Bitcoin Forum
May 26, 2017, 09:08:33 PM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: using extra pci slots?  (Read 1061 times)
nazgulnarsil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 07:31:45 PM
 #1

I've heard something about risers being used to utilize multiple cards on machines with only 1 PCIex16 slot.  anyone have any info I can't find anything.

I have a 5850 running and have this extra 5830 just sitting here.  My PSU can handle the load so....
1495832913
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495832913

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495832913
Reply with quote  #2

1495832913
Report to moderator
1495832913
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495832913

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495832913
Reply with quote  #2

1495832913
Report to moderator
POLONIEX TRADING SIGNALS
+50% Profit and more via TELEGRAM
ALTCOINTRADER.CO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1495832913
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495832913

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495832913
Reply with quote  #2

1495832913
Report to moderator
1495832913
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495832913

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495832913
Reply with quote  #2

1495832913
Report to moderator
1495832913
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495832913

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495832913
Reply with quote  #2

1495832913
Report to moderator
Haxxy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 08:36:09 PM
 #2

Haven't really heard anything about it, but if you were to "split" your PCI-E slot, you'd only have half the bandwidth going to each slot, right? It might provide only a very small increase, or maybe even decrease, in performance. I have only limited knowledge, though, so I may be wrong.

Also, this should be moved to the "Mining" subforum.

LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 01, 2011, 09:14:01 PM
 #3

Mining takes up little bandwidth so splitting wouldn't be much of a problem.. but don't expect to use the machine for other stuff at the same time.

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!