Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2018, 01:12:43 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer S5 loses connection - Burns itself to death  (Read 4560 times)
kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1013


Anonymous bitcoin mixer


View Profile
June 29, 2015, 02:24:06 PM
 #21

Here are some pictures of the miner:

U can clearly see that the plastic cover has bent due to excess heat:


Exploded components:






Does the damn thing not have a killswitch? Like >90c shut down. Why would that be hard to implement on Bitmains side, this shit isn't just bad for the miner but could have easily resulted in a fire.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
1539781963
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539781963

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539781963
Reply with quote  #2

1539781963
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539781963
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539781963

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539781963
Reply with quote  #2

1539781963
Report to moderator
eretron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 29, 2015, 02:30:19 PM
 #22

It shouldn't heat up if it looses internet connection, it makes no sense. I guess that unit goes into some kind of loop... But why besides that it didn't shut down >80c is beyond me...

aurel57
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 29, 2015, 04:34:24 PM
 #23

Not sure if I see just dust or cobwebs? Wonder if this contributed to the problem?
kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1013


Anonymous bitcoin mixer


View Profile
June 29, 2015, 04:57:55 PM
 #24

Not sure if I see just dust or cobwebs? Wonder if this contributed to the problem?
Looks like a little bit of dust to me and I don't think a small bit of dust is going to be much a factor of exploding capacitors.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1089



View Profile
June 29, 2015, 09:30:49 PM
 #25

So when it loses the internet connection the mining stops and the fans stop also? Is that how it works? On the S3+ when the internet is out the fans just slow down they don't turn off.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1214
Merit: 1113


View Profile
June 29, 2015, 09:55:38 PM
 #26

I can confirm this issue on my units as well...I have the fans connected directly to power though, but heat still insane. I think the chips are still powered but not hashing, so they are essentially 100% heaters.

This is a huge firmware/design flaw...not sure why bitmain has not fixed it yet...

www.AriseChickun.com 0% fee segwit signaling Litecoin Pool!
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
eretron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 30, 2015, 01:24:28 AM
 #27

One thing is on my mind atm.

Since BTCGuild will shut down on 1st of July, and of this is regular issue for the S5 Miners, since there are still 6500 TH/s on BtcGuild 1 day from shutting down, what will happen if some or majority of those miners are S5s? Are we about to see many of similar topics in the next few days, since technically all of them will loose connection to the pool? Hope not...

kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1013


Anonymous bitcoin mixer


View Profile
June 30, 2015, 03:19:23 AM
 #28

One thing is on my mind atm.

Since BTCGuild will shut down on 1st of July, and of this is regular issue for the S5 Miners, since there are still 6500 TH/s on BtcGuild 1 day from shutting down, what will happen if some or majority of those miners are S5s? Are we about to see many of similar topics in the next few days, since technically all of them will loose connection to the pool? Hope not...
They should move to their failover pool and be fine, if they don't have a failover pool set up that isn't BTC guild, I am not too sure what will happen. Maybe Bitmain shouldn't have let this obvious bug slip through.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
MaximeAD
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 101


cryptominer.ca


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2015, 07:42:36 AM
 #29

I'll cut the blue wire on my S5s fan first thing tomorrow morning...

It's a little annoying if I have to sell them in the future, but I prefer that than the risk of frying them! I'll make an adapter for my next S5s (Material's coming in 3 weeks... !)

http://www.cryptominer.ca - Bitcoin Miner Hosting Solutions
shacky
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 30, 2015, 08:23:57 AM
 #30

Today I was installing a few S5. In the process I connect one by one... but the power supply is ON. I note that the miners who are ON but without ethernet wire was getting hot.

This is a big firmware flaw!!

My S5 have 4 weeks old.

Take care, and add 2 or 3 pools.
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 30, 2015, 09:51:10 AM
 #31

I have the same problem with S4+ units. If they lose network connectivity, they lower fan speeds to about ~1500RPM and start boiling. There was some incredible heat coming out of those boxes when I power cycled them. Thankfully they didn't die, but they certainly shortened their lifespans and burned a lot of electricity for nothing.

Come on, BITMAIN. Stupid stuff like this shouldn't be an issue after 10 hardware releases.  Undecided
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1164

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 30, 2015, 11:41:01 AM
 #32

I'll cut the blue wire on my S5s fan first thing tomorrow morning...

It's a little annoying if I have to sell them in the future, but I prefer that than the risk of frying them! I'll make an adapter for my next S5s (Material's coming in 3 weeks... !)

Don't cut it. If you have a small straight screwdriver or a good knife, it's really easy to lift the retainer clip on the plastic connector and just slide the whole pin out. Fold the wire back and tape it down to the cable or something so you don't risk grounding it on anything and turning the fan off, but then to put it back to stock all you have to do is slide the end back in the plastic housing. Completely non-destructive and completely effective.

MaximeAD
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 101


cryptominer.ca


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2015, 02:05:34 PM
 #33

I'll cut the blue wire on my S5s fan first thing tomorrow morning...

It's a little annoying if I have to sell them in the future, but I prefer that than the risk of frying them! I'll make an adapter for my next S5s (Material's coming in 3 weeks... !)

Don't cut it. If you have a small straight screwdriver or a good knife, it's really easy to lift the retainer clip on the plastic connector and just slide the whole pin out. Fold the wire back and tape it down to the cable or something so you don't risk grounding it on anything and turning the fan off, but then to put it back to stock all you have to do is slide the end back in the plastic housing. Completely non-destructive and completely effective.

Awesome! Works like charm. Thanks for the hint.

http://www.cryptominer.ca - Bitcoin Miner Hosting Solutions
Minerkev
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 30, 2015, 08:14:30 PM
 #34

Bitmain....fix that!  Angry
kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1013


Anonymous bitcoin mixer


View Profile
June 30, 2015, 09:36:50 PM
 #35

Bitmain....fix that!  Angry
Definitely want Doggie or someone else representing Bitmain to at least acknowledge this and tell us if it can be patched and if so when they plan on doing so.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
areinike
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 01, 2015, 02:14:54 AM
 #36

how is everyone making money; with a difficulty of 2% 475 startup costs with a s4 and 2000 hash rate I'm showing break even after 176 days at current price.  the business electricity is 0.03/kwh where I am now

What?  We have an epidemic on our hands!  Our S5's are burning up!  We're going to be making 0 if we lose internet and we'll never break even with bugged hardware! 
funtakus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 01, 2015, 05:47:06 AM
 #37

After missing interenet I broke 4 piece S5 of the ordered 11 pieces.
eretron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 01, 2015, 01:55:10 PM
 #38

UPDATE:

I got quick response from BITMAIN, unit is on the way to the service, so they will take a look, but the thing is that they know about this issue, so i guess that i will get replacement unit in no time.

So far their customer service is really good... Will update as soon as I get some new info.


kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1013


Anonymous bitcoin mixer


View Profile
July 01, 2015, 02:10:22 PM
 #39

how is everyone making money; with a difficulty of 2% 475 startup costs with a s4 and 2000 hash rate I'm showing break even after 176 days at current price.  the business electricity is 0.03/kwh where I am now
Well home miners are probably using the S5 which is more efficient than the standard s4, startup cost is lower and break even for 176 isn't bad. We have definitely had a bit of time since the launch of the S5 and it should be close to that break even and you can always sell the unit or keep mining. Selling will give you the max profit.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
MaximeAD
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 101


cryptominer.ca


View Profile WWW
July 01, 2015, 02:23:52 PM
 #40

how is everyone making money; with a difficulty of 2% 475 startup costs with a s4 and 2000 hash rate I'm showing break even after 176 days at current price.  the business electricity is 0.03/kwh where I am now

You have a 200% ROA and you're not making money??

http://www.cryptominer.ca - Bitcoin Miner Hosting Solutions
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!