Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2017, 08:00:23 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Need to upgrade?  (Read 1313 times)
Piper67
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


AffBits.com Affiliate Network


View Profile WWW
September 12, 2012, 04:16:18 PM
 #1

Hi all.

I just checked my Satoshi client for the first time in weeks today (it's always running in the background) and I saw that the last downloaded block was received 17 days ago, as well as the warning message: Displayed transactions may not be correct! You may need to upgrade or other nodes may need to upgrade.

Problem is, I'm already running 0.6.3 in Windows, so I have nothing to upgrade to... or is this a different meaning of the word upgrade?

What's going on?

1511294423
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511294423

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511294423
Reply with quote  #2

1511294423
Report to moderator
1511294423
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511294423

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511294423
Reply with quote  #2

1511294423
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511294423
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511294423

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511294423
Reply with quote  #2

1511294423
Report to moderator
1511294423
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511294423

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511294423
Reply with quote  #2

1511294423
Report to moderator
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324



View Profile
September 12, 2012, 09:28:55 PM
 #2

Hi all.

I just checked my Satoshi client for the first time in weeks today (it's always running in the background) and I saw that the last downloaded block was received 17 days ago, as well as the warning message: Displayed transactions may not be correct! You may need to upgrade or other nodes may need to upgrade.

Problem is, I'm already running 0.6.3 in Windows, so I have nothing to upgrade to... or is this a different meaning of the word upgrade?

What's going on?

That message simply means it realizes the blockhain is out of date and isn't updating.  One of the possible reasons this occurs is if the version is too old.  But that is not the case in your instance.

Is it downloading blocks?  If not, is there a connection problem? (the client shows the number of connections with a notification/status icon in the bottom right.)

Piper67
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


AffBits.com Affiliate Network


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2012, 12:32:36 AM
 #3

Hi all.

I just checked my Satoshi client for the first time in weeks today (it's always running in the background) and I saw that the last downloaded block was received 17 days ago, as well as the warning message: Displayed transactions may not be correct! You may need to upgrade or other nodes may need to upgrade.

Problem is, I'm already running 0.6.3 in Windows, so I have nothing to upgrade to... or is this a different meaning of the word upgrade?

What's going on?

That message simply means it realizes the blockhain is out of date and isn't updating.  One of the possible reasons this occurs is if the version is too old.  But that is not the case in your instance.

Is it downloading blocks?  If not, is there a connection problem? (the client shows the number of connections with a notification/status icon in the bottom right.)

It wasn't downloading blocks. It said the last one was generated 17 days ago. But the connections were ok, it was showing ten, and full bars in the green. Why would it be connected yet unable to download blocks?

Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324



View Profile
September 13, 2012, 06:13:47 AM
 #4

But the connections were ok, it was showing ten, and full bars in the green. Why would it be connected yet unable to download blocks?

You'll probably need to get the last couple dozen lines from debug.log and see if it says what the problem is.

Piper67
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


AffBits.com Affiliate Network


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2012, 10:57:14 AM
 #5

But the connections were ok, it was showing ten, and full bars in the green. Why would it be connected yet unable to download blocks?

You'll probably need to get the last couple dozen lines from debug.log and see if it says what the problem is.

This is what I get... unfortunately, it might as well be hieroglyphs to me  Smiley

connected 50.31.74.233:8333
Added time data, samples 5, offset +47 (+0 minutes)
nTimeOffset = +52  (+0 minutes)
Moving 50.31.74.233:8333 to tried
version message: version 60001, blocks=198574
trying connection 72.193.140.180:8333 lastseen=-7.6hrs
askfor tx 062533689d61d40ec28b   0
sending getdata: tx 062533689d61d40ec28b
ERROR: FetchInputs() : 062533689d mempool Tx prev not found 17c8fd57d5
ERROR: CTxMemPool::accept() : FetchInputs failed 062533689d
stored orphan tx 062533689d (mapsz 23)
Added 321 addresses from 50.31.74.233: 3041 tried, 12134 new
Added 324 addresses from 50.31.74.233: 3041 tried, 12087 new
Added 181 addresses from 50.31.74.233: 3041 tried, 12071 new
askfor tx 5b1ce61242ef901ba945   0
sending getdata: tx 5b1ce61242ef901ba945
ERROR: FetchInputs() : 5b1ce61242 mempool Tx prev not found 1bf3e23bf4
ERROR: CTxMemPool::accept() : FetchInputs failed 5b1ce61242
stored orphan tx 5b1ce61242 (mapsz 24)
connection timeout
trying connection 95.27.163.10:8333 lastseen=-4.5hrs
askfor tx 90eb17eae2105a36fe9e   0
sending getdata: tx 90eb17eae2105a36fe9e
askfor tx 90eb17eae2105a36fe9e   1347533693000000
ERROR: FetchInputs() : 90eb17eae2 mempool Tx prev not found c856d30f3b
ERROR: CTxMemPool::accept() : FetchInputs failed 90eb17eae2
stored orphan tx 90eb17eae2 (mapsz 25)

Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324



View Profile
September 14, 2012, 12:10:59 AM
 #6

version message: version 60001, blocks=198574

Are you sure it hasn't caught up?  Block 198,574 would have been about current for the time you posted.


(it's always running in the background)

Just checking...  rule #1 with electronics and software says that when stuck, reboot.   Have you tried closing the program and re-launching it?  It is a shot in the dark, but who knows.

Piper67
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


AffBits.com Affiliate Network


View Profile WWW
September 14, 2012, 10:31:22 AM
 #7

version message: version 60001, blocks=198574

Are you sure it hasn't caught up?  Block 198,574 would have been about current for the time you posted.


(it's always running in the background)

Just checking...  rule #1 with electronics and software says that when stuck, reboot.   Have you tried closing the program and re-launching it?  It is a shot in the dark, but who knows.


Yes, but it's telling me the last block downloaded was 195775, about 18 days ago. It's connected to the network, but somehow it got stuck there and isn't downloading any more blocks.

I've restarted, I've reinstalled, I've uninstalled THEN reinstalled... nothing seems to work. Just hoping 0.7.0 will come out soon, so I can try installing it and see if that jumpstarts it.

EDIT: OK, so I renamed all the blkindex files, started up again and now it's downloading the chain... it'll take a few hours, but we'll see what happens when it gets to 195775.

zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


I have some bitcoins. Somewhere.


View Profile WWW
September 14, 2012, 12:42:48 PM
 #8

version message: version 60001, blocks=198574

Are you sure it hasn't caught up?  Block 198,574 would have been about current for the time you posted.


(it's always running in the background)

Just checking...  rule #1 with electronics and software says that when stuck, reboot.   Have you tried closing the program and re-launching it?  It is a shot in the dark, but who knows.


Yes, but it's telling me the last block downloaded was 195775, about 18 days ago. It's connected to the network, but somehow it got stuck there and isn't downloading any more blocks.

I've restarted, I've reinstalled, I've uninstalled THEN reinstalled... nothing seems to work. Just hoping 0.7.0 will come out soon, so I can try installing it and see if that jumpstarts it.

EDIT: OK, so I renamed all the blkindex files, started up again and now it's downloading the chain... it'll take a few hours, but we'll see what happens when it gets to 195775.

start it from command line with -maxconnections=1 -connect=5.9.24.81

then after the chain finishes downloading restart it as normal.     i've always found it much faster connecting to just 1 node when downloading the blockchain (otherwise you get spammed with all kinds of junk)

just not something you'd want to make as default in the client, for obvious reasons (re: server offering up bs blockchain etc)

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
betatest512
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
September 23, 2012, 02:05:31 PM
 #9

i had the same problem with 0.6.3 and upgraded to 0.7.0
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!