Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 04:35:26 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Transactions don't work? (Mac OS X)  (Read 4978 times)
hyperD
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 10:28:09 AM
 #21

Thanks foo.

Makes sense.

So it takes roughly 4 hours since running bitcoin to download the block chain (so far 104,000). It currently takes two to three days to clear a check or a day to access online banking funds.

But as the block chain grows larger won't it take longer and longer to process a payment?

Or have i missed something about?

How much bandwidth does running this client use, anyway?



1F3xN4efjhrGpX4wZVHKdv4PCbSpqE7F7G
1481128526
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481128526

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481128526
Reply with quote  #2

1481128526
Report to moderator
1481128526
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481128526

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481128526
Reply with quote  #2

1481128526
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481128526
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481128526

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481128526
Reply with quote  #2

1481128526
Report to moderator
1481128526
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481128526

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481128526
Reply with quote  #2

1481128526
Report to moderator
gongcheng
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 10:34:26 AM
 #22

Only the first time, it will take several hours.

After that, it will much faster, In my case, it usually took 20 minutes, maximum 1 hour to show on my local client.

mennoman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 10:38:40 AM
 #23

It's ok, but hope you can be more patient in the future.

Wish the God help you.
I've deleted it yesterday, but i've tried since friday.  Undecided

A colleague has waited about 10 minutes, before he gave up.

This are the news            The Bitcoin Sun            Bitcoin Weekly
hyperD
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 10:44:48 AM
 #24

Only the first time, it will take several hours.

After that, it will much faster, In my case, it usually took 20 minutes, maximum 1 hour to show on my local client.

Thanks

so after bitcoin builds the initial blkindex each time i run it it simply adds to build. Do i back up only the wallet file or the entire folder?  Seriously I want to hid my back up usb under my mattress.

1F3xN4efjhrGpX4wZVHKdv4PCbSpqE7F7G
gongcheng
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 10:45:48 AM
 #25

It's ok, but hope you can be more patient in the future.

Wish the God help you.
I've deleted it yesterday, but i've tried since friday.  Undecided

A colleague has waited about 10 minutes, before he gave up.

Never mind, you young guys today are impatient, you can not wait.

As you grow older, you will be mature and would like to wait.

Sometimes patience is also very critical for your personal success.

gongcheng
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 10:52:20 AM
 #26

Only the first time, it will take several hours.

After that, it will much faster, In my case, it usually took 20 minutes, maximum 1 hour to show on my local client.

Thanks

so after bitcoin builds the initial blkindex each time i run it it simply adds to build. Do i back up only the wallet file or the entire folder?  Seriously I want to hid my back up usb under my mattress.

You only need to backup the wallet.dat file.

However, if you backup the entire folder, it can save your time to download all the blockindex.

If you want to hid your usb, you can consider run the bitcoin with a parameter -datadir=Bitcoin

You can copy the folder \AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin to the same directory of Bitcoin.exe,
And then save the folder contains both the program and the AppData.

hyperD
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 10:56:58 AM
 #27

Only the first time, it will take several hours.

After that, it will much faster, In my case, it usually took 20 minutes, maximum 1 hour to show on my local client.

Thanks

so after bitcoin builds the initial blkindex each time i run it it simply adds to build. Do i back up only the wallet file or the entire folder?  Seriously I want to hid my back up usb under my mattress.

You only need to backup the wallet.dat file.

However, if you backup the entire folder, it can save your time to download all the blockindex.

If you want to hid your usb, you can consider run the bitcoin with a parameter -datadir=Bitcoin

You can copy the folder \AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin to the same directory of Bitcoin.exe,
And then save the folder contains both the program and the AppData.

thanks

will do.

1F3xN4efjhrGpX4wZVHKdv4PCbSpqE7F7G
foo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 11:56:42 AM
 #28

Also, note that the first 120,000 blocks are available as a .zip here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/bitcoin/files/Bitcoin/blockchain/
You can speed up the installation of a new client using that archive.

I know this because Tyler knows this.
hyperD
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:00:48 PM
 #29

Also, note that the first 120,000 blocks are available as a .zip here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/bitcoin/files/Bitcoin/blockchain/
You can speed up the installation of a new client using that archive.

My builds at 190000 but good to know.

thanks

1F3xN4efjhrGpX4wZVHKdv4PCbSpqE7F7G
gongcheng
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:29:40 PM
 #30

Also, note that the first 120,000 blocks are available as a .zip here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/bitcoin/files/Bitcoin/blockchain/
You can speed up the installation of a new client using that archive.

Thanks, by the way, do you what will happen if the guy have delete his wallet and I still transfered btcs to his address?

hyperD
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:43:15 PM
 #31

Also, note that the first 120,000 blocks are available as a .zip here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/bitcoin/files/Bitcoin/blockchain/
You can speed up the installation of a new client using that archive.

Thanks, by the way, do you what will happen if the guy have delete his wallet and I still transfered btcs to his address?

I have no idea. I guess from what i learnt so far the BC's get lost forever.

1F3xN4efjhrGpX4wZVHKdv4PCbSpqE7F7G
gongcheng
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:56:04 PM
 #32

Also, note that the first 120,000 blocks are available as a .zip here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/bitcoin/files/Bitcoin/blockchain/
You can speed up the installation of a new client using that archive.

Thanks, by the way, do you what will happen if the guy have delete his wallet and I still transfered btcs to his address?

I have no idea. I guess from what i learnt so far the BC's get lost forever.

There maybe really something wrong with sixofusu's account, because I checked the

http://blockexplorer.com/address/1G4JD8B2y3LjZ8iop6XHCsB6qQUsSfnWp9

still nothing. I have transfered 0.009btcs to this address two hours ago.

For comparison, I send 0.01 BTCs to another address, It has already showed.

mennoman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 02:02:43 PM
 #33

That's what im saying: It doesn't work. Sad

I even had tried new adresses, but with same results.
There was no indication, what's going wrong or what's the problem.

This are the news            The Bitcoin Sun            Bitcoin Weekly
hyperD
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 02:13:47 PM
 #34

That's what im saying: It doesn't work. Sad

I even had tried new adresses, but with same results.
There is no indication, what's going wrong or what's the problem.

I am no expert but try this from what i've learnt so far.

Try Back up your wallet and reload bitcoin. run it again and update block chain with 

 
Also, note that the first 120,000 blocks are available as a .zip here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/bitcoin/files/Bitcoin/blockchain/
You can speed up the installation of a new client using that archive.

in a few block i will find out if mine worked.

1F3xN4efjhrGpX4wZVHKdv4PCbSpqE7F7G
mennoman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 02:26:04 PM
 #35

Try Back up your wallet and reload bitcoin. run it again and update block chain with
I've deinstalled bitcoin and deleted everything.

EDIT: I could recover it from the time machine. *facepalm*
So I'll try that.

in a few block i will find out if mine worked.
The blockchain counter was complete. (As showed at my initial post)

This are the news            The Bitcoin Sun            Bitcoin Weekly
foo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 02:30:04 PM
 #36

There maybe really something wrong with sixofusu's account, because I checked the

http://blockexplorer.com/address/1G4JD8B2y3LjZ8iop6XHCsB6qQUsSfnWp9

still nothing. I have transfered 0.009btcs to this address two hours ago.

For comparison, I send 0.01 BTCs to another address, It has already showed.

Your transaction is not listed on http://bitcoincharts.com/bitcoin/. This means that your client has not broadcasted it onto the network yet.

I know this because Tyler knows this.
hyperD
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 02:38:39 PM
 #37

 Shocked  0.02 bitcoins. it worked. now to back it up and hide it under my bed mattress.

1F3xN4efjhrGpX4wZVHKdv4PCbSpqE7F7G
mennoman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 02:56:59 PM
 #38

Okay. I'll give it a second try. And i try it your way. Let's see what happens.

I'm downloading the blockchain-zip. Must i take the old wallet and addr file?

Waiting for blockchain-updates...

Updating blockchain at snail's pace

This are the news            The Bitcoin Sun            Bitcoin Weekly
jashan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2011, 03:15:05 PM
 #39

I just ran into the same situation: All new to this, got the Bitcoin client installed, got a few transactions going (one from https://freebitcoins.appspot.com/ 2 more from VirWoX) and wondered why nothing shows in my client. I'm at "82668 blocks" and after restarting the client, I have 0 connections. Before I had 1 connection. I've had the client running for about 6 hours I guess but the blocks didn't increase (for a couple of minutes while I stared at them ;-) ) ... a few minutes after the restart now, and I have "1 connections" and the blocks are increasing. Nice ;-)

Thanks to this thread, I was able to look the transactions up in http://blockexplorer.com/ (they are there). And I think now I kind of understand what the problem is - but I guess most people won't go on a forum search to use a "wallet" and will just leave in frustration which I think would be really sad because this seems like a really promising system.

So, I guess it would help a lot of the client at least showed some sort of warning "blocks out of date, please wait until you're up to date". I'm really new to this, but I guess if there's zip-files with blocks it should also be possible to somehow get at least an estimate of what the current "blocks #" should be.

And, of course, it's really weird that a P2P network only works with a single connection ... but I guess that's off-topic ...

If you like this posting - feel free to give a tip:
1HrTEoRXbNG3GeCodpUZazTWCsjytijmkH

Keep those Bitcoins flowing :-)

Want to buy or sell Bitcoins? Sign up with TradeHill Exchange and get a 10% discount on your commission rates for life!
http://www.tradehill.com/?r=TH-R1180
foo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 03:47:52 PM
 #40

And, of course, it's really weird that a P2P network only works with a single connection ... but I guess that's off-topic ...
The client strives to keep 8 connections open. If this fails for some reason, you can add some nodes manually as explained on the Wiki:
http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:SqJrP-MOHrsJ:https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Fallback_Nodes
(Google cache since the server is down right now.)

I know this because Tyler knows this.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!