Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 08:42:22 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: windows mining question..  (Read 1378 times)
saadtariq30
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 03:14:39 PM
 #1

hey guys..any way to delay the automatic startup of a program on windows 7?

im setting up a mining rig so that it automatically turns on and starts mining after a power failure..

using guiminer..problem is guiminer loads before msi afterburner gets a chance to apply the custom gpu voltages as the pc starts..pc hangs..

suggestions?
1480970542
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970542

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970542
Reply with quote  #2

1480970542
Report to moderator
1480970542
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970542

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970542
Reply with quote  #2

1480970542
Report to moderator
1480970542
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970542

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970542
Reply with quote  #2

1480970542
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480970542
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970542

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970542
Reply with quote  #2

1480970542
Report to moderator
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792


Bite me


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 03:18:18 PM
 #2

use a batch file and put a
sleep 60
before the guiminer command.

that will sleep for 60 seconds

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
saadtariq30
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 03:19:26 PM
 #3

could you please help me with that?

right now im running guiminer by just adding it to the startup programs folder..

how do i make a batch file?
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 01, 2011, 03:25:13 PM
 #4

Or you can use Soluto.

http://community.soluto.com/soluto/topics/how_does_delay_work

I personally don't like adding programs to my machine unless absolutely necessary, but this is straightforward and easy to setup.

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
saadtariq30
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 03:33:07 PM
 #5

id rather learn how to make a batch file i guess..instead of installing another program
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792


Bite me


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 03:38:37 PM
 #6

create a text file and call it
miner.bat
in it put
sleep 60
c:\guiminer\guiminer.exe

and put that in your startup folder - should do it

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
saadtariq30
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 03:46:32 PM
 #7

create a text file and call it
miner.bat
in it put
sleep 60
c:\guiminer\guiminer.exe

and put that in your startup folder - should do it

ok i did what you said..it says sleep is not reconginzed as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file

when i run the batch file guiminer starts up and give the error: cannot open file logo.ico
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792


Bite me


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 03:54:19 PM
 #8

umm
are you running xp , vista or windows 7
umm
I bet Vista as MS removed sleep ...
change it to
ping localhost -n 60
cd c:\guiminer
guiminer

so it changes to the correct directory

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
saadtariq30
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 03:56:29 PM
 #9

using windows 7 64bit
saadtariq30
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 04:02:40 PM
 #10

umm
are you running xp , vista or windows 7
umm
I bet Vista as MS removed sleep ...
change it to
ping localhost -n 60
cd c:\guiminer
guiminer

so it changes to the correct directory

ok it worked..sending 0.03btc your way for helping me out Smiley

ok the auto start function of the guiminer doesnt work when i run it through the batch file :S...if i run it directly it works :S

the log:

WindowsError: [Error 6] The handle is invalid
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "guiminer.py", line 2005, in <module>
  File "guiminer.py", line 1995, in run
  File "guiminer.py", line 1509, in __init__
  File "guiminer.py", line 1699, in load_config
  File "guiminer.py", line 809, in start_mining
  File "subprocess.pyo", line 614, in __init__
  File "subprocess.pyo", line 722, in _get_handles
  File "subprocess.pyo", line 761, in _make_inheritable
WindowsError: [Error 6] The handle is invalid
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792


Bite me


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 04:12:48 PM
 #11

it may be worth just running the miner directly rather than the guiminer interface...

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
saadtariq30
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 04:17:09 PM
 #12

how do i do that..never used to directly before..
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792


Bite me


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 04:27:28 PM
 #13

I'm a bit new myself however....
if you look in the console view it will show you what it passes to the relevant miner - give that a go ,
though this will probably leave the cmd window open ,
now there may be ways of detaching it - but I'm really not sure.
...
* RaTTuS gone I'll be back in a few hours with a bit[coin] of luck Tongue

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
saadtariq30
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 04:28:56 PM
 #14

ok thanks..got it:)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!