Bitcoin Forum
September 26, 2018, 08:15:35 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: china pool only accept 732kb block ?  (Read 853 times)
Meuh6879
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 22, 2015, 09:53:23 PM
 #1

Why, on specific block, i see 976kb block (normal) ... and somes (a lot !) others blocks, only 732kb ?
I have read something (on bitcointalk) that china pools only accept 800kb block.    Huh

1537949735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537949735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537949735
Reply with quote  #2

1537949735
Report to moderator
1537949735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537949735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537949735
Reply with quote  #2

1537949735
Report to moderator
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537949735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537949735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537949735
Reply with quote  #2

1537949735
Report to moderator
1537949735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537949735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537949735
Reply with quote  #2

1537949735
Report to moderator
1537949735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537949735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537949735
Reply with quote  #2

1537949735
Report to moderator
neurotypical
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 22, 2015, 09:57:17 PM
 #2

The reasoning behind it seem to be that "it is for pools that consider that to be equilibrium for them". Not sure what that means.
unamis76
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 22, 2015, 10:00:33 PM
 #3

It seems that stock clients can only go up to 732kb blocks. Miners/pools need to manually raise this limit, and that's what some did... While others have the limit on stock settings.
randy8777
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 22, 2015, 10:42:09 PM
 #4

It seems that stock clients can only go up to 732kb blocks. Miners/pools need to manually raise this limit, and that's what some did... While others have the limit on stock settings.

they could just make an announcement stating that miners need to raise the limit. it doesn't seem like a difficult task if you ask me.
Meuh6879
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 22, 2015, 10:52:15 PM
 #5

It seems that stock clients can only go up to 732kb blocks. Miners/pools need to manually raise this limit, and that's what some did... While others have the limit on stock settings.

 Grin OK, thank for this technical answer.
 Roll Eyes and this guys want to raise the block to 8Mb ... ? they don't understand the basic setting of the actually stock client ...  Lips sealed
macbook-air
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 323
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
July 01, 2015, 03:09:09 PM
 #6

Last time we checked the GPS, we are also in China.

NoBit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 323
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 01, 2015, 04:30:20 PM
 #7

So if we have 8 MB blocks what is stopping miners to manually cap their blocks to 732kb ?

Bitrated user: nobit.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1001



View Profile
July 01, 2015, 04:40:05 PM
 #8

So if we have 8 MB blocks what is stopping miners to manually cap their blocks to 732kb ?

Nothing is stopping them other than profit motive.  Just like miners today could all decide to only mine blocks with a coinbase transaction and nothing else.

If you cut off the network's ability to process a reasonable amount of transactions, you remove the value of that network and suddenly you're making a lot less because the value plummets to nothing.

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
unamis76
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 01, 2015, 04:54:03 PM
 #9

It seems that stock clients can only go up to 732kb blocks. Miners/pools need to manually raise this limit, and that's what some did... While others have the limit on stock settings.

 Grin OK, thank for this technical answer.
 Roll Eyes and this guys want to raise the block to 8Mb ... ? they don't understand the basic setting of the actually stock client ...  Lips sealed

Yes, apparently they do. They don't need to understand the "basic settings of the stock client" to raise the limit to (or close to) 8MB

Last time we checked the GPS, we are also in China.

Exactly, so it's easy to conclude that this doesn't fit you Cheesy

So if we have 8 MB blocks what is stopping miners to manually cap their blocks to 732kb ?

Nothing. But if they don't change the settings to raise the limit, they probably won't change the settings to decrease the limit Cheesy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!