Bitcoin Forum
June 25, 2018, 10:26:04 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: how much bandwidth does mining take?  (Read 39606 times)
trueimage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 03:31:46 PM
 #1

And is there a way to delay the transactions to specific windows?
1529922364
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529922364

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529922364
Reply with quote  #2

1529922364
Report to moderator
1529922364
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529922364

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529922364
Reply with quote  #2

1529922364
Report to moderator
Automated Bitcoin Fork Extraction Tool WE DO TOUGH WALLETS: BCH | BTG | BCD | SBTC | UBTC | B2X | BCX | BTF Electrum 2FA, Trezor, Ledger, SegWit, Bech32
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529922364
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529922364

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529922364
Reply with quote  #2

1529922364
Report to moderator
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 1140



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 03:40:37 PM
 #2

mining itself takes almost zero bandwidth if you're solo mining with a local bitcoind. if you're pool mining, with a high ask rate, it's going to be high, but not too much. (less than 10 mb per hour)

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Adblock for annoying signature ads | Enhanced Merit UI
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 03:52:40 PM
 #3

yeah you dont have to worry about bandwidth being an issue. GPU cycles is what this is heavy on.

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
trueimage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 04:08:08 PM
 #4

mining itself takes almost zero bandwidth if you're solo mining with a local bitcoind. if you're pool mining, with a high ask rate, it's going to be high, but not too much. (less than 10 mb per hour)

so solo mining, how often does it need to talk to the outside world?
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 04:24:30 PM
 #5

Running a node (needed for solo mining) talks to the world constantly, but at a very low rate.

17Np17BSrpnHCZ2pgtiMNnhjnsWJ2TMqq8
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 04:58:36 PM
 #6

mining itself takes almost zero bandwidth if you're solo mining with a local bitcoind. if you're pool mining, with a high ask rate, it's going to be high, but not too much. (less than 10 mb per hour)

so solo mining, how often does it need to talk to the outside world?

just open up System Monitor (if running linux - your own system monitoring tool if another OS) for a few minutes, and you can watch the network send and receive as you mine.
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 06:00:33 PM
 #7

Very very low usage. Around 2mb per hour.


Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
compro01
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 601
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 06:06:56 PM
 #8

According to netlimiter monitor, mining (using gui-miner on deepbit) did 280MB (185 down, 95 up) of transfer over the month of may.

comparatively, the bitcoin client has taken up 1572MB (1180 up, 392 down) of transfer over the same period.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!