Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:27:29 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5870 worker question, also pps/proportional  (Read 3582 times)
The Koolio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Minds are like parachutes they work best when open


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2011, 12:25:14 AM
 #1

Hi guys,

Been mining now on a single 5870, i3, windows 7 for about 4 days now. Ive got an average of 300-330 Hash/sec (5870 set to 930 MHz and 300 MHz memory clock) about 3.7BTC as I write this. I dont use the cpu for mining as it seems to slow my GPU hash down a lil bit.

A) Now Im after any advice to speed my work rate up, will creating a second worker on the same GPU help push efficiency? I currently use POCLBM (aggression=13, w=128, frames=20). I want to push my GPU to 1GHz but i cant even get past 940 without a crash using AMD clock tool, im no overclocking expert so any guide or help would be appreciated. I restore to default clocks when using my PC so any advice can be given assuming this is a dedicated miner. Oh I also run my machine on very basic display settings

B) Secondly, I know PPS vs Proportional is a tiresome qn, what I am after though is someone who has a similar high end GPU to tell me their experiences of using either. I know what the 'definition' differences are, but I know real life situations can differ tremendously.

C) I might buy another GP, I was thinking another 5870 but as difficulty increases I doubt Ill see that money back. I have $50-$100 spare, you reckon trawling ebay for some cheap GPU's could provide any realistic value to my quest?

Thanks!!

1. Litecoin 2. Bitcoin 3. Any of the Anon coins
1481012849
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012849

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012849
Reply with quote  #2

1481012849
Report to moderator
1481012849
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012849

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012849
Reply with quote  #2

1481012849
Report to moderator
1481012849
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012849

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012849
Reply with quote  #2

1481012849
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Genrobo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:27:10 AM
 #2

$50-100 to spare?
Get a 5830, they're only about $100 now.
If you overclock a 5830 properly, you can easily pull 275Mh/s +

17YwW6cuSbXLT8cvvdAcfy1iHyPkhVE7CG
Donations welcome, not required.
I'll be honest, any donations aren't used for a good cause, they go directly to booze, food, herbal substances Wink, and computer hardware.
I will squander the money, but hell, at least you know one person is having a good time.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:28:35 AM
 #3

your should be able to overclock your 5870 way more. i get 400 MH/s with my 5850. 1010 core, 250 mem

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:29:35 AM
 #4


C) I might buy another GP, I was thinking another 5870 but as difficulty increases I doubt Ill see that money back. I have $50-$100 spare, you reckon trawling ebay for some cheap GPU's could provide any realistic value to my quest?


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102878&Tpk=saphhire%205830 $109 is a steal
You can run 975 core clock / 340 mem clock and get about 280 mhas/s each, get 2, run about 570 mhash/s

Thats what im doing, best bang for the buck; note though, the 5830 is power hungry (slighty compared to higher models).

innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:30:08 AM
 #5

your should be able to overclock your 5870 way more. i get 400 MH/s with my 5850. 1010 core, 250 mem

Yea, MSI Afterburner does the trick Wink Just keep an eye out for heat and stability.

Dude65535
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 04:35:29 AM
 #6

A second worker is only likely to help if you see the GPU consistently running at less than 100% utilization or dipping in utilization when waiting for more work.

1DCj8ZwGZXQqQhgv6eUEnWgsxo8BTMj3mT
The Koolio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Minds are like parachutes they work best when open


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2011, 01:50:13 PM
 #7

Cheers for the info guys, anyone help me find a decent guide on pushing my 5870 to above 1ghz?

1. Litecoin 2. Bitcoin 3. Any of the Anon coins
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 01:56:32 PM
 #8

Depending on how long you want to use your card, 1GHz might be not that good of an idea.

I have 5x5870. They are all running 412MH/s at 950MHz core clock and 220MHz memory clock. None of them exceed 75C temp. You can push it further to 420MH/s but it just consumes more electricity with no real gain in processing power
The Koolio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Minds are like parachutes they work best when open


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2011, 01:57:32 PM
 #9

Oh and also, if i push to 1ghz, would it be advisable not to keep my memory clock at 300?

1. Litecoin 2. Bitcoin 3. Any of the Anon coins
Prze_koles
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 153



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 02:36:44 PM
 #10

Gigabyte Radeon 5870 980mhz/200mhz/stock voltage/temp 64-68     430Mhash/s

The Koolio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Minds are like parachutes they work best when open


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2011, 02:49:07 PM
 #11

I did some changes, and now im getting errors in poclbm. can someone tell me what this errror means?

http://www.imagecabin.com/index.php?view=306853199afdcec01dbfa689a&html=1

I changed my clock to 980 and 200 and all i was getting was 350 hash/sec, but each share was cming up with that error in the pic

1. Litecoin 2. Bitcoin 3. Any of the Anon coins
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1058


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 02:57:44 PM
 #12

Why would you lower your clock more then 300?
I heard from many people that 300 is the idle state and any lower causes damage.  Huh

max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 02:59:32 PM
 #13

I have the same card. Get me on msn messenger @ maxinmontreal at hotmail dot com, I am getting about 400. Get me on msn and I will walk you through it.

Max
icaci
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 03:16:27 PM
 #14

Depending on how long you want to use your card, 1GHz might be not that good of an idea.

I have 5x5870. They are all running 412MH/s at 950MHz core clock and 220MHz memory clock. None of them exceed 75C temp. You can push it further to 420MH/s but it just consumes more electricity with no real gain in processing power
I'm getting 413 MH/s on each of 2x5870 at 935 MHz core and 319 MHz memory clock, fans at 100%. The lower card runs at 45C and the upper - at 75C (cards are too close - bad mobo).

1KaohAcY7Zjq7eVa8WvVGrVnry3CqgkcmH
The Koolio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Minds are like parachutes they work best when open


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2011, 03:18:12 PM
 #15

why am i only getting 350 at similar clocks? also why has my share generation turned into constant long polling errors?

1. Litecoin 2. Bitcoin 3. Any of the Anon coins
Prze_koles
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 153



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 03:18:47 PM
 #16

That poclbm error is Deepbit related. Nothing you can do about it. Also, for different cards, different memory clock rates are optimal. Try something between 200-400mhz.  If you want, you can check phoenix miner with phatk kernel. I'm assuming you're using windows with ATI SDK 2.4, then try this:
phoenix -u http://USER:PASSWORD@POOL_ADDRESS:8332/ -k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=12 DEVICE=0 WORKSIZE=128

The Koolio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Minds are like parachutes they work best when open


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2011, 03:27:18 PM
 #17

thanks, yeah i will try pheonix, and you are right with the SDK. The errors were once every 20-40 accepted shares. Now as of 30 mins ago its 10 errors for every 1 share accepted, something isnt right?! is anyone else getting this many errors now with deepbit, have they gone down or something

1. Litecoin 2. Bitcoin 3. Any of the Anon coins
icaci
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 03:30:31 PM
 #18

why am i only getting 350 at similar clocks? also why has my share generation turned into constant long polling errors?
There is a noticeable difference in hashing speeds between 319 MHz and 300 MHz. What miner are you using? What options? How about running Phoenix with phatk kernel that is specifically optimised for 5870 and SDK 2.4? My options are:
VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=13 WORKSIZE=256
WORKSIZE=128 gives a little lower result with SDK 2.4. With SDK 2.1 worksize of 128 gives better hashing speed but still lower than worksize of 256 with SDK 2.4. Beware, that's not a general rule but specific to the phatk kernel!

1KaohAcY7Zjq7eVa8WvVGrVnry3CqgkcmH
Prze_koles
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 153



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 03:37:22 PM
 #19

Just checked:
390Mhash/s with 256
430Mhash/s with 128
Not working for me I think  Sad

The Koolio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Minds are like parachutes they work best when open


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2011, 03:37:59 PM
 #20

my options are  AGGRESSION=12 WORKSIZE=128. i WAS USING POCLBM, however i think i might give pheonix a go, either way im getting these stupid long polling errors. can anyone confirm whether deepbit is down? i was using my miner for last 5 days no problems, then today i restarted and installed the latest 11.5 catalyist for my 5870 and now all i get are long polling errors, would that install have created them?

1. Litecoin 2. Bitcoin 3. Any of the Anon coins
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!