Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2014, 07:05:40 PM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 6990 temperature 100  (Read 3864 times)
gedeon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile

Ignore
June 01, 2011, 08:01:34 PM
 #1

hi,

 i have 2 6990, if i am start mining, the gpu temperature is about 100 C.

i am using poclbm, ubuntu, -v trigger....i can lower the temperature only if i downclock the gpu to 600 mhz. Maybe you know a great solution...Smiley i do not want to cook my cards..Cheesy

thx,

gedeon
    mBitCASINOWIN BITCOINS IN OUR
24/7 LIVE DEALER CASINO

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1398279940
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398279940

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398279940
Reply with quote  #2

1398279940
Report to moderator
1398279940
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398279940

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398279940
Reply with quote  #2

1398279940
Report to moderator
1398279940
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398279940

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398279940
Reply with quote  #2

1398279940
Report to moderator
1398279940
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398279940

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398279940
Reply with quote  #2

1398279940
Report to moderator
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Hero Member
*
Online Online

Activity: 952


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile

Ignore
June 01, 2011, 08:04:19 PM
 #2

Sounds like you don't have enough space between the cards, not enough air flow in your case.
Add some more fans, space the cards, lower your memory clock and turn your fan speed up.

100C is far to hot and you probably have already caused damage.

carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile

Ignore
June 01, 2011, 08:11:43 PM
 #3

I wonder if 100C is enough to ignite dust laying on the heatsink?
gedeon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile

Ignore
June 01, 2011, 08:16:51 PM
 #4

Smiley still working, now stable 82 at 600mhz, to wich value should i downclock the memory?
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Hero Member
*
Online Online

Activity: 952


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile

Ignore
June 01, 2011, 08:19:47 PM
 #5

Smiley still working, now stable 82 at 600mhz, to wich value should i downclock the memory?
See if you can go down to 300, though I hear from some people 6xxx series isnt stable that low, but its worth a try.

Alaron
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile

Ignore
June 01, 2011, 08:25:46 PM
 #6

100c is too high for my tastes. I try to keep my cards within the 65-75c range max.

 Things to make sure :
1) the airflow out of the BACK of the card is sufficient : Make sure there is nothing impeding the air flow that comes out of the back of the card where the monitor(s) plug in. Most cards have the exhaust vent on this part of the card, if you have your computer backed up against a wall try moving it so that air can move freely our of the back.
2 ) Intake air should not be recycled from the exhaust : Make sure that the air that is flowing into the card is fresh cool room air. If you have a 7k or 10k rpm hard drive that is in the direct air flow from the front of your case to the video card, you may consider moving that drive(s).  If you can get a large 120 mm (or larger fan) that acts as the intake to directly hit the video card with out other components getting in the way this is the best solution.
3) Check your software flags and overclocking : If you are getting to hot (85c+) lower your overclocking until you can get it reasonable. Change the flags you have on your software lower some settings and play with it until you can get the temperatures down.

  In the end you don't want to be running a card to hot. You will prematurely cook the card and that will cost you possibly more in the long run that just lowering your settings a little bit. IMO.
gedeon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile

Ignore
June 01, 2011, 08:32:36 PM
 #7

thx all,

i think the main problem, that there is not so much space between the cards....there is no block at the end of the cards, i have an ssd hdd, and ventillators from the front and side takeing the fresh air in.

i am not overdriveing my cards, i am under factory settings, 600/1250 (gpu/mem) to wich value should i go down?Smiley i would be very happy if my cards would be around 75C. i see only one solution, i think, to take out a card, and try it so.

gedeon
DarkKnightNomeD
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile

Ignore
June 01, 2011, 08:38:33 PM
 #8

There are Differnt Video cards that use Airflow Differntly

its better to use those LONG video cards, that Pull Air from the END

and not the Graphics cards that Pull air from the "Bottom" of it

you CAN put a FAN on the Side case to cool it down i guess

just get a BAD ass 60 to 80 cfm airflow fan or something

there should be like a 75 or 85 airflow on newegg

not sure what the size of it is, but if your side panel has holes/slots for 2 fans, top and bottom, and the fan is extra big, just turn it sideways and use 2 or 3 case screws instead
Xer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99


View Profile

Ignore
June 01, 2011, 08:46:57 PM
 #9

a Couple of photos of the rig would go a long way in letting the forum uses give improvement suggestions.
Litt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


View Profile

Ignore
June 01, 2011, 08:49:17 PM
 #10

100c lol. Just run it stock unless you want to ruin your card before it mines any coins
gedeon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile

Ignore
June 01, 2011, 09:16:21 PM
 #11

i tried with one card only. the same. now the airflow should be ok. maybe the triggers?  --plattform 1 -d0 -v -f10

any suggestion?

thx

gedeon
gedeon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile

Ignore
June 02, 2011, 04:21:59 PM
 #12

hola,

i set the ventillators on 100 %. now it is louder as my girlfriend's hairdryer, but adapter 1 is on 73C adapter 2 is on 68C. i thinking about watercooling....

could you tell me some advice, with wich triggers should i use poclbm?

thx,

gedeon
Bitcoineruk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile

Ignore
June 02, 2011, 04:39:27 PM
 #13

Have a look at my 6990 guide for Phoenix Smiley

Also if i go below 550 memory, my card screws up and you have to reinstall the driver Sad

pokermon919
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile

Ignore
June 02, 2011, 04:47:49 PM
 #14

Downclock the memory to as low as you can go without crashing, it should lower the temps a bit. Also if the 2 cards have very little room in between each other use something to space them out, not sure if you know what I mean. Some pics of rigs using pieces of plastic or w/e just to give them that extra centimeter of space help quite alot.
gedeon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile

Ignore
June 02, 2011, 05:05:59 PM
 #15

thx, yes i think the main problem that there is only a little space between the cards...but if i was mining with 1 card the temp was still too high....i can only reduce the temp, if i send "more air through the card". sorry for my english, it is a little complicated write down, what i want to say...Smiley

i cannot downclcok the memory. i tried with aticonfig --od-setclocks, but i cannot. i read somewhere, i have to flash the bios of the card. but i will lost so the warranty...Smiley

thx,

gedeon
Calavera
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile

Ignore
June 02, 2011, 05:14:34 PM
 #16

hola,

i set the ventillators on 100 %. now it is louder as my girlfriend's hairdryer, but adapter 1 is on 73C adapter 2 is on 68C. i thinking about watercooling....

could you tell me some advice, with wich triggers should i use poclbm?

thx,

gedeon

Send the 6990s back and get something else.  They're unbelievably loud. 
gedeon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile

Ignore
June 02, 2011, 05:26:30 PM
 #17

yepp, thinking about a barbie doll....
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile

Ignore
June 02, 2011, 05:35:36 PM
 #18

I wonder if 100C is enough to ignite dust laying on the heatsink?

Spontaneous combustion of most solid materials doesn't occur until at least 500-600 degrees celcius.
Calavera
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile

Ignore
June 02, 2011, 06:52:08 PM
 #19

yepp, thinking about a barbie doll....

Was thinking more along the lines of 5870s but whatever floats your boat.
licutis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile

Ignore
June 02, 2011, 08:00:22 PM
 #20

I had a big discussion with Sapphire support about this same issue, they told me as long as the card is under 102 oC and I am not having any performance issues, all is well. In my case one of my 6990's currently is at 79.5 and 83.5 oC and the other in the same box are both at 93.5  oC. There was a wide range between the two cores on the hot card but they match each others temp after I replaced the thermal grease.

18ttKeky45yEjhAhTxHHvcUwJNYB4ecoC5
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!