Bitcoin Forum
January 18, 2017, 06:21:58 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Does video memory matter?  (Read 2370 times)
ZombieDeity
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:03:57 AM
 #1

Here's a question I have not seen addressed in the forums (though I'll admit to not having done an exhaustive search).  The video cards I want generally come in two flavors:  1 GB of video memory or 2 GB.  I have seen many posts recommending underclocking video memory to save power, so I assume memory throughput is not a consideration in mining.  But does size matter?   Undecided
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1484720518
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484720518

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484720518
Reply with quote  #2

1484720518
Report to moderator
1484720518
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484720518

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484720518
Reply with quote  #2

1484720518
Report to moderator
1484720518
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484720518

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484720518
Reply with quote  #2

1484720518
Report to moderator
Yanz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:14:37 AM
 #2

Are you talking about the 6950? If it is, I would get the 2GB (reference) so you can unlock shaders. If not, and the card is purely for mining (e.g. no gaming) I would save the cash and get the 1GB. More details will help.

With great video cards comes great power consumption.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:15:20 AM
 #3

no

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
ZombieDeity
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:27:48 AM
 #4

Are you talking about the 6950? If it is, I would get the 2GB (reference) so you can unlock shaders. If not, and the card is purely for mining (e.g. no gaming) I would save the cash and get the 1GB. More details will help.

I suppose something like unlocking shaders might be worth the extra $10-15 it costs to go with a 2 GB card, if it would help resale value (in case this whole mining thing doesn't work out).  But when used purely for mining I guess the answer is that it makes no difference, eh?

I was thinking either 6990's (best performance) or 6950's (much better performance per dollar).  Thoughts on this?
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:31:01 AM
 #5

The memory doesn't really matter; the data that Bitcoin miners work on is extremely tiny.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
ZombieDeity
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:39:31 AM
 #6

The memory doesn't really matter; the data that Bitcoin miners work on is extremely tiny.

Thank you, error, for the concise answer. Smiley
Yanz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:45:56 AM
 #7

Are you talking about the 6950? If it is, I would get the 2GB (reference) so you can unlock shaders. If not, and the card is purely for mining (e.g. no gaming) I would save the cash and get the 1GB. More details will help.

I suppose something like unlocking shaders might be worth the extra $10-15 it costs to go with a 2 GB card, if it would help resale value (in case this whole mining thing doesn't work out).  But when used purely for mining I guess the answer is that it makes no difference, eh?

I was thinking either 6990's (best performance) or 6950's (much better performance per dollar).  Thoughts on this?


Well unlocking shaders gives you more cores (1536 vs 1408) more cores = more hashes Cheesy
I have a MSI 6950 unlocked shader and overclocked to 960 and get's about 410 MH/s. Now only if I could get it to run with my 5970 instead of sitting on my desk...

Be sure to get a reference card if you want to unlock.

With great video cards comes great power consumption.
ZombieDeity
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 04:05:47 AM
 #8

Excellent, Yanz!  Thanks for the info!  For the time being, I think I've decided to wait for some 6990s to come in stock.  I hope I'm not waiting too long. Undecided
bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 04:10:08 AM
 #9

Just a note, 6990s have terrible MHash/$ ratio, and the more time passes the higher the difficulty gets, making time to ROI get longer and longer.
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
June 03, 2011, 07:40:53 PM
 #10

Just a note, 6990s have terrible MHash/$ ratio, and the more time passes the higher the difficulty gets, making time to ROI get longer and longer.

Yes, but they have a great MHash/watt ratio. Which is important if you plan to be mining long-term and you pay for your own electricity.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
BitCheddar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


The cheddarz *must* flow.


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 07:58:00 PM
 #11

FYI - depending on the card, some 6950 1GB can have their shaders unlocked.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!