Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2017, 05:12:44 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Problems with Electrum  (Read 725 times)
johnny_squirrel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
July 08, 2015, 11:22:58 PM
 #1

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new with bitcoins and my english could be better so excuse me if I'm not clear. Today I made a wallet with Electrum for the first time (already did with another). I noticed the 13 words they gave me and the passwords I chose. Then I transfered a few bitcoins from bitstamp. But when I tried to send them to my other wallet to check if it worked, they told me that the password was incorrect. I tried many times but no... I'm sure it's the good one !

So I tried to restore my wallet using my seed, but when I open the seed, I can't click next so I guess it's not good. I also tried to directly open my seed with Electrum and it told me "invalid bitcoin URI." My seed is here C:\Users\Lenovo\AppData\Roaming\Electrum\wallets, and I also know it's the good and only one...

I succed to access my wallet by writing the receiving adress I used for bitstamp but it's useless without the seed...
Question : when are we supposed to use the 13 words they give us ??


I'm now lost as are my 0.4 bitcoins... I'm ready to give a few if someone can help me!

Thank's, have a good day  Smiley

1508562764
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508562764

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508562764
Reply with quote  #2

1508562764
Report to moderator
1508562764
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508562764

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508562764
Reply with quote  #2

1508562764
Report to moderator
1508562764
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508562764

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508562764
Reply with quote  #2

1508562764
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508562764
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508562764

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508562764
Reply with quote  #2

1508562764
Report to moderator
EcuaMobi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246



View Profile WWW
July 09, 2015, 03:33:17 AM
 #2

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new with bitcoins and my english could be better so excuse me if I'm not clear. Today I made a wallet with Electrum for the first time (already did with another). I noticed the 13 words they gave me and the passwords I chose. Then I transfered a few bitcoins from bitstamp. But when I tried to send them to my other wallet to check if it worked, they told me that the password was incorrect. I tried many times but no... I'm sure it's the good one !

So I tried to restore my wallet using my seed, but when I open the seed, I can't click next so I guess it's not good. I also tried to directly open my seed with Electrum and it told me "invalid bitcoin URI." My seed is here C:\Users\Lenovo\AppData\Roaming\Electrum\wallets, and I also know it's the good and only one...

I succed to access my wallet by writing the receiving adress I used for bitstamp but it's useless without the seed...
Question : when are we supposed to use the 13 words they give us ??


I'm now lost as are my 0.4 bitcoins... I'm ready to give a few if someone can help me!

Thank's, have a good day  Smiley



Where exactly are you entering the seed? I mean which screen lets you enter the words but not hit next?
You should create a new wallet and choose "Restore an existing wallet from its seed". i.e. the second option here:

Then enter your 13 words on the next screen.

Are you sure you noted the seed correctly? It seems you made a mistake when writing down your password. I hope your seed is OK. You shouldn't have any problems recovering your BTC if it is.

pooya87
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064


Buy bitcoin they said... who listened?


View Profile
July 09, 2015, 05:01:58 AM
 #3

~~
So I tried to restore my wallet using my seed, but when I open the seed, I can't click next so I guess it's not good. I also tried to directly open my seed with Electrum and it told me "invalid bitcoin URI." My seed is here C:\Users\Lenovo\AppData\Roaming\Electrum\wallets, and I also know it's the good and only one...

what do you mean open "my seed with Electrum"?
for using your seed to restore your wallet you should choose "File" from the top menu, then "New/Restore" then give a name to the new wallet file and click "Save" the rest is what EcuaMobi said in top comment.

the location you gave "c:\...." is where your wallet file is located and you can restore your wallet with that file if you install Electrum again or on another PC, but it will still have password protection this way. (you need the password)

Quote
I succed to access my wallet by writing the receiving adress I used for bitstamp but it's useless without the seed...
Question : when are we supposed to use the 13 words they give us ??

I'm now lost as are my 0.4 bitcoins... I'm ready to give a few if someone can help me!

Thank's, have a good day  Smiley

you need your seed to restore your wallet as described above.

p.s. move your topic to electrum section of the forum.
and if you had trouble restoring with your seed you might find trusted members of the forum whom you can give your seed to , maybe they can find what you are doing wrong. but remember to not give your seed to anybody unless they are a trusted member.

johnny_squirrel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
July 09, 2015, 06:32:04 PM
 #4

Ok newbie mistake... I tried to put my seed but I couldn't click next but today it works... Thank's guys !
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!