Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 07:48:49 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hello world! Some noob HW questions...  (Read 564 times)
Mathsinstrument
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
September 15, 2012, 03:06:48 PM
 #1

Hi all, I just started out into this bitcoin mining thing, so all stuff are kinda raw to me now.

I have currently the following:
E2200 intel processor
Gigabyte ep43 ds3L
Sapphire 5850 reference x1
Sapphire 5850 extreme vapour-x x2
750w Amacrox Freestyle PSU
80gb HDD running win 7 64bit

Mining currently with GUIminer getting about 1010m/hash avg.
Sapphires running at 900/300 stable for about 1week already with temps stable at 65c @ 60% fan settings. Killawatt is coming in next week for some kw/h readings.

I have a problem here, when 2 gpus are mining, I can get both gpu to run 99% constantly. But when ever I start the 3rd gpu, there will always be one gpu which fluctuates at from 95-75% all the time. Is it normal?
When I stop mining any one card, which is 99%, the fluctuating one will return to 99% stable. Is there any solution to this?

Thanks again for your help! Cheers!
1510948129
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948129

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948129
Reply with quote  #2

1510948129
Report to moderator
1510948129
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948129

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948129
Reply with quote  #2

1510948129
Report to moderator
1510948129
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948129

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948129
Reply with quote  #2

1510948129
Report to moderator
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510948129
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948129

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948129
Reply with quote  #2

1510948129
Report to moderator
1510948129
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948129

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948129
Reply with quote  #2

1510948129
Report to moderator
1510948129
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948129

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948129
Reply with quote  #2

1510948129
Report to moderator
Mathsinstrument
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
September 16, 2012, 12:17:31 PM
 #2

Anyone?
Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
September 16, 2012, 12:46:43 PM
 #3

Have you tried Cgminer or any other software, GUIminer is a nice way to get yourself into mining, but it's just that.
I wouldn't expect to handle or be a good choice for a multiple GPU setup.

Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
QuantumKiwi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile WWW
September 16, 2012, 01:23:47 PM
 #4

Just so you know, I dont know shit about mining.

However.

Try another miner, and also google around to see if anyone has had the same issue - with your specific motherboard as from a hardware perspective on the issue - It sounds like your motherboard isnt keeping up with the 3rd GPU.

Drivers? I know its stupid, but dont always run the newest drivers.

Just my useless 3c.

Starting your own website?
CLOUD Hosting from $4.95/0.05BTC!
Mathsinstrument
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 09:37:04 PM
 #5

Have you tried Cgminer or any other software, GUIminer is a nice way to get yourself into mining, but it's just that.
I wouldn't expect to handle or be a good choice for a multiple GPU setup.

I would love to try out other miners but my cmd skills are mediocre... Tried Phoenix 2 but can't get it to work properly even following closely to the instructions on readme.

Cgminer seems to be more complex because you will need to extract the file using the proprietary decompressor, which again runs command line and the instructions are not clear.

Could you point to me some clearer instructions on how to use the other miners?
Mathsinstrument
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 09:39:27 PM
 #6

Just so you know, I dont know shit about mining.

However.

Try another miner, and also google around to see if anyone has had the same issue - with your specific motherboard as from a hardware perspective on the issue - It sounds like your motherboard isnt keeping up with the 3rd GPU.

Drivers? I know its stupid, but dont always run the newest drivers.

Just my useless 3c.

I tried googling the board which I am currently using, but to no avail.... I'm currently using 12.8 and tried 12.6. The 12.8 seems better cause I get better mhash out of it.
Could it be the e2200 getting bottlenecks?
brudog
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79



View Profile
September 18, 2012, 02:27:32 AM
 #7

hey,try useing 11.12,I found that works best with 3 gpu's,one on a pci-x1 slot.
Mathsinstrument
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
September 18, 2012, 10:37:26 AM
 #8

hey,try useing 11.12,I found that works best with 3 gpu's,one on a pci-x1 slot.

Can you point me to a link for download? I can't seem to find from amd website for older drivers...
cambda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 709

bitcoin makes the world a better place.


View Profile
September 18, 2012, 10:51:09 AM
 #9

I wonder if the issue is
750w Amacrox Freestyle PSU

one 5850 gets 250W if overclocked and working
my comp with one 5850 takes ~160W when iddle and ~400W when miner is on.


 
         ▄▄█████████▄▄
      ▄█████████████████▄
   ▄████▀            ▀████▄
  █████                █████▄
 ███████████████████████████▄
████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███▄
████        ██████        ████
████        ██████        ████
████        ██████        ████
████        ██████        ████
 ████▄      ██████      ▄████
  ▀████     ██████    ▄████▀
    ▀████▄▄▄██████▄▄▄████▀
      ▀▀██████████████▀▀
TIDEX



TradeFortress
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
September 18, 2012, 10:53:04 AM
 #10

Quite honestly, you won't make money from mining bitcoins..
Mathsinstrument
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
September 21, 2012, 07:56:51 AM
 #11

Quite honestly, you won't make money from mining bitcoins..

I hope you don't mine for money.
Mathsinstrument
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
September 21, 2012, 07:58:09 AM
 #12

I wonder if the issue is
750w Amacrox Freestyle PSU

one 5850 gets 250W if overclocked and working
my comp with one 5850 takes ~160W when iddle and ~400W when miner is on.

I will go check it out on that. Maybe I've overlooked on the power supply. I've always thought that it was more like a software issue....
Thanks for the heads up!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!