Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2017, 03:40:48 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Multiple instances of bitcoin-qt with different -datadir?  (Read 1166 times)
ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 525



View Profile
September 15, 2012, 01:59:30 PM
 #1

...is it possible/recommended? I.e. running the same executable, but with different data folders. I did it by accident and nothing screwed up, but i don't know if that's safe. (Usually I shut down the client and restart it with a different datadir)

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
1511235648
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511235648

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511235648
Reply with quote  #2

1511235648
Report to moderator
1511235648
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511235648

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511235648
Reply with quote  #2

1511235648
Report to moderator
1511235648
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511235648

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511235648
Reply with quote  #2

1511235648
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
September 15, 2012, 02:22:56 PM
 #2

I know it works just fine in bitcoind, and I don't think that bitcoin-qt opens any different files, so I don't think it would be a problem.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324



View Profile
September 15, 2012, 11:23:18 PM
 #3

...is it possible/recommended? I.e. running the same executable, but with different data folders. I did it by accident and nothing screwed up, but i don't know if that's safe. (Usually I shut down the client and restart it with a different datadir)

Sometimes people think this is a way to re-use the same blockchain, so just wanted to point out that this method will maintain the blockchain database in each datadir.

ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 525



View Profile
September 16, 2012, 09:39:35 AM
 #4

Yes of course - there are blk000* files in each directory. But unless there is a -walletdir option, this looks like the only way to manage different wallets.

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!