Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 07:04:31 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 3 x 6990  (Read 4308 times)
Sjalq
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 05:51:43 PM
 #1

Hi guys,

Who here is successfully running a 3 or 4 card 6990 ATI system?

I need some pointers please.

Cheesy mine mine mine mine mine mine mine Cheesy
*Image Removed*
18WMxaHsxx6FuvbQbeA33UZud1bnmD7xY3
1480748671
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748671

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748671
Reply with quote  #2

1480748671
Report to moderator
1480748671
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748671

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748671
Reply with quote  #2

1480748671
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Sjalq
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 06:05:35 PM
 #2

Any 3/4 x 5970 rigs operators may also comment.


Cheesy mine mine mine mine mine mine mine Cheesy
*Image Removed*
18WMxaHsxx6FuvbQbeA33UZud1bnmD7xY3
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 06:09:47 PM
 #3

All the above. I have 3x5970 rigs, 4x5970 rigs, 3x6990 rigs, etc. What is your pb? Are the install guides you read incomplete?
kiwiasian
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:18:24 PM
 #4

It's not possible. Windows allows for a maximum of 4 GPUs. The 5970 and 6990 is a dual GPU card.

Tradehill referral link, save 10% | http://www.tradehill.com/?r=TH-R12328
www.payb.tc/kiwiasian | 1LHNW1JGMBo2e7rKiiFz7KJPKE57bqCdEC
pwnyboy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:25:38 PM
 #5

It's not possible. Windows allows for a maximum of 4 GPUs. The 5970 and 6990 is a dual GPU card.

I guess you've never heard of Linux..
Sjalq
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 06:27:03 PM
 #6

Hey guys,

No I'm just getting really conflicting advice.

Folks tell me stuff like 1200W is the minimum you need to drive a 3 card rig and that standard cooling will not cut it.

It's really expensive equipment and I don't want to go blow something or burn something out or waste time.

In your experience, can you run 4x6990s in one box, can you power it and can you cool it without an electrical engineering degree?

On the linux/windows issue, I'm assuming you can just not use more than 4 GPUs at once but that windows will work fine if you need to boot into it.

Cheesy mine mine mine mine mine mine mine Cheesy
*Image Removed*
18WMxaHsxx6FuvbQbeA33UZud1bnmD7xY3
rezin777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:29:28 PM
 #7

In your experience, can you run 4x6990s in one box, can you power it and can you cool it without an electrical engineering degree?

Yes.

Buy a powerful quality PSU. Seasonic.

Use a case with 180mm fans, and lots of them, and good ones. Delta. Or no case at all, and fans positioned to feed cool air and suck hot air.
Sjalq
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 06:31:51 PM
 #8

Awesome thanks,

Have you done that successfully or something very similiar?

Cheesy mine mine mine mine mine mine mine Cheesy
*Image Removed*
18WMxaHsxx6FuvbQbeA33UZud1bnmD7xY3
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 07:00:51 PM
 #9

For 4x5970, I have done it with as low as 1120W of total PSU power (2 x 560W): http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=42 But don't do this unless you have a clamp-meter for precise measurements, and a highly power-optimized config (low power CPU, diskless, etc).

At stock clocks/voltages, count 275W per 5970 and 346W per 6990 (my measurements). Multiply by how many cards you have. Add some headroom for the rest of the system: 50W minimum. But that's cutting it very close. For most folks I would recommend to count the TDP of each card (294W per 5970, 375W per 6990) and to add 200W headroom for the rest of the system. Or even more for significant overclock/overvolt mods.
Sjalq
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 08:08:06 PM
 #10

Thanks mrb,

what do you mean by clamp-meter, electric multi-meter?

Also, I assume single GPU cards take less power, correct?

Cheesy mine mine mine mine mine mine mine Cheesy
*Image Removed*
18WMxaHsxx6FuvbQbeA33UZud1bnmD7xY3
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 08:30:15 PM
 #11

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clamp_meter

Yes
BitcoinRigs.com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 10:41:14 PM
 #12

Hey guys,

No I'm just getting really conflicting advice.

Folks tell me stuff like 1200W is the minimum you need to drive a 3 card rig and that standard cooling will not cut it.

Standard cooling works fine with a large case with good airflow and several fans. Do not put the cards side by side. Make sure there is at least one empty slot between each card.

Not all 1200 watt power supplies can support 3x 6990s. Many will die under the load. We've used both Antec and CoolerMaster 1200 supplies successfully.

Here's what our 3x 6990 rig looks like: http://www.bitcoinrigs.com/product_images/p/257/Rig_2000-inside__88644_zoom.png

Dedicated Bitcoin Mining Rigs from http://bitcoinrigs.com/
Sjalq
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2011, 06:23:33 AM
 #13

Hey guys,

No I'm just getting really conflicting advice.

Folks tell me stuff like 1200W is the minimum you need to drive a 3 card rig and that standard cooling will not cut it.

Standard cooling works fine with a large case with good airflow and several fans. Do not put the cards side by side. Make sure there is at least one empty slot between each card.

Not all 1200 watt power supplies can support 3x 6990s. Many will die under the load. We've used both Antec and CoolerMaster 1200 supplies successfully.

Here's what our 3x 6990 rig looks like: http://www.bitcoinrigs.com/product_images/p/257/Rig_2000-inside__88644_zoom.png


That pic is quite inspiring Cheesy
What mother board did you use for that setup? I'm looking at the http://www.msi.com/product/mb/890FXA-GD70.html
Will that cut the mustard?
Also will a Sempron work fine or will it cause some sort of bottleneck?

Cheesy mine mine mine mine mine mine mine Cheesy
*Image Removed*
18WMxaHsxx6FuvbQbeA33UZud1bnmD7xY3
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 08:21:25 AM
 #14

That pic is quite inspiring Cheesy
What mother board did you use for that setup? I'm looking at the http://www.msi.com/product/mb/890FXA-GD70.html
Will that cut the mustard?
Also will a Sempron work fine or will it cause some sort of bottleneck?

From what I've read on other threads, that board should do fine. Certainly enough slots available.

What case are you considering?
Kanaric
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 01:38:39 AM
 #15

What kind of a processor would you need for a 3x6990 setup?

Would a Athlon II x2 250 (3ghz dual core) be good?

Sharecoin: SUkF8Hzg6hdePce2riqUYzXNbTYCygA5LQ
padrino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 01:39:59 AM
 #16

What kind of a processor would you need for a 3x6990 setup?

Would a Athlon II x2 250 (3ghz dual core) be good?

That proc will be fine.

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
Kanaric
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 01:41:57 AM
 #17

Nice quick reply, thanks for that.

Sharecoin: SUkF8Hzg6hdePce2riqUYzXNbTYCygA5LQ
mackminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 335



View Profile
July 12, 2011, 07:15:27 PM
 #18

Hey guys,

No I'm just getting really conflicting advice.

Folks tell me stuff like 1200W is the minimum you need to drive a 3 card rig and that standard cooling will not cut it.

Standard cooling works fine with a large case with good airflow and several fans. Do not put the cards side by side. Make sure there is at least one empty slot between each card.

Not all 1200 watt power supplies can support 3x 6990s. Many will die under the load. We've used both Antec and CoolerMaster 1200 supplies successfully.

Here's what our 3x 6990 rig looks like: http://www.bitcoinrigs.com/product_images/p/257/Rig_2000-inside__88644_zoom.png


Hi,
Do you use all the fans in the case? Also how much power do all the fans draw? Or how many watts does the whole rig draw?

1tpXGRKnzaM42B1A1NZhmsX3tngwkqVEf
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!