Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:33:56 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Dual sapphire xtreme 5850's. How to adjust voltage & overclock?  (Read 6390 times)
PcChip
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 03, 2011, 06:32:46 AM
 #21

If it won't let you adjust the second card, try swapping the monitor to the card that you want to adjust, then re-opening TriXX.

All rates with Phoenix 1.50 / PhatK
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5850 - 400 MH/s  |  5850 - 355 MH/s | 5830 - 310 MH/s  |  GTX570 - 115 MH/s | 5770 - 210 MH/s | 5770 - 200 MH/s
1481207636
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207636

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207636
Reply with quote  #2

1481207636
Report to moderator
Creating a Bitcoin client that fully implements the network protocol is extremely difficult. Bitcoin-Qt is the only known safe implementation of a full node. Some other projects attempt to compete, but it is not recommended to use such software for anything serious. (Lightweight clients like Electrum and MultiBit are OK.)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481207636
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207636

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207636
Reply with quote  #2

1481207636
Report to moderator
1481207636
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207636

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207636
Reply with quote  #2

1481207636
Report to moderator
1481207636
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207636

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207636
Reply with quote  #2

1481207636
Report to moderator
Jdumond
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
June 04, 2011, 05:36:58 AM
 #22

no dice on the swapping the monitor trick, anyone have any other ideas on how to make trixx apply setting to multiple cards?

I dont like the guy. How many reasons do I have? alot.
How many reasons do I need? none.
I just dont like the guy.

Donate here: 1Juv5x7PHcNQdRzdUpWK1DHMKwMy7j7zxj
Tradehill: TH-R11447
Mops
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 06:17:00 AM
 #23

no dice on the swapping the monitor trick, anyone have any other ideas on how to make trixx apply setting to multiple cards?
there is an option that says: "synchronize gpu in multi... "

for some people it seems to work, for me it does not, thoug i think its because i am not using CF bridge. can someone confirm that ?
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 06:56:21 AM
 #24

no dice on the swapping the monitor trick, anyone have any other ideas on how to make trixx apply setting to multiple cards?

I could not get it to work either. with or without crossfire. with more than two 5850s crossfire is not possible anyway.

the only way I can think of that might work is to use RBE to modify the voltage in the bios.

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
PcChip
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 04, 2011, 11:35:02 PM
 #25

The monitor swapping trick works for me for MSI Afterburner, it can only access the card that the monitor is plugged into. (Phoenix will only recognize the GPU the monitor is plugged into as well when it's starting up.  After it's running you can swap monitors and it will keep running)

I think that's why people use Dummy Plugs.

All rates with Phoenix 1.50 / PhatK
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5850 - 400 MH/s  |  5850 - 355 MH/s | 5830 - 310 MH/s  |  GTX570 - 115 MH/s | 5770 - 210 MH/s | 5770 - 200 MH/s
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 12:06:32 AM
 #26

I'm only able to adjust voltage on 1 card as well.  Any suggestions?

I have monitors plugged into HDMI on both cards...

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
Reno
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 12:10:29 AM
 #27

Got 3 sapphire hd5850 xtreme running in my system. Trixx isn't working for me either, it just adjust the settings of one gpu (got dummy plugs in all of em!). Got RAM @ 500 with MSI Afterburner and GPU @ 790, getting a constant 309-310 Mh/s (11.2 SDK 2.3). Temp is kinda bad, 80°C on all GPU's with 80% Fan Speed. Can get GPU to 900 with MSI Afterburner but it's crashing after ~5 minutes. Unlockign MSI Afterburner didn't do anything too. Space on the mb is limited, i'm going to replace the heatsink with a setsugen 2 - should be a lil smaller then the ref heatsink. Hope the Setsugen 2 will handle the temp problem although I don't get any advantage of it since I can't OC the GPU to it's full potential. Would be nice to adjust the voltage somehow.
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 12:39:30 AM
 #28

Got 3 sapphire hd5850 xtreme running in my system. Trixx isn't working for me either, it just adjust the settings of one gpu (got dummy plugs in all of em!). Got RAM @ 500 with MSI Afterburner and GPU @ 790, getting a constant 309-310 Mh/s (11.2 SDK 2.3). Temp is kinda bad, 80°C on all GPU's with 80% Fan Speed. Can get GPU to 900 with MSI Afterburner but it's crashing after ~5 minutes. Unlockign MSI Afterburner didn't do anything too. Space on the mb is limited, i'm going to replace the heatsink with a setsugen 2 - should be a lil smaller then the ref heatsink. Hope the Setsugen 2 will handle the temp problem although I don't get any advantage of it since I can't OC the GPU to it's full potential. Would be nice to adjust the voltage somehow.

There is no point for you to OC more, as your temps are high as is.  Keep things how they are, or lower your temps before trying to OC further.

My 2x 5850's run @ 60C @ 845Mhz.  I just can't find how to overvolt more than one card.

If anyone can figure this out, I will tip them.  Thanks.

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
Reno
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 01:16:51 AM
 #29

Got 3 sapphire hd5850 xtreme running in my system. Trixx isn't working for me either, it just adjust the settings of one gpu (got dummy plugs in all of em!). Got RAM @ 500 with MSI Afterburner and GPU @ 790, getting a constant 309-310 Mh/s (11.2 SDK 2.3). Temp is kinda bad, 80°C on all GPU's with 80% Fan Speed. Can get GPU to 900 with MSI Afterburner but it's crashing after ~5 minutes. Unlockign MSI Afterburner didn't do anything too. Space on the mb is limited, i'm going to replace the heatsink with a setsugen 2 - should be a lil smaller then the ref heatsink. Hope the Setsugen 2 will handle the temp problem although I don't get any advantage of it since I can't OC the GPU to it's full potential. Would be nice to adjust the voltage somehow.

There is no point for you to OC more, as your temps are high as is.  Keep things how they are, or lower your temps before trying to OC further.

My 2x 5850's run @ 60C @ 845Mhz.  I just can't find how to overvolt more than one card.

If anyone can figure this out, I will tip them.  Thanks.

Yes, right, thats why I'll get that Setsugen 2 to handle the temps. I'm not trying to OC any more, yet. Do u have an Sapphire 5850 xtreme too? What heatsink do u use to get 60°C?
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 01:21:31 AM
 #30

can't run my cards above ~830.

or they will crash the OS.

overvolt allow for near 1000mhz but can't change more than one card with trixx
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 01:39:10 AM
 #31


Yes, right, thats why I'll get that Setsugen 2 to handle the temps. I'm not trying to OC any more, yet. Do u have an Sapphire 5850 xtreme too? What heatsink do u use to get 60°C?

Stock Saphire Xtreme heatshink.  Cards have a space between them in the case (which makes a huge difference, compared to cards that are back to back).  Fan speed is locked @ 70%.

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
Reno
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 01:55:31 AM
 #32


Yes, right, thats why I'll get that Setsugen 2 to handle the temps. I'm not trying to OC any more, yet. Do u have an Sapphire 5850 xtreme too? What heatsink do u use to get 60°C?

Stock Saphire Xtreme heatshink.  Cards have a space between them in the case (which makes a huge difference, compared to cards that are back to back).  Fan speed is locked @ 70%.

Mine are back to back just a really small space in between. The Setsugen 2 is a lil smaller so this will already give them about 4-5 millimeters more of space. But for now the Setsugen 2 just will be a benefit for my ears and the lifetime of the GPU as there isn't any way to OC that card with multi-gpu yet.
hardly
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 02:08:15 AM
 #33

I hope no one tries flashing a modded bios to these, I did and all it did was enable ULPS mode and it wouldn't disable until I flashed the old bios back.

I sent in a support ticket to sapphire today trying to get an answer about this, it's pretty annoying not being able to overclock these things properly. My cards will do 975 at stock volts, but I know they could handle over 1050mhz with voltage control.

Feel like being generous? I'll <3 you forever Cheesy 1JHckLQ9ed9YntYpsCAxsDQpuhnc7DYTSk
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 03:29:08 AM
 #34

I hope no one tries flashing a modded bios to these, I did and all it did was enable ULPS mode and it wouldn't disable until I flashed the old bios back.

I sent in a support ticket to sapphire today trying to get an answer about this, it's pretty annoying not being able to overclock these things properly. My cards will do 975 at stock volts, but I know they could handle over 1050mhz with voltage control.

Wow, consider yourself lucky.  I get crashed display drivers past 845Mhz @ stock volts on mine.

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
Reno
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 04:45:51 PM
 #35

Kill Catalyst Control Center Task and delete it from autostart (msconfig). Restart MSI Afterburner after that. Im still not able to adjust Core Voltage but at least I'm able to clock the memory down to 250 now (and core up to 1165). About 10°C lower temps now!
Clavulanic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 01:48:27 AM
 #36

So I played around with it today. To remind everyone, I have two sapphire xtreme 5850's in one system. I tried it in crossfire and with a dummy plug, currently I'm running with a dummy plug.

I COULD NOT adjust voltage on the second card. I tried swapping monitors but still couldn't. I tried afterburner and even after unlocking overclocking and voltage control I couldn't modify voltage for either card. I used the latest TRIXX and I was able to modify the FIRST card's voltage (though strangley the voltage did NOT show up in GPUZ, but the voltage was definitley altered because I could never run that card at 980MHz on stock voltage). I modified the first card's clocks and voltages to 980/200 and 1.156v through TRIXX. The second card was tricky, I had to turn off all mining, clear out afterburner's profiles, load it up and then I could change it to 880/200 at stock voltage (since I can't modify its voltage).

That's a big improvement, but I still want to modify the voltage on the second card. I could squeeze a lot more out of that beast. I'm only pulling 430w at the wall with this config anyways.
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 12:59:00 AM
 #37

I tried what Clavulanic did with my 2 Sapphire 5830's and I can only change my first card's memory down to 300 using TriXX.
I can't change my second card's Memory to 300 at all...?

Catalyst has been removed from Windows Startup in msconfig.

I've deleted the MSI Afterburner profiles from
C:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner\Profiles\

Reloading MSI and changing the settings on the second video card does nothing.  It won't go below 900 for Memory.


namley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 02:19:01 AM
 #38

Note that Trixx has issues overclocking both cards that arent in CrossFire

MSI Afterburner does this, but lacks overvolting control with the Sapphire 5830's

I'v been using ATI Tray Tool, and its been working well for me.
I run my Sapphire 5830's at 1000/300 on Stock voltage 1.163 no problem, I had to put two 120mm Fans on top of a pair of cards to keep the heat below 65C

I was able to overvolt a single card with Trixx, but the second wouldn't, assuming it was the lack of XFire issue.

I'm able to push the card up to 1022 on stock Voltage 1023 is the hardlock point. Being that the PCB of the 5830 and the 5870 are similar, from my research the card should be able to be overvolted safely to 1.25v.

I pushed one to 1092/315 achieving 346Mhash/s <--- if anyone wants to say i'm FOS, i'll email some SS's Smiley

Hope this helps :-)

shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 02:40:14 AM
 #39

it doest work...

I have 3 sapphire 5850 cards, one of then gets to 850 stable, other 840 and one cant get past 800 on stock volts.

The best i could do is flash these cards with those clocks so i dont have to depend on any other software to oc these to that level.

Any attempt to overvolt it over the maximum allowed in the table (1.088v) it will lock the card intro a 400/900 mode. There no way to avoid this, even bios flashing dont work at all for overvolting. No AMD gpu clock tool, or ati tray tools helps.

Only Trixx can overvolt them and it only works at the card tagged as first device.

using "apply oc settings to similar cards in multigpu" does not work either, it seems to work only in CF mode. Im using a M2N4-SLI, so no CF cookie for me Sad

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!