Bitcoin Forum
March 29, 2017, 05:22:20 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How should I mine?  (Read 968 times)
kiwiasian
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:53:55 AM
 #1

I have a crossfire 5850 system, and this is the way I have been mining:

On a mining pool, create two workers. One for GPU1, one for GPU2. In poclbm, designate one GPU per worker. And...mine for 24 hours.

I have both GPUs mining on the same pool.

Is that a bad idea? I always see people with multigpu miners have one GPU on say deepbit, and the second GPU on slush. Why is this a better idea? Or is it just preference?

What is the ideal way to mine with 630MH/s?

Tradehill referral link, save 10% | http://www.tradehill.com/?r=TH-R12328
www.payb.tc/kiwiasian | 1LHNW1JGMBo2e7rKiiFz7KJPKE57bqCdEC
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490808140
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490808140

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490808140
Reply with quote  #2

1490808140
Report to moderator
1490808140
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490808140

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490808140
Reply with quote  #2

1490808140
Report to moderator
1490808140
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490808140

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490808140
Reply with quote  #2

1490808140
Report to moderator
kiwiasian
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:33:38 PM
 #2

Really?

Tradehill referral link, save 10% | http://www.tradehill.com/?r=TH-R12328
www.payb.tc/kiwiasian | 1LHNW1JGMBo2e7rKiiFz7KJPKE57bqCdEC
KJaneway
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:37:41 PM
 #3

Hi,

i think it is just preference in which pool you want to anticipate. For the rest: test it: If you get over your 630MHash / sec, then do it, else stay with 630.


If you like my advise, i would be thankful getting a small donation at:
1Hvpgt5U6EgrWX1WpA25W6mRoH1Ltr8ydm
fabric
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 07:42:36 AM
 #4

Just today I've been tinkering with a two GPU system for the first time. I guess it could have been bad luck/timing, but I was trying to get both GPUs running on BTCguild with phoenix on high aggression and had a lot of network troubles/idling workers. Once I switched one GPU to slush's and the other to BTCguild (also worked when I tested Eligius) all of the network/idling problems went away. Also I suspect I have worse latency to the US than a lot of people.

So basically - this is completely anecdotal advice and I really don't know how the system is "supposed" to work, but after a couple hours of testing my conclusion was: mine in two different pools for best results Smiley
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
June 03, 2011, 07:48:31 AM
 #5

Use the flex proxy.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!