Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:23:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining Rig- n00b question  (Read 631 times)
aceman1011
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 12:26:34 PM
 #1

Alright, since I'm building a new rig and since I always see people making huge mistakes, I wanted to run my specs by the gurus  Wink

GPU (x2):
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102878&cm_re=radeon_hd_5830-_-14-102-878-_-Product
Motherboard:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130290
PSU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817339024
RAM (x2):
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231395
CPU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103698
Fans:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103087


Will both GPUs fit on that motherboard? And is that PSU powerful enough to power both cards at the same time? Thanks guys!

PS: I already have the fans and cases. Do I really need a CPU cooler, and does 4 GB of RAM make sense?

Rent my 800 + mh/s rig. PM me!
1481185389
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185389

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185389
Reply with quote  #2

1481185389
Report to moderator
1481185389
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185389

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185389
Reply with quote  #2

1481185389
Report to moderator
1481185389
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185389

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185389
Reply with quote  #2

1481185389
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481185389
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185389

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185389
Reply with quote  #2

1481185389
Report to moderator
1481185389
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185389

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185389
Reply with quote  #2

1481185389
Report to moderator
psknives
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


ATI 4890


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 12:29:23 PM
 #2

Not too sure about that PSU, and why not get a 3 slot mobo so in the future you can hook up another GPU?

Good luck.

I am using BTCGUILD until deepbit fixes their shit.
http://deepbit.net/userbar/4dc06de38161971bf8000006_45368c65ca.png
aceman1011
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 12:52:32 PM
 #3

In that case, I would need a MUCH bigger PSU. Does it make sense to just go with a huge PSU from the start? This was meant to be an economical build, and adding another PSU and getting a 3 card motherboard would ramp the price up. But anyways, what motherboards would you recommend?
New PSU pick: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817152036
I know people hate Raidmax, but i haven't had any bad experiences with them yet.

On the Wiki page, they use one 600W PSU for the 2 card build, and if I want to upgrade to 3, I could just add the 450W "modular juice box." That would be a lot cheaper, so that will be the way I go, but with a more powerful starting PSU.
Link: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_rig

Rent my 800 + mh/s rig. PM me!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!