Bitcoin Forum
April 27, 2017, 01:20:15 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Will Many graphic card on one mother board work?  (Read 2418 times)
PRCman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:19:36 AM
 #1

Mother board like this:

P6T6 WS Revolution
http://compare.ebay.com/like/300551783132?var=lv&ltyp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&var=sbar&_lwgsi=y

P6T7 WS SuperComputer
http://www.algogo.com/store/products/ASUS-P6T7-WS-X58-ICH10R-nForce200-SUPERCOMPUTER-i7-DDR3-MOTHERBOARD.html

If install 6 -7 graphic card like 5870 / 5830 on 1 mother board ( with big fan cooling system )

Will it work?

Thanks

16TaG8kMPMdsF1ABj2p2dbQX3WK4yG2bG3
Even if you use Bitcoin through Tor, the way transactions are handled by the network makes anonymity difficult to achieve. Do not expect your transactions to be anonymous unless you really know what you're doing.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
wizang
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:35:28 AM
 #2

Keep in mind that the 5870s/5830s are dual slot video cards unless you watercool or something similar. So for dual slot cards this mobo supports 4 max it looks like. You're better off saving money and buying an AMD system (cheaper mobo and cpu). I have an MSI board that has 5 pci-e slots but will support 4 dual slot cards.
bcpokey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:45:44 AM
 #3

You could do 6 cards by using PCI-E extenders. Just a warning though you run the risk of exploding the motherboard if you run 6 5870s, as the PCI-E bus still delivers power to cards despite having external power connectors. I don't know the exact numbers, the spec calls for 75W max, so say 40 * 6 = 240W running through the PCIE Bus.

Of note, a $200 motherboard that requires a $200+ CPU isn't necessarily that money saving. You can find cheap AMD AM3 boards with 5 PCI-slots (x1 works fine) for ~$120 with a $40 sempron that saves you > $250.

In fact you could get 2x $120 mobos + 2x $40 CPUs, have 10 slots for cards and still have spent less than you would have on LGA1366.



           ▄▄▄▄▄
     ▄▄█████████████▄
   ▄█████▀       ▀█████▄
 ▄████▀             ▀████▄
 ███▀                 ▀███▄
███▀   █████████████   ▀███
███    ▀▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀▀    ███
███         ███         ███
███▄        ███        ████
▀███▄       ███       ▄███▀
 ▀████▄     ▀▀▀     ▄████▀
   ▀█████▄▄     ▄▄█████▀
      ▀█████████████▀
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀
WeTrust.io


             ▄██▄
     ▄      ▐████   ▄▄
   █████     ██████████
    █████████████████▀
 ▄████████████▀████▌
██████████     ▀████
 ▀▀   █████     ██████████
      ▀████▌▄████████████▀
    ▄▄▄███████████████▌
   ██████████▀    ▐████
    ▀▀▀  ████▌     ▀▀▀
         ▀███▀


 ▄████████████████████▄
████████████████████████
██████████ ▀████████████
██████████    ▀█████████
██████████    ▄█████████
██████████ ▄████████████
████████████████████████
 ▀████████████████████▀

                 ▄████▄▄    ▄
██             ████████████▀
████▄         █████████████▀
▀████████▄▄   █████████████
▄▄█████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
  ▀██████████████████████
   █████████████████████
    ▀█████████████████▀
      ▄█████████████▀
▄▄███████████████▀
   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

  ▄██▄▄                ▄▄██▄
  ████████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
  ██████████████████████████
  ██████████████████████████
▄████████████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████████▌
█████▀                  ▀█████▌
████    ███▄      ▄███    ████▌
████   ▐████      ████▌   ████
 ███    ▀██▀      ▀██▀    ███▀
  ▀██▄                  ▄██▀
    ▀▀██████████████████▀▀


PRCman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:55:48 AM
 #4

You could do 6 cards by using PCI-E extenders. Just a warning though you run the risk of exploding the motherboard if you run 6 5870s, as the PCI-E bus still delivers power to cards despite having external power connectors. I don't know the exact numbers, the spec calls for 75W max, so say 40 * 6 = 240W running through the PCIE Bus.

Of note, a $200 motherboard that requires a $200+ CPU isn't necessarily that money saving. You can find cheap AMD AM3 boards with 5 PCI-slots (x1 works fine) for ~$120 with a $40 sempron that saves you > $250.

In fact you could get 2x $120 mobos + 2x $40 CPUs, have 10 slots for cards and still have spent less than you would have on LGA1366.

what kind of AMD AM3 boards have 5 PCI-E slots which could install a graphic card?

16TaG8kMPMdsF1ABj2p2dbQX3WK4yG2bG3
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 06:40:27 AM
 #5

Gigabyte GD70. get extender cable for 1 or 2 of the PCIe. and theres still PCI-E to spare if u have adapter.

PRCman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 06:53:23 AM
 #6

Gigabyte GD70. get extender cable for 1 or 2 of the PCIe. and theres still PCI-E to spare if u have adapter.




something like this?  how many graphic card does it support?

And what is extender cable or adapter?





16TaG8kMPMdsF1ABj2p2dbQX3WK4yG2bG3
darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 06:54:33 AM
 #7

I assume you don't put these setup in an actual case?
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 07:29:28 AM
 #8

I list some of the resources that you may be interested in while planning your mining rig in my Building "guide" including this.

Also, I think it isn't that difficult to find specification on the GD-70, take heed that,as darvil, I also assume you're not putting them in a case, and you probably have to solve the PSU problem (as I had to initially which I didn't and gave up) if you put so many GPU on on MOBO. (Max PSU prolly around 1500 W, you'll need more than that)

burtyb
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2011, 11:44:16 PM
 #9

I tried running with 6 HD5870 on a single MB but I could only get 4 out of the 6 to work properly, XFX couldn't see any reason why but figured it was down to resource problems with the MB - I've since changed to use 3xHD5870 per MB.

ChrisB.

bcpokey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 11:52:42 PM
 #10

Were you crossfiring the cards? Or in Windows XP 32bit (I think). Crossfire is forced to 4 GPUs max. One version of windows is reported to also have that limitation.


As for PSU problem, 6 5870s can run comfortably on a 1200W with no worries. The biggest worry is still as I said frying the motherboard by running so much power through it.



           ▄▄▄▄▄
     ▄▄█████████████▄
   ▄█████▀       ▀█████▄
 ▄████▀             ▀████▄
 ███▀                 ▀███▄
███▀   █████████████   ▀███
███    ▀▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀▀    ███
███         ███         ███
███▄        ███        ████
▀███▄       ███       ▄███▀
 ▀████▄     ▀▀▀     ▄████▀
   ▀█████▄▄     ▄▄█████▀
      ▀█████████████▀
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀
WeTrust.io


             ▄██▄
     ▄      ▐████   ▄▄
   █████     ██████████
    █████████████████▀
 ▄████████████▀████▌
██████████     ▀████
 ▀▀   █████     ██████████
      ▀████▌▄████████████▀
    ▄▄▄███████████████▌
   ██████████▀    ▐████
    ▀▀▀  ████▌     ▀▀▀
         ▀███▀


 ▄████████████████████▄
████████████████████████
██████████ ▀████████████
██████████    ▀█████████
██████████    ▄█████████
██████████ ▄████████████
████████████████████████
 ▀████████████████████▀

                 ▄████▄▄    ▄
██             ████████████▀
████▄         █████████████▀
▀████████▄▄   █████████████
▄▄█████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
  ▀██████████████████████
   █████████████████████
    ▀█████████████████▀
      ▄█████████████▀
▄▄███████████████▀
   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

  ▄██▄▄                ▄▄██▄
  ████████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
  ██████████████████████████
  ██████████████████████████
▄████████████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████████▌
█████▀                  ▀█████▌
████    ███▄      ▄███    ████▌
████   ▐████      ████▌   ████
 ███    ▀██▀      ▀██▀    ███▀
  ▀██▄                  ▄██▀
    ▀▀██████████████████▀▀


Reckman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 712


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 12:59:10 AM
 #11

If you have more than 4 GPUS you need to run linux, windows cant use more than 4

also by the time you buy one of those motherboards and a 1366 processor, your probably wasting money over buying two smaller rigs
PRCman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:40:14 AM
 #12

I tried running with 6 HD5870 on a single MB but I could only get 4 out of the 6 to work properly, XFX couldn't see any reason why but figured it was down to resource problems with the MB - I've since changed to use 3xHD5870 per MB.

ChrisB.

What motherboard are you using?

16TaG8kMPMdsF1ABj2p2dbQX3WK4yG2bG3
burtyb
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45



View Profile WWW
June 04, 2011, 06:25:46 PM
 #13

What motherboard are you using?

Whatever POS that came with the an Dell SC440.

Were you crossfiring the cards? Or in Windows XP 32bit (I think). Crossfire is forced to 4 GPUs max. One version of windows is reported to also have that limitation.

No crossfire, running under Ubuntu.

As for PSU problem, 6 5870s can run comfortably on a 1200W with no worries. The biggest worry is still as I said frying the motherboard by running so much power through it.

I'd also advise thinking about how you're going to get power to the 6pins.

ChrisB.

SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 02:48:07 AM
 #14

Theres another issue that is the PCIe slots actually powers the card like up to 70+ watts maybe the MOBO couldn't handle that much power request or something (similar to what was mention)

mlouca
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 03:40:46 AM
 #15

If you have more than 4 GPUS you need to run linux, windows cant use more than 4

also by the time you buy one of those motherboards and a 1366 processor, your probably wasting money over buying two smaller rigs

windows limits you to 4 gpus per motherboard?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!