Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 01:50:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Will Many graphic card on one mother board work?  (Read 2362 times)
PRCman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:19:36 AM
 #1

Mother board like this:

P6T6 WS Revolution
http://compare.ebay.com/like/300551783132?var=lv&ltyp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&var=sbar&_lwgsi=y

P6T7 WS SuperComputer
http://www.algogo.com/store/products/ASUS-P6T7-WS-X58-ICH10R-nForce200-SUPERCOMPUTER-i7-DDR3-MOTHERBOARD.html

If install 6 -7 graphic card like 5870 / 5830 on 1 mother board ( with big fan cooling system )

Will it work?

Thanks

16TaG8kMPMdsF1ABj2p2dbQX3WK4yG2bG3
1481291410
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291410

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291410
Reply with quote  #2

1481291410
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481291410
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291410

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291410
Reply with quote  #2

1481291410
Report to moderator
wizang
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:35:28 AM
 #2

Keep in mind that the 5870s/5830s are dual slot video cards unless you watercool or something similar. So for dual slot cards this mobo supports 4 max it looks like. You're better off saving money and buying an AMD system (cheaper mobo and cpu). I have an MSI board that has 5 pci-e slots but will support 4 dual slot cards.
bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:45:44 AM
 #3

You could do 6 cards by using PCI-E extenders. Just a warning though you run the risk of exploding the motherboard if you run 6 5870s, as the PCI-E bus still delivers power to cards despite having external power connectors. I don't know the exact numbers, the spec calls for 75W max, so say 40 * 6 = 240W running through the PCIE Bus.

Of note, a $200 motherboard that requires a $200+ CPU isn't necessarily that money saving. You can find cheap AMD AM3 boards with 5 PCI-slots (x1 works fine) for ~$120 with a $40 sempron that saves you > $250.

In fact you could get 2x $120 mobos + 2x $40 CPUs, have 10 slots for cards and still have spent less than you would have on LGA1366.
PRCman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:55:48 AM
 #4

You could do 6 cards by using PCI-E extenders. Just a warning though you run the risk of exploding the motherboard if you run 6 5870s, as the PCI-E bus still delivers power to cards despite having external power connectors. I don't know the exact numbers, the spec calls for 75W max, so say 40 * 6 = 240W running through the PCIE Bus.

Of note, a $200 motherboard that requires a $200+ CPU isn't necessarily that money saving. You can find cheap AMD AM3 boards with 5 PCI-slots (x1 works fine) for ~$120 with a $40 sempron that saves you > $250.

In fact you could get 2x $120 mobos + 2x $40 CPUs, have 10 slots for cards and still have spent less than you would have on LGA1366.

what kind of AMD AM3 boards have 5 PCI-E slots which could install a graphic card?

16TaG8kMPMdsF1ABj2p2dbQX3WK4yG2bG3
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 06:40:27 AM
 #5

Gigabyte GD70. get extender cable for 1 or 2 of the PCIe. and theres still PCI-E to spare if u have adapter.

PRCman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 06:53:23 AM
 #6

Gigabyte GD70. get extender cable for 1 or 2 of the PCIe. and theres still PCI-E to spare if u have adapter.




something like this?  how many graphic card does it support?

And what is extender cable or adapter?





16TaG8kMPMdsF1ABj2p2dbQX3WK4yG2bG3
darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 06:54:33 AM
 #7

I assume you don't put these setup in an actual case?
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 07:29:28 AM
 #8

I list some of the resources that you may be interested in while planning your mining rig in my Building "guide" including this.

Also, I think it isn't that difficult to find specification on the GD-70, take heed that,as darvil, I also assume you're not putting them in a case, and you probably have to solve the PSU problem (as I had to initially which I didn't and gave up) if you put so many GPU on on MOBO. (Max PSU prolly around 1500 W, you'll need more than that)

burtyb
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2011, 11:44:16 PM
 #9

I tried running with 6 HD5870 on a single MB but I could only get 4 out of the 6 to work properly, XFX couldn't see any reason why but figured it was down to resource problems with the MB - I've since changed to use 3xHD5870 per MB.

ChrisB.

bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 11:52:42 PM
 #10

Were you crossfiring the cards? Or in Windows XP 32bit (I think). Crossfire is forced to 4 GPUs max. One version of windows is reported to also have that limitation.


As for PSU problem, 6 5870s can run comfortably on a 1200W with no worries. The biggest worry is still as I said frying the motherboard by running so much power through it.
Reckman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 712


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 12:59:10 AM
 #11

If you have more than 4 GPUS you need to run linux, windows cant use more than 4

also by the time you buy one of those motherboards and a 1366 processor, your probably wasting money over buying two smaller rigs
PRCman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:40:14 AM
 #12

I tried running with 6 HD5870 on a single MB but I could only get 4 out of the 6 to work properly, XFX couldn't see any reason why but figured it was down to resource problems with the MB - I've since changed to use 3xHD5870 per MB.

ChrisB.

What motherboard are you using?

16TaG8kMPMdsF1ABj2p2dbQX3WK4yG2bG3
burtyb
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45



View Profile WWW
June 04, 2011, 06:25:46 PM
 #13

What motherboard are you using?

Whatever POS that came with the an Dell SC440.

Were you crossfiring the cards? Or in Windows XP 32bit (I think). Crossfire is forced to 4 GPUs max. One version of windows is reported to also have that limitation.

No crossfire, running under Ubuntu.

As for PSU problem, 6 5870s can run comfortably on a 1200W with no worries. The biggest worry is still as I said frying the motherboard by running so much power through it.

I'd also advise thinking about how you're going to get power to the 6pins.

ChrisB.

SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 02:48:07 AM
 #14

Theres another issue that is the PCIe slots actually powers the card like up to 70+ watts maybe the MOBO couldn't handle that much power request or something (similar to what was mention)

mlouca
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 03:40:46 AM
 #15

If you have more than 4 GPUS you need to run linux, windows cant use more than 4

also by the time you buy one of those motherboards and a 1366 processor, your probably wasting money over buying two smaller rigs

windows limits you to 4 gpus per motherboard?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!