Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 02:11:42 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Dual sapphire xtreme 5850's. How to adjust voltage & overclock?  (Read 6388 times)
Clavulanic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 01:02:55 AM
 #1

What program can overclock and overvolt sapphire xtreme 5850's? Sapphire Trixx can adjust the voltage but only works for the first 5850, and it is hit and miss on overclocking both of them.
1481033502
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481033502

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481033502
Reply with quote  #2

1481033502
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481033502
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481033502

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481033502
Reply with quote  #2

1481033502
Report to moderator
Reckman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 712


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 01:26:54 AM
 #2

get the AMD GPU clocking tool (not CCC)

also id go with like 890/300 as a modest overclock, no risk to your vram
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:15:04 AM
 #3

you can go to 950 core with no voltage adjustment.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
hollajandro
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:33:38 AM
 #4

The most I can do is 880 core with the voltage upped a bit (not at home right now so I can't say for sure how much) and memory at 300. If I go any higher than that the computer locks up if the miner is running and I do anything else but mine. If no one is going to use the computer (it's my wifes machine) I can run at 940 core stable with the voltage at 1.193 and it gets about 375 Mhash/sec. It runs at 74 degrees with a custom fan profile that puts the fan at 64% at that temp. The case sucks so I expect with good airflow it should be even lower.

I have to stop the miner before touching anything else on the machine or it will freeze. I've had it running for days on that setting and had no problems as long as the miner is stopped and the card is turned down before using the machine.

I use Sapphire TriXX to overclock.
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:05:48 AM
 #5

you can go to 950 core with no voltage adjustment.

As if every card can do this.... right.... I have mine @ 850Mhz right now.  860Mhz and the display driver crashes after a couple hours.

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
Clavulanic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:17:32 AM
 #6

get the AMD GPU clocking tool (not CCC)

also id go with like 890/300 as a modest overclock, no risk to your vram

I thought AMD GPU clock can't adjust voltages?

The most I can do is 880 core with the voltage upped a bit (not at home right now so I can't say for sure how much) and memory at 300. If I go any higher than that the computer locks up if the miner is running and I do anything else but mine. If no one is going to use the computer (it's my wifes machine) I can run at 940 core stable with the voltage at 1.193 and it gets about 375 Mhash/sec. It runs at 74 degrees with a custom fan profile that puts the fan at 64% at that temp. The case sucks so I expect with good airflow it should be even lower.

I have to stop the miner before touching anything else on the machine or it will freeze. I've had it running for days on that setting and had no problems as long as the miner is stopped and the card is turned down before using the machine.

I use Sapphire TriXX to overclock.


Are you using trixx with 2 cards? If so how? I can't apply the voltage for both with trixx.
bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:49:42 AM
 #7

If you want to adjust multiple cards using trixx just select the option to "apply overclocking profile to all similar cards" or whatever the option is called (I don't use trixx but I remember that option when I tried it).

EDIT: Found it, Under settings "Synchronize cards in Multi-GPU config"
kiwiasian
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:52:03 AM
 #8

you can go to 950 core with no voltage adjustment.

Sure, if you want your PC to crash once you start mining.

Tradehill referral link, save 10% | http://www.tradehill.com/?r=TH-R12328
www.payb.tc/kiwiasian | 1LHNW1JGMBo2e7rKiiFz7KJPKE57bqCdEC
rograz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 575


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 04:30:25 AM
 #9

Sure, if you want your PC to crash once you start mining.

Actually one of my 6 Sapphire cards can do 955ish on stock 24/7 when mining, generally cards are stable on a lot higher frequencies when mining than if you tested anything else, for example that very card cant even handle flash video above 900. Saying that tho 4 other cards are in the 850-890 range for mining while I have one useless card that cant do above 825 under any circumstances even when you raise the voltage, all about luck :/
wol-va-rine
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 04:34:38 AM
 #10

you can go to 950 core with no voltage adjustment.

Sure, if you want your PC to crash once you start mining.

not all cards are the same, just like some cpu batches are better than others, the same applies to video cards, my 5850 mines at 935 core with no voltage adjustment at all and stays around 60°, mine crashes at 950, but it's not beyond the realm of possibility that some cards may be able to do this at stock voltages...
Reckman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 712


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 04:35:32 AM
 #11

The AMD tool adjusts the voltage for you, mine is set at 1.180 with 890/300 clock

Although it will only do it withing some allowable range, my XFX cards wont go as high
V2-V3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


Jagersfontein


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2011, 08:22:14 AM
 #12

What program can overclock and overvolt sapphire xtreme 5850's? Sapphire Trixx can adjust the voltage but only works for the first 5850, and it is hit and miss on overclocking both of them.

I recommend using MSI Afterburner with the extreme oveerclocking mode enabled
Guide on how to unlock ASI Afterburner http://bitclockers.com/forums/index.php?topic=5.msg6#msg6

jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 08:45:12 AM
 #13

What program can overclock and overvolt sapphire xtreme 5850's? Sapphire Trixx can adjust the voltage but only works for the first 5850, and it is hit and miss on overclocking both of them.

I recommend using MSI Afterburner with the extreme oveerclocking mode enabled
Guide on how to unlock ASI Afterburner http://bitclockers.com/forums/index.php?topic=5.msg6#msg6

Afterburner can't adjust voltages on most AMD cards FYI....

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
kiwiasian
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:34:57 PM
 #14

What program can overclock and overvolt sapphire xtreme 5850's? Sapphire Trixx can adjust the voltage but only works for the first 5850, and it is hit and miss on overclocking both of them.

I recommend using MSI Afterburner with the extreme oveerclocking mode enabled
Guide on how to unlock ASI Afterburner http://bitclockers.com/forums/index.php?topic=5.msg6#msg6

Afterburner can't adjust voltages on most AMD cards FYI....

Depends on the reference/non-reference VRM design

Tradehill referral link, save 10% | http://www.tradehill.com/?r=TH-R12328
www.payb.tc/kiwiasian | 1LHNW1JGMBo2e7rKiiFz7KJPKE57bqCdEC
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:42:44 PM
 #15

I have 3 of them in my farm, mostly using 6xxx series cards.

I run them at a 10% overclock with no added voltage.

The VRM is significantly stressed in an exponential curve the more voltage you add.
The incurred heat will be unsustainable in the long term (6+ months of 24/7 usage) if using clocks such as 1000mhz at the maximum voltage needed for stability. They will statistically start failing faster as you add more and more mV.

Lowering memory clocks is one way to burden the card less, but is not a free pass for using massive (20-30%) overclocks.
But those doing this at their own risk and claiming there is no danger should re-think whether stability over time is more important than relatively miniscule gains in mhash/s (for example, I am not willing to risk 25% larger risk of card fatality for 40mhash/s extra).

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
Clavulanic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:48:35 PM
 #16

What program can overclock and overvolt sapphire xtreme 5850's? Sapphire Trixx can adjust the voltage but only works for the first 5850, and it is hit and miss on overclocking both of them.

I recommend using MSI Afterburner with the extreme oveerclocking mode enabled
Guide on how to unlock ASI Afterburner http://bitclockers.com/forums/index.php?topic=5.msg6#msg6

Hmm I was under the impression afterburner didn't work with the sapphire xtreme 5850's. I'll give it a shot, I use afterburner for my dual 5870's and it works great.

I'll also give AMD GPU clock a shot like the others have mentioned.
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 04:46:18 PM
 #17

What program can overclock and overvolt sapphire xtreme 5850's? Sapphire Trixx can adjust the voltage but only works for the first 5850, and it is hit and miss on overclocking both of them.

I recommend using MSI Afterburner with the extreme oveerclocking mode enabled
Guide on how to unlock ASI Afterburner http://bitclockers.com/forums/index.php?topic=5.msg6#msg6

Hmm I was under the impression afterburner didn't work with the sapphire xtreme 5850's. I'll give it a shot, I use afterburner for my dual 5870's and it works great.

I'll also give AMD GPU clock a shot like the others have mentioned.

Sapphire Trixx software can natively tweak the voltage. It was just recently updated to support the xtreme cards.
Download link is below.

http://www.sapphiretech.com/ssc/TriXX/

It can also set fan profile curves.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
hardly
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 05:09:11 PM
 #18

I have dual 5830s, the same xtreme cards, mine will do 950 on stock voltage. I know these things have crazy overclocking potential, I just can't get the voltage on the second card to change. Trixx doesn't work on the second card, it's only changing the voltage on the first card.

AMD GPU clock tool won't work either. Says no valid device found.

Feel like being generous? I'll <3 you forever Cheesy 1JHckLQ9ed9YntYpsCAxsDQpuhnc7DYTSk
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 06:17:09 PM
 #19

I have dual 5830s, the same xtreme cards, mine will do 950 on stock voltage. I know these things have crazy overclocking potential, I just can't get the voltage on the second card to change. Trixx doesn't work on the second card, it's only changing the voltage on the first card.

AMD GPU clock tool won't work either. Says no valid device found.

See link above, it's an official tool made by Sapphire themselves.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 06:23:49 PM
 #20

I have dual 5830s, the same xtreme cards, mine will do 950 on stock voltage. I know these things have crazy overclocking potential, I just can't get the voltage on the second card to change. Trixx doesn't work on the second card, it's only changing the voltage on the first card.

AMD GPU clock tool won't work either. Says no valid device found.

See link above, it's an official tool made by Sapphire themselves.

I am starting to hate Sapphire. My Sapphire HD 5830 xtreme is way hotter than my XFX HD 5830.
XFX makes manufactures better in my opinion, but I could be wrong.

RE: The overclocking tool, MSI Afterburner has trouble with the Sapphire cards, Trixx should work.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!