Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2017, 12:28:48 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: stolen bitcoins from Bitcoin Core  (Read 7433 times)
cr1776
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736


View Profile
June 01, 2015, 07:22:17 PM
 #21

Screenshot of Bitcoin Desktop (It used to say Balance 5)

http://www.screencast.com/users/kirwin2009/folders/Default/media/50c2fdac-bcf1-460e-8aec-6ce4734ef8e1


Bitcoin Receive section

http://www.screencast.com/users/kirwin2009/folders/Default/media/78e901e5-41f9-4d3d-a934-f4d20771c621


Firewall Warning (NOTE  This starts popping up about 1 minute after I open the utility and it starts to download the blockchain)

http://www.screencast.com/users/kirwin2009/folders/Default/media/cb7060fa-9e4b-4cdf-aee4-b4512b7c770c  

The coins have been sitting in this wallet unued since 2013....no activity.....I just recently decided to move them to a different computer so I need to download the latest blockchain so I could prosess a transfer.    During the downloiad I got hacked.....the download never completed and I did not try to make a transfer

This is likely the most important part.  HOW did you "move them to a different computer"?   Did you copy only the one private key or the entire wallet.dat?

Also, do you still have access to the old computer?  If so, (and if what you are saying is accurate), then in all likelihood all the private keys needed to access all your BTC are in there.  You can export ALL the private keys from there and import them elsewhere.

Likewise for Litecoin  (Lite not Light), you should copy your wallet.dat over.

The good news is that it seems extremely unlikely you got hacked since the coins have not moved in 18 months.  ;-)


Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
jkirwin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
June 19, 2015, 06:35:34 PM
 #22

I am returning to this thread because I still have a problem.  Its now worse.  Please see thread for details.  The screen shot below shows the error message that I am now getting.  After my last conversation I went to update the blockchain and after I left it for a while Bitcoin stopped working.....all the while I was getting error message that computers were trying to access Bicoin (Hack attempts)

Now I cant open the Bitcoin Core Software.......

See error message

http://www.screencast.com/users/kirwin2009/folders/Default/media/f7f8d3c3-917c-4746-ac0c-6edd69a52fb2

Any suggestions
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
June 19, 2015, 06:41:30 PM
 #23

I am returning to this thread because I still have a problem.  Its now worse.  Please see thread for details.  The screen shot below shows the error message that I am now getting.  After my last conversation I went to update the blockchain and after I left it for a while Bitcoin stopped working.....all the while I was getting error message that computers were trying to access Bicoin (Hack attempts)
Can you post a screenshot about these messages about hack attempts? These are probably not hack attempts but rather Bitcoin Core attempting to connect to the Bitcoin network. These messages are probably from your firewall, and you must let Bitcoin Core through the firewall in order to connect properly to the network.

jkirwin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
June 19, 2015, 07:07:40 PM
 #24

Here ya go  thanks for your help

http://www.screencast.com/users/kirwin2009/folders/Default/media/cb7060fa-9e4b-4cdf-aee4-b4512b7c770c
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
June 19, 2015, 07:17:11 PM
 #25

That is not a hacking attempt, that is a node on the Bitcoin network trying to make a connection to your node. You should click "allow" so that you have a connection to the Bitcoin network and can fully sync the blockchain.

jkirwin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
June 19, 2015, 07:57:55 PM
 #26

Great.....!but I still cant boot the program....I get the error message (See screen shot in last message)....how do I get the software to open....
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
June 19, 2015, 08:01:06 PM
 #27

Great.....!but I still cant boot the program....I get the error message (See screen shot in last message)....how do I get the software to open....
Can you post a screenshot of the report when you click report?
I think the solution would be to just reinstall Bitcoin Core. Reinstalling will not delete the blockchain you already downloaded previously, nor will it delete your wallet. Just to be safe though, before reinstalling, copy the wallet.dat file to a safe location.

iram66680
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


View Profile
June 20, 2015, 07:18:30 AM
 #28

Great.....!but I still cant boot the program....I get the error message (See screen shot in last message)....how do I get the software to open....
Disable the anti virus completely. The IP address was a full node which is required for syncing. Anti virus are known to block any connections to the computer.

bitnanigans
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
June 20, 2015, 02:14:51 PM
 #29

You can backup the wallet.dat, perform a fresh install of Bitcoin core and let the synchronisation process complete. Then copy the wallet.dat once the client is synchronised and check your balance.
d4n13
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


Changed profile to brianddk


View Profile WWW
June 20, 2015, 02:37:13 PM
 #30

I would suggest:
1) If you know enough about your OS to do a low level file search, search for wallet.dat
2) If you know enough about bitcoin-qt to determine which of the wallet.dat files is correct, copy that one to backup.
3) If you know enough about partial nodes like Multibit or bitcoinJ, try importing your backed-up wallet.dat into one of those.

partial node programs will sync with the blockchain many many orders of magnitude faster.  Minutes -vs- days.

Changed profile to brianddk
jkirwin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
June 20, 2015, 04:08:18 PM
 #31

Thanks to everyone for all your help so far....In my saga I am now trying to reload Bitcoin core....however....I cant.....I downloaded the latest version from Bitcoin.org....but when I try to load it....I am getting the same error message....see screen shot below

http://www.screencast.com/users/kirwin2009/folders/Default/media/64ea6c42-6f55-40b7-8dd1-b3ed8c517465

I even tried deleting the old version by dragging it into the trach and then reloading but I got the same error message  ....if I do a search using the hour glass in the top right for wallet.dat.....I find nothing......I did back up wallet.dat to a flash when I first did this so I have it


 How do I get Bitcoin Core to reload....so I can open it?

Thanks
d4n13
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


Changed profile to brianddk


View Profile WWW
June 20, 2015, 05:17:03 PM
 #32

If you know how to start a shell, you could try to see if bitcoind or bitcoin-cli will work.  If you can run those, then you can still export your keys through there.  This will likely be more entailed and less point and click than bitcoin-qt

Changed profile to brianddk
jkirwin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
July 16, 2015, 06:10:36 PM
 #33

http://www.screencast.com/users/kirwin2009/folders/Default/media/64ea6c42-6f55-40b7-8dd1-b3ed8c517465

HI

I still can not get bitcoin core to update the block chain. I cannot get Bitcoin Core to open. 

 I tried to reinstall and I got the same error message (See screen shot) 

Finally....I have deleted bitcoin core and reloaded the bitcoin core program from bitcoin.org

I had to install the version  "2015-05-19 - Bitcoin Core version 0.10.2"

The newer version would not work because it said my Mac software needed to be newer

I have Mac version 10.6.8

After deleting the bitcoin core and reinstalling it...I still get the same error message

I cannot open the program

I HAVE THE COIN DATA BACKED UP AS A .DAT FILE....CAN I TRY LOADING A DIFFERENT PROGRAM AND OPENING THE COINS IN THAT OTHER PROGRAM EVEN IF THEY WERE CREATED/BACKED UP FROM THRE BITCOIN CORE PROGRAM?

JOHN KIRWIN
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2015, 06:16:31 PM
 #34

I have Mac version 10.6.8
That might be the problem. You are using an old unsupported os.

I HAVE THE COIN DATA BACKED UP AS A .DAT FILE....CAN I TRY LOADING A DIFFERENT PROGRAM AND OPENING THE COINS IN THAT OTHER PROGRAM EVEN IF THEY WERE CREATED/BACKED UP FROM THRE BITCOIN CORE PROGRAM?
Yes. You can import the wallet.dat file into blockchain.info's web wallet and perhaps other wallets too. However, if you do that, I would recommend that once the wallet is imported, to move all of the Bitcoin to a new wallet and not receive any Bitcoin on addresses from the old wallet.

jkirwin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
July 16, 2015, 06:27:35 PM
 #35

Are you able to recommend a different wallet?
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2015, 06:45:26 PM
 #36

Are you able to recommend a different wallet?
MultiBit and Electrum are two very good wallets. They use SPV so you won't have to store the entire blockchain on your computer.

2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
July 16, 2015, 07:00:51 PM
 #37

I have Mac version 10.6.8
That might be the problem. You are using an old unsupported os.

Bitcoin Core 0.10.2 works without any problems on Mac OSX 10.6.8.

The "quit unexpectedly" error is for sure not caused by the combination of software. I've been running this version of OSX and various version of Bitcoin on many Macintoshes without a problem. The only problem that I had with this combination was related to the bad disk drives that kept passing various Apple diagnostics until I grew suspicious and booted Debian Linux and run its diagnostics (badblocks).

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
jkirwin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
July 16, 2015, 07:48:02 PM
 #38

Hi

I just tried to do a work arouind and load Multibit HD instead of Bitcoin COre....I got the same error message  "....can't use this version of Multi bit with this version of Mac......I ran the Mac updates but its not updating to the newest version.....I dont understand the last post....so what do I do?Huh
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2015, 07:54:00 PM
 #39

Hi

I just tried to do a work arouind and load Multibit HD instead of Bitcoin COre....I got the same error message  "....can't use this version of Multi bit with this version of Mac......I ran the Mac updates but its not updating to the newest version.....I dont understand the last post....so what do I do?Huh
You either need to use older versions of the software or change your OS. You could upgrade to the latest version of OS X and all of the current software should support it. Or you can install a different OS such as a distribution of Linux or a copy of Windows.

The last post was discussing hardware issues. Since Bitcoin core is very hardware intensive, it is a good test of whether your hardware is failing or not. Apple has diagnostics to check your hardware, but you should also use other tools to check also. 2112 used diagnostics from Debian due to his suspicions of hardware failure.

jkirwin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
July 18, 2015, 02:18:51 PM
 #40

Hi  Stlll having trouble...I updated my OS X to Yosemite and loaded Multibit HD....I was hoping to restore the .dat files I have on a flash drive that were created in Bitcoin Core....However....Multibit is requireriung "Wallet Words" to start the restore process so I can import my coins from my flash.....Problem is I don't have any wallet words.....I only have a password for those coins.   How do I do a restore if I don't have the wallet words it is requesting.  I never made any wallet words
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!