Bitcoin Forum
February 22, 2019, 07:43:28 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 2nd Mobile Card 5870m showing up as "disabled" and low clocks in CCC  (Read 1453 times)
DirtAddsHP
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 02:07:05 PM
 #1

Hello,

I have an Alienware M17xr2 laptop running win7, it seems my 2nd card does not want to play with GUIMiner. The first card works great and gets a nice mhash, but my 2nd card is getting about half the speed and shows very low clocks. Along with it being disabled in The Catalyst Control Center.

If i go CF (which dosnt help mining) then the card shows up as "Linked" and with normal clocks. But still when i run GUIMiner the 2nd card only runs at half speed.

Any tips? Id love to flash my 5870m's BIOS but theres nothing new for years now. All i have are new drivers to work with.
1550864608
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550864608

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550864608
Reply with quote  #2

1550864608
Report to moderator
Your Bitcoin transactions
The Ultimate Bitcoin mixer
made truly anonymous.
with an advanced technology.
Mix coins
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550864608
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550864608

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550864608
Reply with quote  #2

1550864608
Report to moderator
1550864608
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550864608

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550864608
Reply with quote  #2

1550864608
Report to moderator
1550864608
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550864608

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550864608
Reply with quote  #2

1550864608
Report to moderator
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 17, 2012, 02:19:18 PM
 #2

So what does a 5870m get for hash rates?

What driver are you using? Have you tried disabling ULPS?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
DirtAddsHP
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 03:15:13 PM
Last edit: September 17, 2012, 05:52:44 PM by DirtAddsHP
 #3

So what does a 5870m get for hash rates?

What driver are you using? Have you tried disabling ULPS?

thanks for the response! They should be a little under 200 mhash when tuned. One gets a little over 150 mhash and the "disabled" card gets about 60 mhash. I am running the 12.8 CCC driver.

Hmm nope i have not tried disabling ULPS, i googled it. Looks like it is a power saving reg key.
DirtAddsHP
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 05:29:16 PM
Last edit: September 17, 2012, 05:45:36 PM by DirtAddsHP
 #4

Okay so i found about 10 entries for "EnableULPS" and changed values to 0. Restarted but still still mining very low.

Just to confirm now my computer is up, i get about 150mhash right now (no OC) and a little over 200 when OCed.

GPU0: gets about 150mhash
GPU1: gets about 50mhash

DirtAddsHP
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 05:49:10 PM
 #5

Okay i took a screenshot of GPU-Z and GUIMiner up.. As you can see the clocks are very low on card 1 which reflect that when looking in GUIMiner.

If i had a new firmware revision id try that, but it dosnt seem there has been any since 2010!

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y143/Austinsevo/1-1.jpg

Since i repasted the cards they come up as "FirePros"... IDK why.
DirtAddsHP
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 18, 2012, 01:49:08 PM
 #6

okay so i restarted and the clocks returned to 700/1000 but still mining very slow. Is it normal for the pci-e speed to be so low?
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 18, 2012, 03:35:20 PM
 #7

okay so i restarted and the clocks returned to 700/1000 but still mining very slow. Is it normal for the pci-e speed to be so low?
So what are the 2 different cards mining at now? Still 200 and 50 MH/s?

PCIe speeds have almost no affect on hashing speed.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
DirtAddsHP
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 18, 2012, 05:12:28 PM
 #8

okay so i restarted and the clocks returned to 700/1000 but still mining very slow. Is it normal for the pci-e speed to be so low?
So what are the 2 different cards mining at now? Still 200 and 50 MH/s?

PCIe speeds have almost no affect on hashing speed.

one is getting about 150mhash and the other is getting about 50-60mhash.. same model cards, they should run the same mhash.

If i damaged the card while repasting the heatsink/memory would it act like this? Or not work at all?
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 18, 2012, 05:50:17 PM
 #9

okay so i restarted and the clocks returned to 700/1000 but still mining very slow. Is it normal for the pci-e speed to be so low?
So what are the 2 different cards mining at now? Still 200 and 50 MH/s?

PCIe speeds have almost no affect on hashing speed.
one is getting about 150mhash and the other is getting about 50-60mhash.. same model cards, they should run the same mhash.

If i damaged the card while repasting the heatsink/memory would it act like this? Or not work at all?
If the repaste wasn't done properly, or the heatsink isn't making proper contact, you could be running into thermal limiting. 300core and 400mem looks like a low power state to me. I suggested checking ULPS, but it could be an overheating issue. What are the temps of the GPUs?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
DirtAddsHP
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 18, 2012, 06:57:22 PM
 #10

I try to keep them in the 70-80c range.

The GPU in question isnt spiking in heat, it dosnt get above 60c when at full load.

My other GPU is at a healthy 70-80c range ramping up RPMs on fans over that. I also used artic silver ceramic paste so there shouldnt be any shorting.

Is the power state affected by firmware at all? I was having a very strange issue with my laptop freezing when shutting down or coming out of sleep mode. But when i reflashed the same firmware it seemed to fix that. But then later after i took out the card to physically work it is when this madness started. Not that it means anything but ive worked with GPUs over my IT career and i was VERY careful with it, so im doubting i damaged it.. but it sure acts like i did.
GernMiester
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 285
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 27, 2012, 06:20:34 PM
 #11

Another waste of time miner. These clueless folks have helped drive up the difficulty 200Mh/s at a time.
 Roll Eyes
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 27, 2012, 06:43:24 PM
 #12

Another waste of time miner. These clueless folks have helped drive up the difficulty 200Mh/s at a time.
 Roll Eyes
I think we can all learn a lesson from you in how to treat new miners, so we can grow the Network and increase Bitcoin Adoption to unprecedented levels!

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
smracer
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 991
Merit: 1002



View Profile
September 27, 2012, 06:48:15 PM
 #13

What power supply do you have for the laptop?  Don't they make a larger one so both cards can run at full?

1smracer15yDLhJG27fd7GV3tegcNjtg2
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!