Bitcoin Forum
July 17, 2018, 07:42:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: My PSU only has 6 PCIe slots! Solution?  (Read 1567 times)
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1004



View Profile
September 23, 2012, 09:09:23 AM
 #21

I would be careful using molex to PCI-E power. That is an awful lot of power to be supplied from a single wire (you're essentually splitting 12v power from 1 dinky wire into 2 or 3 depending on the adapter. Most are two). I like to stick to PCI-E power splitter adapters since you're drawing from THREE 12v wires and you have an extra ground compared to molex's 2 grounds.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812198018

I have 16 of these and I love them. It takes in a 6 pin PCI-E power connector and gives you 2 6+2 pin PCI-E power. They're awesome.

1531856531
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531856531

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531856531
Reply with quote  #2

1531856531
Report to moderator
Automated Bitcoin Fork Extraction Tool WE DO TOUGH WALLETS: BCH | BTG | BCD | SBTC | UBTC | B2X | BCX | BTF Electrum 2FA, Trezor, Ledger, SegWit, Bech32
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531856531
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531856531

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531856531
Reply with quote  #2

1531856531
Report to moderator
1531856531
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531856531

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531856531
Reply with quote  #2

1531856531
Report to moderator
1531856531
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531856531

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531856531
Reply with quote  #2

1531856531
Report to moderator
praxe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 24, 2012, 02:20:19 AM
 #22

I'm pretty sure that won't work because my PSU (google "ocz" 1250watt") has 8 pin pcie slots and not six.

What about this? http://www.amazon.com/CableHero-8-Pin-PCI-Express-Adapter-Y-Splitter/dp/B0021ZQK6A

PECULIUM First Saving System in CryptoCurrency Driven by Artificial Intelligence
❱❱ PRIVATE SALE ~$2M PLEDGED ❰❰
 / WHITEPAPER / ANN / BOUNTY / TELEGRAM /
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1004



View Profile
September 27, 2012, 03:13:52 AM
 #23

I'm pretty sure that won't work because my PSU (google "ocz" 1250watt") has 8 pin pcie slots and not six.

What about this? http://www.amazon.com/CableHero-8-Pin-PCI-Express-Adapter-Y-Splitter/dp/B0021ZQK6A

It works just fine with 6+2 pin. If your power supply is stricty supplying 8 pin PCI-E power (no breakaway 2 pin ground) then it's probably a bad power supply with no foresight. My rosewill capstone 450 watt comes with 2 6+2 pin PCI-E power plugs, and I use 2 of those splitters to give me 4 6+2 plugs so I can power 2 radeon 5870's.

The extra 2 pins are just grounds, and almost all power supplies just piggy back those 2 grounds onto the existing 3 grounds of a 6 pin PCI-E power plug. It's safe.

Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!