Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 10:47:56 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: CPU Mining have any sense at all?  (Read 14107 times)
Raghnar
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 08:29:58 AM
 #1

I CPU mined the whole weekend  in mining.bitcoin.cz pool with cgminer using a quad i5 desktop core, and got just
.01 BTC

My rate 9 MHash/s on average (pretty bad uh?!)

Am I doing something wrong, there is some way to use the processing power of CPU more effectivly (maybe with pools that make use of the higher instruction x86 architecture have) or is just pointless mining?
1511002076
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511002076

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511002076
Reply with quote  #2

1511002076
Report to moderator
1511002076
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511002076

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511002076
Reply with quote  #2

1511002076
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511002076
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511002076

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511002076
Reply with quote  #2

1511002076
Report to moderator
1511002076
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511002076

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511002076
Reply with quote  #2

1511002076
Report to moderator
deathsythe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45



View Profile
September 10, 2012, 08:32:23 AM
 #2

I'm running a 2 year old Nvidia card (GTX 460) and I'm pulling >60Mhash/s.


I can't imagine CPU mining is worth it, unless its not your electricity you are running (school, computer lab, library, dorm, public wifi, etc...)

Hurricane Sandy wrecked my car and house.

Donations or kind words can be sent here 1Apy1m7CYhje15SQNQ798n6nentEbUWh4s

Thanks, and Cthulhu bless you.
NRF
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
September 10, 2012, 08:35:19 AM
 #3

The only thing you are doing wrong is mining with your CPU.

The time when you could make a profit CPU mining is long gone sorry.  The electricity that you consumed to make that .01 BTC probably cost you .05 BTC.

Truth be told even GPU mining is quite marginal these days and if you don't keep a close eye on your costs you will just end up with a big power bill.

data
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 08:39:16 AM
 #4

I have to agree with the others, cpu mining does not make sense at this day and age.
deathsythe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45



View Profile
September 10, 2012, 08:58:19 AM
 #5

I mean, if you have random rigs laying around. Why not put a farm somewhere where you don't pay power (dorm room perhaps)

Or like, leave a netbook running at work, or your work PC on.


I mean hey, if I was still an undergrad working in my college's PC lab, I would have miners set up on every single machine.

Hurricane Sandy wrecked my car and house.

Donations or kind words can be sent here 1Apy1m7CYhje15SQNQ798n6nentEbUWh4s

Thanks, and Cthulhu bless you.
flower1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148



View Profile
September 10, 2012, 08:59:50 AM
 #6

you could try mining litecoin and sell them for btc
but if you pay for electricity i think it is not much better

c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
September 10, 2012, 09:34:34 AM
 #7

I CPU mined the whole weekend  in mining.bitcoin.cz pool with cgminer using a quad i5 desktop core, and got just
.01 BTC

My rate 9 MHash/s on average (pretty bad uh?!)

Am I doing something wrong, there is some way to use the processing power of CPU more effectivly (maybe with pools that make use of the higher instruction x86 architecture have) or is just pointless mining?

You should definitely be getting better hashes than that, I'm on a intel mobile t4400 and I get 14MH/s...

What miner are you using, pooler's cpuminer should really do wonders for you, just be sure to use the "--algo=sha256d" flag when you run it. If you need help setting it up, let me know and I'll paste a sample batch file for you, VERY easy to edit and use.
Raghnar
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 02:25:06 PM
 #8

I mean, if you have random rigs laying around. Why not put a farm somewhere where you don't pay power (dorm room perhaps)

Or like, leave a netbook running at work, or your work PC on.


I mean hey, if I was still an undergrad working in my college's PC lab, I would have miners set up on every single machine.


well I'm a grad stud, and due to the fact that I'm writing the thesis I'm not using my CPU at all and I was thinking to make good use of my machine in my drastically underpaid job to make some spare change to buy amenities XD
I have an i5 750 on my university machine...

But it isn't turning so well, if my home computer mines 6 times faster with an underclocked ATI 4850... (and maybe I'm in any case mining in loss since electricity in Italy is damn expensive)

In any case the main objective is still trying understanding a bit more about hashing, parallel and GPU computing, and maybe even economics, in the spare time away from my thesis, by watching on the other side of the fence what can be achieved with a thorough community.
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
September 10, 2012, 02:41:09 PM
 #9

I'm running a 2 year old Nvidia card (GTX 460) and I'm pulling >60Mhash/s.


I can't imagine CPU mining is worth it, unless its not your electricity you are running (school, computer lab, library, dorm, public wifi, etc...)


What program and flags are you using if you don't mind me asking...?
deathsythe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45



View Profile
September 10, 2012, 08:43:29 PM
 #10

I'm running a 2 year old Nvidia card (GTX 460) and I'm pulling >60Mhash/s.


I can't imagine CPU mining is worth it, unless its not your electricity you are running (school, computer lab, library, dorm, public wifi, etc...)


What program and flags are you using if you don't mind me asking...?


Don't mind at all.

GUIMiner - no extra flags.

If there's something I'm doing wrong, or could be doing better, I would love to hear it. Smiley

Hurricane Sandy wrecked my car and house.

Donations or kind words can be sent here 1Apy1m7CYhje15SQNQ798n6nentEbUWh4s

Thanks, and Cthulhu bless you.
dotcom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 354



View Profile
September 10, 2012, 08:59:43 PM
 #11

Everything i've read has said that at the current difficulty CPU mining is just not viable anymore
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 10:35:44 PM
 #12

As other said, no, cpu mining is just a waste of time and energy
Mandelbrot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
September 11, 2012, 01:30:07 AM
 #13

You actually save more money by not mining with your CPU.
techstrordinary
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
September 11, 2012, 06:42:55 AM
 #14

It'd work out cheaper just to turn you computer off, than to mine with your CPU.
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530


View Profile
September 11, 2012, 09:25:03 PM
 #15

My old netbook can do 250kH/s, at least for a couple of hours until it gets hot enough that the CPU throttles and it drops down to 90kH/s.  I was trying to test if I'd got a pool configured right, but gave up before I managed to submit a single difficulty 1 share.

I doubt CPU mining has any value these days.

roy
majinx
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
September 12, 2012, 04:26:33 AM
 #16

....even with GPU theres still a chance of it not being worth it! So I say no, not much sense. (as stated unless 1. you don't care about making a decent amount of coin 2. you have free electricity.)
bziubek
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
September 12, 2012, 06:18:47 AM
 #17

You can try mining LTC with your CPU. But of course with proper gpu it's more worth it.
Yuki22
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
September 12, 2012, 03:57:33 PM
 #18

I know that litecoin is more for CPU effecient while bitcoin has gone from CPU to GPU to FPGA and soon to ASIC. You would be better off mining for litecoins.

Coming soon! New bitcoin service that allows users to invest in our hashing power for estimated weekly returns of 4-6 percent.
Jermainé
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
September 12, 2012, 09:30:56 PM
 #19

I mean, if you have random rigs laying around. Why not put a farm somewhere where you don't pay power (dorm room perhaps)

Or like, leave a netbook running at work, or your work PC on.


I mean hey, if I was still an undergrad working in my college's PC lab, I would have miners set up on every single machine.


Say word. I told my bro to do this but he's a lazy bitch that would rather work 9-5s. My head hurts everytime I think about all the coins he could be spitting me with Smiley
RyanRed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
September 12, 2012, 11:43:24 PM
 #20

Ive been mining litecoin the last few days. I am just toying around with things though. Learning the ropes if you will. I want to try it all out since Im real new to this.

But my AMD 8150FX 8core CPU mines litecoins at 60 khash/s. At the same time I mine with my 1 ATI HD6750 GPU for litecoins as well. Combined I get around 220 khash/s. I really dont know if I should go back to mining bitcoing being that I only have 1 GPU to mine with. Litecoin feels easier to me. If I let it go for 24 hours Ill get around 25ish litecoin a day. Again, I'm just messing around learning all about this whole thing still Smiley Im quite sure my power-bill by far offsets all of this. But I'm having fun none the less Cheesy

-Ryan
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!