Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2018, 11:30:38 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New Industrail PSU - General electric CP3500 - 3.5-kilowatt  (Read 1136 times)
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 16, 2015, 06:51:36 AM
 #1

I was surprised seeing this.  A 3.5 kilowatt psu.  Bad thing is there is not used.... and don't know price but chances are it will be pricey.  I just happened to be looking in a magazine and it had an ad for it, or I would not have know about it.

Found article here - http://www.genewsroom.com/press-releases/ge-powering-data-intensive-industries-expanded-high-density-rectifier-portfolio
1540207838
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540207838

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540207838
Reply with quote  #2

1540207838
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540207838
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540207838

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540207838
Reply with quote  #2

1540207838
Report to moderator
1540207838
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540207838

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540207838
Reply with quote  #2

1540207838
Report to moderator
LordPaco
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 16, 2015, 05:19:21 PM
 #2

If they are priced new similarly to the Astec/IBM 2880w then they will start at >$2000USD each new. The IBM2880w was offered retail for replacement in a Bladecenter H server, list price $1950. Fun toys if your a data center with no budget ceiling. This power supply also delivers 48v not 12v, so it's really N/A for our miners.

Here is an example of what we could use used if 48v was applicable:

http://www.serversupply.com/POWER%20SUPPLY/SERVER%20POWER%20SUPPLY/4000%20WATT/SUN/300-1413.htm

Hows that for bang for buck?
alh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1011


View Profile
May 16, 2015, 07:12:08 PM
 #3

As I recall, 48V was the classic Telephone Company standard for power within their switching centers. I think that may have also been what was actually on the line out to the customer. I know that within some generations of Cray computers, there was a 48V set of bus bars for the cabinet, that was then stepped down to 12V on the blades with the processors and memory.
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 16, 2015, 07:36:59 PM
 #4

wow 3.5, i didn't know that there was a power supply so strong, it must be used in industrial things or something, a psu like that can power a standard apartment(here we have around 3.5kw as a maximum output) alone, really cool
ea1011
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 16, 2015, 08:19:15 PM
 #5

I found out that ASTEC makes 833A 12V psu for industrial use, that's 10,000W!! Shocked

http://www.astecpowersupply.com/product_catalog_sec2.php

"these units are featured with internal forced air-cooling" pretty loud I guess.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 17, 2015, 10:04:42 AM
 #6

I found out that ASTEC makes 833A 12V psu for industrial use, that's 10,000W!! Shocked

http://www.astecpowersupply.com/product_catalog_sec2.php

"these units are featured with internal forced air-cooling" pretty loud I guess.

Wow that is impressive.  Only thing with brand is they are not near close to standard size.  The GE one is more standard long slim PSU.


That Astec is impressive thought they seem to just keep adding more to it, I suspect it is multiple smaller PSU's within their cube PSU.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!