Bitcoin Forum
May 05, 2024, 11:31:55 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: BIP0034  (Read 1570 times)
optimator (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 22, 2012, 12:29:19 AM
 #1

I am trying to understand BIP0034 and I'm confused (this is normal)

Is the "version" referenced in the specs the version of the tx Message type? Is this version different from the version in the Block Header?

Is the "scriptSig" referenced in the BIP the "signature script" field referenced in the TxIn data type?

I couldn't find a reference to "serialized CScript" on the script wiki page. Does anyone have a reference where I can find to calculate this?

I assume that adding the block number to the coinbase transaction sig doesn't inhibit using the transaction sig as an extra nounce?

Thanks!


1714908715
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714908715

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714908715
Reply with quote  #2

1714908715
Report to moderator
1714908715
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714908715

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714908715
Reply with quote  #2

1714908715
Report to moderator
The block chain is the main innovation of Bitcoin. It is the first distributed timestamping system.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714908715
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714908715

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714908715
Reply with quote  #2

1714908715
Report to moderator
1714908715
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714908715

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714908715
Reply with quote  #2

1714908715
Report to moderator
jgarzik
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1091


View Profile
September 22, 2012, 01:19:27 AM
 #2

I am trying to understand BIP0034 and I'm confused (this is normal)

Is the "version" referenced in the specs the version of the tx Message type? Is this version different from the version in the Block Header?

Transactions and blocks both have version fields.  In the specification, rule #1 refers to transaction versions ("transactions with a version [...]") and the other rules refer to block versions.

Quote
Is the "scriptSig" referenced in the BIP the "signature script" field referenced in the TxIn data type?

Yes.

Quote
I assume that adding the block number to the coinbase transaction sig doesn't inhibit using the transaction sig as an extra nounce?

Correct.  extra-nonce and block-height are both components of the coinbase transaction's script.  The script may have any type of data added via OP_PUSHDATA*


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
optimator (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 22, 2012, 03:36:53 AM
 #3

Thanks!

So if I submit a new block with a blockheader version 2 and a coinbase version 2, then how does it get accepted?


Quote from: BIP_0034
"Treat transactions with a version greater than 1 as non-standard (official Satoshi client will not mine or relay them)."

It seems to say that those transaction won't move??

optimator (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 27, 2012, 12:55:00 AM
 #4

Bump! And I'll also ask another question.

When you create a scriptsig for the coinbase transaction. Is it any random bits? Or is it as jgarzik references?...

Quote
The script may have any type of data added via OP_PUSHDATA*

What does that mean? I need to prefix my response with OP_PUSHDATA?

jgarzik
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1091


View Profile
September 27, 2012, 01:20:49 AM
 #5

What does that mean? I need to prefix my response with OP_PUSHDATA?

Yes.  There are several push-data opcodes, the basic format looks like

     <size of random bytes to push><random bytes>

There may be many different data segments, e.g.

     <size of data field 1><data field 1>
     <size of data field 2><data field 2>
     <size of data field 3><data field 3>

When you create a scriptsig for the coinbase transaction. Is it any random bits? Or is it as jgarzik references?...

nVersion 1 blocks may have any random bytes (subject to the push-data rules above).

nVersion 2 blocks must have the block height as the first pushed-data object.

See https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/blob/master/src/script.cpp source code or on the wiki https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Script#Constants for more details.


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1008



View Profile WWW
October 02, 2012, 09:33:32 AM
 #6

Thanks!

So if I submit a new block with a blockheader version 2 and a coinbase version 2, then how does it get accepted?


Quote from: BIP_0034
"Treat transactions with a version greater than 1 as non-standard (official Satoshi client will not mine or relay them)."

It seems to say that those transaction won't move??
Some blocks are already version 2:
https://blockexplorer.com/rawblock/00000000000003a81f3b36a46df322ee142a9d2ff1d2785ea539540c23a2d6ee

Now I get why, all of the sudden, the new getmemorypool command sent me data with nVersion=2. I thought it was a bug.

So I guess this means that clients older than 0.7.0 don't consider blocks with nVersion=2 to be invalid? The BIP says the "official Satoshi client will not mine or relay them", but the "official Satoshi client" is suggesting this version number itself, and everything seems to be working now with version 2 blocks included in the block chain.
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1024



View Profile
October 02, 2012, 12:53:00 PM
 #7

Some blocks are already version 2:
https://blockexplorer.com/rawblock/00000000000003a81f3b36a46df322ee142a9d2ff1d2785ea539540c23a2d6ee

Now I get why, all of the sudden, the new getmemorypool command sent me data with nVersion=2. I thought it was a bug.

So I guess this means that clients older than 0.7.0 don't consider blocks with nVersion=2 to be invalid? The BIP says the "official Satoshi client will not mine or relay them", but the "official Satoshi client" is suggesting this version number itself, and everything seems to be working now with version 2 blocks included in the block chain.

Read this.

17Np17BSrpnHCZ2pgtiMNnhjnsWJ2TMqq8
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1008



View Profile WWW
October 02, 2012, 02:03:44 PM
 #8

OK. I see. I just didn't think the older versions of the Satoshi client would accept version 2 blocks, but I guess that's the case.
jgarzik
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1091


View Profile
October 02, 2012, 04:17:30 PM
 #9

OK. I see. I just didn't think the older versions of the Satoshi client would accept version 2 blocks, but I guess that's the case.

Over the P2P network, the Satoshi client will accept and relay nVersion=1 blocks until a super-majority of the network has upgraded to nVersion=2.

Locally, if you are mining, the Satoshi client provides nVersion=2 blocks via 'getwork' or 'getblocktemplate' RPCs.


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
optimator (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
October 04, 2012, 02:03:45 AM
 #10


Over the P2P network, the Satoshi client will accept and relay nVersion=1 blocks until a super-majority of the network has upgraded to nVersion=2.

Locally, if you are mining, the Satoshi client provides nVersion=2 blocks via 'getwork' or 'getblocktemplate' RPCs.


I feel really stupid..... "Over the P2P network, the Satoshi client will accept and relay nVersion=1" does this mean they will reject version 2?

From a mining perspective, if I want to get my block into the chain, it seems I should be mining a Version 1 block because it has the best chance of being propagated as part of the longest block chain, no?

jgarzik
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1091


View Profile
October 04, 2012, 02:40:21 AM
 #11

I feel really stupid..... "Over the P2P network, the Satoshi client will accept and relay nVersion=1" does this mean they will reject version 2?

No.  Version 2 blocks are accepted and relayed just fine.

Quote
From a mining perspective, if I want to get my block into the chain, it seems I should be mining a Version 1 block because it has the best chance of being propagated as part of the longest block chain, no?

Mining a version 2 block will not hurt your chances of propagation.  You should mine version 2 blocks, if possible.

Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!