Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 09:49:42 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: BFL quietly changes from internal to external power supply for SC  (Read 1567 times)
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 459


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 08:32:55 PM
 #1

BFL_Josh mentioned in another post https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=104890.msg1177980#msg1177980 that the single was using a new power supply brick.
I distinctly remember them mentioning an internal power supply.  So here's a screen shot of the original order form that mentions the internal power supply, and a shot of the new order form where they quietly changed the language and removed references to the internal power supply. (I make PDF's of all of the order forms and marketing material when I order something expensive). No great conspiracy, but interesting nevertheless.   Edit - I see Josh already posted about it and said it was a mistake.

Old order form:


New order form:
1511344182
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511344182

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511344182
Reply with quote  #2

1511344182
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511344182
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511344182

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511344182
Reply with quote  #2

1511344182
Report to moderator
1511344182
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511344182

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511344182
Reply with quote  #2

1511344182
Report to moderator
1511344182
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511344182

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511344182
Reply with quote  #2

1511344182
Report to moderator
tytus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 250


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 08:57:33 PM
 #2

This is a very positive signal. Maybe they know now how much power the device will use.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
September 10, 2012, 09:20:50 PM
 #3

This is a very positive signal. Maybe they know now how much power the device will use.

They've probably known for a while now what it draws for power. They just havnt releaesed that information to the public.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
tytus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 250


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 09:52:00 PM
 #4

If You know the power dissipation it means You can mine with the chip. You think they are that far ? :-)
RHA
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 11:51:20 PM
 #5

The phrase "Product include: (...), internal power supply (...)" was strange from the very beginning: the "internal power supply" is a feature of a product, not a distinct item to be found in the parcel like a cable or a manual.
It was obvious it had to be corrected: either by moving the "internal power supply" to a feature list, or by removing the word "internal".

I would prefer internal rather than external power supply. One box less to stand on the floor, one cable less in a mess. Current Mac Mini is a step in that direction and I like it.
However I understand why you prefer the external: the possibility of using one great, stable PSU to provide power to a row of singles.
wogaut
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 446



View Profile
September 10, 2012, 11:56:15 PM
 #6

I would prefer internal rather than external power supply. One box less to stand on the floor, one cable less in a mess. Current Mac Mini is a step in that direction and I like it.
However I understand why you prefer the external: the possibility of using one great, stable PSU to provide power to a row of singles.

The main reason for an external PSU would be to eliminate PSU failure as a failure mode. No need to return the whole unit when the PSU fails with an external one.

dankroxel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30



View Profile
September 11, 2012, 08:16:42 PM
 #7

I'm just going to purchase some of 'cablez' cable's.. and buy a separate PSU to run my asics and my laptop. no need for those power bricks then. Cheesy.
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 417



View Profile WWW
September 12, 2012, 05:44:22 PM
 #8


like the change, faster to get nodes back online, easier to 'bulk/bus' power a bunch of them.

+1
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!