Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 05:30:41 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: zombie power supply  (Read 726 times)
tarzan2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Pirates and Bibles Inc.


View Profile
June 24, 2015, 11:52:29 PM
 #1

hey people.. i am having a somewhat strange problem with a lepa 1600w-the gold one.. after running power through a kill-a-watt switch to the psu while it was powering an sp20 for maybe a couple hours.. i then turned off the circuit for some unrelated reason and when it came back up, the psu wouldnt start up while connected to the kill-a-watt.
long story short, it now only runs about 1/2 an sp20 when before i could feed it 1 and a half at normal clock speeds and it'd ask for more.. it just crashes whenever i give it a little more than maybe 400w
any ideas or thoughts?

This signature is not making me money or spamming you with advertisements, this might though:
send bitcoinz here>>>> 1TArzAn26Wvw872Yw36JiBe21SEaypJTP <<<<send bitcoinz here
1511544641
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511544641

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511544641
Reply with quote  #2

1511544641
Report to moderator
1511544641
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511544641

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511544641
Reply with quote  #2

1511544641
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511544641
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511544641

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511544641
Reply with quote  #2

1511544641
Report to moderator
1511544641
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511544641

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511544641
Reply with quote  #2

1511544641
Report to moderator
1511544641
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511544641

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511544641
Reply with quote  #2

1511544641
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
June 25, 2015, 11:51:57 AM
 #2

try getting rid of the kwatt meter.

also try checking the pcie connections.

if I recall the lepa has 6x 12volt rails.  maybe one of the rails burned out



Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
tarzan2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Pirates and Bibles Inc.


View Profile
June 25, 2015, 04:15:04 PM
 #3

try getting rid of the kwatt meter.

also try checking the pcie connections.

if I recall the lepa has 6x 12volt rails.  maybe one of the rails burned out




yea its no longer connected to the kill-a-watt, should have made that clear..
i've tried all configurations with the pcie connectors connected to all different connectors and none of them seem to be able to make the damn thing power a whole sp20 once it goes into full gear

sadly, this means i'll probably never buy lepa again..

This signature is not making me money or spamming you with advertisements, this might though:
send bitcoinz here>>>> 1TArzAn26Wvw872Yw36JiBe21SEaypJTP <<<<send bitcoinz here
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
June 25, 2015, 05:27:19 PM
 #4

try getting rid of the kwatt meter.

also try checking the pcie connections.

if I recall the lepa has 6x 12volt rails.  maybe one of the rails burned out




yea its no longer connected to the kill-a-watt, should have made that clear..
i've tried all configurations with the pcie connectors connected to all different connectors and none of them seem to be able to make the damn thing power a whole sp20 once it goes into full gear

sadly, this means i'll probably never buy lepa again..

yeah the problem with them is the multiple rail set up…

you could get one of these https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622783.0


http://www.gigampz.com/store/p21/Gigampz_80Plus_Platinum_Efficiency%2C_1200_Watt_Kit.html



from pete it will do 800 watts pretty quiet on 120 volts

it will max at 1100 watts on 120 volts runs loud

it will max at 1250 watts on 240 volts run loud maxxed out


it you set your sp20 for

.645
.645
.645
.645

max .65

watts at
190
190
190
190

the gear will work well for you.  I did a review on it somewhere on the site.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
tarzan2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Pirates and Bibles Inc.


View Profile
June 25, 2015, 09:29:25 PM
 #5

woah i literally just bought one of these this morning
ESP-N much??

edit: do you think i should still underclock it tho? i think 1200w should be fine for normal configuration no?

This signature is not making me money or spamming you with advertisements, this might though:
send bitcoinz here>>>> 1TArzAn26Wvw872Yw36JiBe21SEaypJTP <<<<send bitcoinz here
alh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


View Profile
June 25, 2015, 10:17:18 PM
 #6

woah i literally just bought one of these this morning
ESP-N much??

edit: do you think i should still underclock it tho? i think 1200w should be fine for normal configuration no?

The reason to "underclock/undervolt" the SP20 is to increase it's efficiency (i.e. GH per Watt), reduce it's heat output, and allow you to slow the fan (i.e. reduce noise). If your electricity cost is $.05/KWH (5 cents), and you don't care about heat or noise, then by all means run it as fast as your power supply will stand.

This also assumes you want to maximize your return or minimize your loss in terms of mining.
tarzan2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Pirates and Bibles Inc.


View Profile
June 25, 2015, 10:19:34 PM
 #7

woah i literally just bought one of these this morning
ESP-N much??

edit: do you think i should still underclock it tho? i think 1200w should be fine for normal configuration no?

The reason to "underclock/undervolt" the SP20 is to increase it's efficiency (i.e. GH per Watt), reduce it's heat output, and allow you to slow the fan (i.e. reduce noise). If your electricity cost is $.05/KWH (5 cents), and you don't care about heat or noise, then by all means run it as fast as your power supply will stand.

This also assumes you want to maximize your return or minimize your loss in terms of mining.

ah yes.. i actually have free power, but i am somewhat concerned with efficiency because its only a limited amount and im trying to maximize the amount of mining i can do with it..
so that setting is the most efficient?
i usually leave the fan setting to auto-is that not ideal? i dont really care about noise

This signature is not making me money or spamming you with advertisements, this might though:
send bitcoinz here>>>> 1TArzAn26Wvw872Yw36JiBe21SEaypJTP <<<<send bitcoinz here
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
June 26, 2015, 02:06:23 AM
 #8

woah i literally just bought one of these this morning
ESP-N much??

edit: do you think i should still underclock it tho? i think 1200w should be fine for normal configuration no?

The reason to "underclock/undervolt" the SP20 is to increase it's efficiency (i.e. GH per Watt), reduce it's heat output, and allow you to slow the fan (i.e. reduce noise). If your electricity cost is $.05/KWH (5 cents), and you don't care about heat or noise, then by all means run it as fast as your power supply will stand.

This also assumes you want to maximize your return or minimize your loss in terms of mining.

ah yes.. i actually have free power, but i am somewhat concerned with efficiency because its only a limited amount and im trying to maximize the amount of mining i can do with it..
so that setting is the most efficient?
i usually leave the fan setting to auto-is that not ideal? i dont really care about noise

 auto is okay.  if it sets at 60 and chips are a bit warm then do 80

I get that efficiency of the unit is not important so you were cranking it….  you may have found  the main reason I don't crank gear up It breaks /overheats/has other issues.  so if you were getting 1500-1600 from the sp20 try getting   1200-1400gh at the lower settings.

Just to avoid breakdowns.

think this way:

 my kia forte can do 120 mph on a slight down hill run.    my friend paid for the gas so I don't care about mileage.

well I will drive it at 90 mph on the sight down hill run.  even though the gas is free I don't want to get a flat at 120 mph.

I pushed this at a lot of people on my thread

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=872014.0

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
tarzan2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Pirates and Bibles Inc.


View Profile
June 26, 2015, 02:08:54 AM
 #9

woah i literally just bought one of these this morning
ESP-N much??

edit: do you think i should still underclock it tho? i think 1200w should be fine for normal configuration no?

The reason to "underclock/undervolt" the SP20 is to increase it's efficiency (i.e. GH per Watt), reduce it's heat output, and allow you to slow the fan (i.e. reduce noise). If your electricity cost is $.05/KWH (5 cents), and you don't care about heat or noise, then by all means run it as fast as your power supply will stand.

This also assumes you want to maximize your return or minimize your loss in terms of mining.

ah yes.. i actually have free power, but i am somewhat concerned with efficiency because its only a limited amount and im trying to maximize the amount of mining i can do with it..
so that setting is the most efficient?
i usually leave the fan setting to auto-is that not ideal? i dont really care about noise

 auto is okay.  if it sets at 60 and chips are a bit warm then do 80

I get that efficiency of the unit is not important so you were cranking it….  you may have found  the main reason I don't crank gear up It breaks /overheats/has other issues.  so if you were getting 1500-1600 from the sp20 try getting   1200-1400gh at the lower settings.

Just to avoid breakdowns.

think this way:

 my kia forte can do 120 mph on a slight down hill run.    my friend paid for the gas so I don't care about mileage.

well I will drive it at 90 mph on the sight down hill run.  even though the gas is free I don't want to get a flat at 120 mph.

I pushed this at a lot of people on my thread

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=872014.0

I dont so much overclock them as leave max voltage setting high so that they can overclock themselves if they want to :p
starting voltage setting that i use is 0.67 usually.. i do care somewhat about efficiency.. normally i run my circuits are at the very brink. they often trip if its hot outside and i run a powerful app on my pc for instance

This signature is not making me money or spamming you with advertisements, this might though:
send bitcoinz here>>>> 1TArzAn26Wvw872Yw36JiBe21SEaypJTP <<<<send bitcoinz here
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
June 26, 2015, 03:22:44 AM
 #10


Just to avoid breakdowns.

think this way:

 my kia forte can do 120 mph on a slight down hill run.    my friend paid for the gas so I don't care about mileage.

well I will drive it at 90 mph on the sight down hill run.  even though the gas is free I don't want to get a flat at 120 mph.

I pushed this at a lot of people on my thread

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=872014.0
[/quote]


I dont so much overclock them as leave max voltage setting high so that they can overclock themselves if they want to :p
starting voltage setting that i use is 0.67 usually.. i do care somewhat about efficiency.. normally i run my circuits are at the very brink. they often trip if its hot outside and i run a powerful app on my pc for instance


trying the slower way gives you a chance at it working at the lower speed of 1200gh.

may be worth it

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!