Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 11:58:14 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Does video memory matter?  (Read 2362 times)
ZombieDeity
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:03:57 AM
 #1

Here's a question I have not seen addressed in the forums (though I'll admit to not having done an exhaustive search).  The video cards I want generally come in two flavors:  1 GB of video memory or 2 GB.  I have seen many posts recommending underclocking video memory to save power, so I assume memory throughput is not a consideration in mining.  But does size matter?   Undecided
1481198294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198294
Reply with quote  #2

1481198294
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481198294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198294
Reply with quote  #2

1481198294
Report to moderator
1481198294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198294
Reply with quote  #2

1481198294
Report to moderator
Yanz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:14:37 AM
 #2

Are you talking about the 6950? If it is, I would get the 2GB (reference) so you can unlock shaders. If not, and the card is purely for mining (e.g. no gaming) I would save the cash and get the 1GB. More details will help.

With great video cards comes great power consumption.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:15:20 AM
 #3

no

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
ZombieDeity
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:27:48 AM
 #4

Are you talking about the 6950? If it is, I would get the 2GB (reference) so you can unlock shaders. If not, and the card is purely for mining (e.g. no gaming) I would save the cash and get the 1GB. More details will help.

I suppose something like unlocking shaders might be worth the extra $10-15 it costs to go with a 2 GB card, if it would help resale value (in case this whole mining thing doesn't work out).  But when used purely for mining I guess the answer is that it makes no difference, eh?

I was thinking either 6990's (best performance) or 6950's (much better performance per dollar).  Thoughts on this?
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:31:01 AM
 #5

The memory doesn't really matter; the data that Bitcoin miners work on is extremely tiny.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
ZombieDeity
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:39:31 AM
 #6

The memory doesn't really matter; the data that Bitcoin miners work on is extremely tiny.

Thank you, error, for the concise answer. Smiley
Yanz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:45:56 AM
 #7

Are you talking about the 6950? If it is, I would get the 2GB (reference) so you can unlock shaders. If not, and the card is purely for mining (e.g. no gaming) I would save the cash and get the 1GB. More details will help.

I suppose something like unlocking shaders might be worth the extra $10-15 it costs to go with a 2 GB card, if it would help resale value (in case this whole mining thing doesn't work out).  But when used purely for mining I guess the answer is that it makes no difference, eh?

I was thinking either 6990's (best performance) or 6950's (much better performance per dollar).  Thoughts on this?


Well unlocking shaders gives you more cores (1536 vs 1408) more cores = more hashes Cheesy
I have a MSI 6950 unlocked shader and overclocked to 960 and get's about 410 MH/s. Now only if I could get it to run with my 5970 instead of sitting on my desk...

Be sure to get a reference card if you want to unlock.

With great video cards comes great power consumption.
ZombieDeity
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 04:05:47 AM
 #8

Excellent, Yanz!  Thanks for the info!  For the time being, I think I've decided to wait for some 6990s to come in stock.  I hope I'm not waiting too long. Undecided
bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 04:10:08 AM
 #9

Just a note, 6990s have terrible MHash/$ ratio, and the more time passes the higher the difficulty gets, making time to ROI get longer and longer.
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
June 03, 2011, 07:40:53 PM
 #10

Just a note, 6990s have terrible MHash/$ ratio, and the more time passes the higher the difficulty gets, making time to ROI get longer and longer.

Yes, but they have a great MHash/watt ratio. Which is important if you plan to be mining long-term and you pay for your own electricity.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
BitCheddar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


The cheddarz *must* flow.


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 07:58:00 PM
 #11

FYI - depending on the card, some 6950 1GB can have their shaders unlocked.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!