 04:11:19 AM
 #5

DDoS from Russia, is what the word is.

but what were they attacking?  it wasn't just slush, or just deepbit.

i'd still like to know if anyone else had trouble starting their local client.

if it was an actual DDoS - from wherever - it was only a test.  too short.

the pools are going to have to establish whitelists...

Only deepbit has announced it was a DDoS... I haven't heard anything from slush.

deepbit said they did "something" to resolve the DDoS issue... perhaps a router rule, or something. So, I don't think ruling it out as a DDoS because of it's length is correct. It could have very well been a DDoS... these things pop up from time to time... the pools seem to roll with the punches, and pop back online a few minutes/hours later.

Mine @ http://pool.bitp.it - No fees, virtually 0 stales, what's not to love!
Chat with us @ #bitp.it on irc.freenode.net
Learn more about our pool @ http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=12181.0
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 04:11:33 AM
 #6

2.) i couldn't start a local Bitcoin client on any of my miners for the period of the outtage.  did anyone else have that problem?

I didn't have this problem at all.  Did you have them all pointed to pools?

I'm in the middle of deciding whether or not I want to use some of my available permanent hosts for Bitcoin nodes.  I was watching my recent connections.

For the two nodes that I don't pay-per bandwidth for, the connection count went from 160 and 156 to 18 and 32.....

Peer connections going from 300+ to 50 is a little weird, no?

I checked the hosts and there were no signs of repeated connects, login guessing or denial of service-looking-things, so nodes weren't affected.

As of whenever this posts goes up..  I've got about 100 connections.

I'm more interested in being a node than a miner.

no.  i started local clients, figuring i'd take advantage of the outtage to do a little solo mining.  just rpcuser and rpcpassword in .conf - the usual.  i couldn't get a single connection out of four local clients.  not one connection.
anodyne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 04:26:04 AM
 #7

Just to make sure: Did you run bitcoin.exe with the -server flag?

Bitcoins: solid enough to build pyramids.
Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 04:49:09 AM
 #8

Bad connections of client  discussed before, in tech section.
Fast temporary solution is on wiki
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Fallback_Nodes

We will  meet in not-so-distant future.
Today`s strange music :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8mCgjbBPMk
Yesterday`s  strange music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uCTyC1FGLw
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 05:03:30 AM
 #9

Just to make sure: Did you run bitcoin.exe with the -server flag?

no.  i run linux.

./bitcoind

with rpcuser and rpcpassword in the ~/.bitcoin/bin/64/bitcoin.conf file.

EDIT:  ...and those local Bitcoin clients are working now.

EDIT:  i mean; ~/.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
greatbotboy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37



View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 05:10:47 AM
 #10

I just noticed that my client was also acting up, I'm making around 160 Mhash but haven't found a hash in a couple hours. but i can connect to say btcguild and produce hashes almost instantly. switch back to solo and not find any hashes.

1BoTBoY7YTEfZCgSZLr4FGaUYiysAPSpxA
NoctumDesign BTC Pool - VarDiff, GBT, Stratum, ASIC Ready
Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 05:19:58 AM
 #11

Problem with solo mining, that 160 m\hash not anough to expect solved block in 5 hours, or even a week.
Pools let you to solve difficulty 1 hashes, that called  shares and acts like indicator that you running correctly  and  your part in current pool work.

We will  meet in not-so-distant future.
Today`s strange music :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8mCgjbBPMk
Yesterday`s  strange music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uCTyC1FGLw
greatbotboy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37



View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 05:32:51 AM
 #12

Problem with solo mining, that 160 m\hash not anough to expect solved block in 5 hours, or even a week.
Pools let you to solve difficulty 1 hashes, that called  shares and acts like indicator that you running correctly  and  your part in current pool work.

Thanks for your suggestion... actually I've solved 3 blocks in 2 1/2 months @ $8 USD it is profitable for me.  at any rate, this computer is only fallback for the largest part of my network. well it was until earlier today. the other clients on my network are having the same problem.

they are all run with the -server switch and rpcuser and pass in the .conf file.

1BoTBoY7YTEfZCgSZLr4FGaUYiysAPSpxA
NoctumDesign BTC Pool - VarDiff, GBT, Stratum, ASIC Ready
Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 05:35:19 AM
 #13

Do you checked how much connections your bitcoin client have ?

We will  meet in not-so-distant future.
Today`s strange music :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8mCgjbBPMk
Yesterday`s  strange music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uCTyC1FGLw
greatbotboy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37



View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 05:36:45 AM
 #14

Do you checked how much connections your bitcoin client have ?
53 as of right now

1BoTBoY7YTEfZCgSZLr4FGaUYiysAPSpxA
NoctumDesign BTC Pool - VarDiff, GBT, Stratum, ASIC Ready
Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 05:39:39 AM
 #15

Well, maybe you just unlucky. Thats a lottery after all.

We will  meet in not-so-distant future.
Today`s strange music :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8mCgjbBPMk
Yesterday`s  strange music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uCTyC1FGLw
greatbotboy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37



View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 05:41:58 AM
 #16

2 hours without a hash @ 160Mhash borders on impossible.

1BoTBoY7YTEfZCgSZLr4FGaUYiysAPSpxA
NoctumDesign BTC Pool - VarDiff, GBT, Stratum, ASIC Ready
Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 05:57:36 AM
 #17

Do you mean - difficulty 1 hash ?

We will  meet in not-so-distant future.
Today`s strange music :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8mCgjbBPMk
Yesterday`s  strange music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uCTyC1FGLw
ElectroGeek007
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79



View Profile
May 30, 2011, 05:58:32 AM
 #18

2 hours without a hash @ 160Mhash borders on impossible.

In a pool, perhaps. But in solo mode, it will take an average of 135 days to generate a block at current difficulty.

http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/old_calculator.php

"And what the enemy will see, they will see the flash of our cannons, and they will hear the ringing of our swords, and they will know what we can do! By the sweat of our brow and the strength of our backs and the courage in our hearts! Gentlemen, hoist the colors!"
ensign_lee
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 356


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:58:20 AM
 #19

2 hours without a hash @ 160Mhash borders on impossible.

In a pool, perhaps. But in solo mode, it will take an average of 135 days to generate a block at current difficulty.

http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/old_calculator.php

hash != block
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!