Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:40:49 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: anyone got 4 5830s in a machine? in a case  (Read 4683 times)
darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 06:23:05 AM
 #1

I know you can use cables so you don't have to have a motherboard that have all the slots but I was wondering what strategies or things or cases people are using to fit them in.  Since I need to place them somewhere that isn't where I live, I can't have it open air otherwise I would do it. 
1481143249
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143249

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143249
Reply with quote  #2

1481143249
Report to moderator
1481143249
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143249

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143249
Reply with quote  #2

1481143249
Report to moderator
1481143249
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143249

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143249
Reply with quote  #2

1481143249
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 06:28:05 AM
 #2

I know you can use cables so you don't have to have a motherboard that have all the slots but I was wondering what strategies or things or cases people are using to fit them in.  Since I need to place them somewhere that isn't where I live, I can't have it open air otherwise I would do it. 
Lol, was just going to say... I have one just dangling by the power cables and halfway sitting on the PCIe extension.  And I have a 240mm fan resting on top of that card feeding into the rest of the case.  Now I just need to integrate some twisty ties, and it'll be as ghetto as it gets.  Tongue
darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 06:50:42 AM
 #3

haha,

I wish I can do that really but I got some nice space where I don't have to pay for electricity (but one I need to case it properly).

I guess most of us are just keeping it ghetto all around.  I know I can fit 3 with one of these board (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130274)

I actually did setup 3 video cards using extended cable but I had to balance the 3rd one on top of the 2nd one.  It won't be good if someone pushes the case by accident Sad
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 06:52:41 AM
 #4

I have 4 on a MSI 5 PCI-E board.  But no case....  I think it might work in a Lian li case.  A lot of those have 8 slots instead of the normal ATC standard of 7.

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
frozen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2011, 06:57:30 AM
 #5

I know you can use cables so you don't have to have a motherboard that have all the slots but I was wondering what strategies or things or cases people are using to fit them in.  Since I need to place them somewhere that isn't where I live, I can't have it open air otherwise I would do it.  
Lol, was just going to say... I have one just dangling by the power cables and halfway sitting on the PCIe extension.  And I have a 240mm fan resting on top of that card feeding into the rest of the case.  Now I just need to integrate some twisty ties, and it'll be as ghetto as it gets.  Tongue

What PSU are you running for 4 5830's?

darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 07:03:27 AM
 #6

I know you can use cables so you don't have to have a motherboard that have all the slots but I was wondering what strategies or things or cases people are using to fit them in.  Since I need to place them somewhere that isn't where I live, I can't have it open air otherwise I would do it. 
Lol, was just going to say... I have one just dangling by the power cables and halfway sitting on the PCIe extension.  And I have a 240mm fan resting on top of that card feeding into the rest of the case.  Now I just need to integrate some twisty ties, and it'll be as ghetto as it gets.  Tongue

What PSU are you running for 4 5830's?

I haven't gotten this setup yet.  I'm just interested in making one.  I would assume one of the 1k psu would be ok.

Also, one of the problems I found with the big cases is that the extender is actually just 7 inches so you can't really lay it on the side.  I'm not sure how you can do this unless you just lay the PC on the side with the cover on and stack 2 of them together that way.  It'll look weird but it might work out.
frozen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2011, 07:13:12 AM
 #7

1k is probably enough for 5 x 5830's, so I am looking at smaller PSUs:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139006

I think the above PSU would be sufficient for 3 x 5830, unsure about 4x

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139009
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153106

I am thinking either one of these would be sufficient for 4 x 5830

darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 07:26:22 AM
 #8

1k is probably enough for 5 x 5830's, so I am looking at smaller PSUs:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139006

I think the above PSU would be sufficient for 3 x 5830, unsure about 4x

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139009
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153106

I am thinking either one of these would be sufficient for 4 x 5830

What about (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182072)

I just got this yesterday and also I have the 1K corsair.  Basically I just need to order a case and 4 5830s.  I'm just not sure which specific board, case and how to arrange it without causing issues.  Like I said I will need to have a real case and close it off.  Even if I say it on the side, I might not be able to balance the other card on the others. 

I was looking at this case which is on sale on newegg now (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811147108)

got alot of nice cooling but not sure if its deep enough for me to stack the cards together.  An idea I had was to get one of those boards with 2 pci-e 16x and 2 1x pci-e but might have to opt for the (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130274) which I know 3 cards will fit fine.
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 07:36:00 AM
 #9

1k is probably enough for 5 x 5830's, so I am looking at smaller PSUs:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139006

I think the above PSU would be sufficient for 3 x 5830, unsure about 4x

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139009
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153106

I am thinking either one of these would be sufficient for 4 x 5830
I'm actually only running three of them, because the top PCIe slot on my motherboard is dead.  But the bottom one is too close to the bottom of the case to use without an extender.

And I use that exact PSU for 3 of them.  I have a feeling it is overkill, but oh well.  I bet it would run 4 just fine...
frozen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2011, 07:46:37 AM
 #10

I found that cooling becomes an issue even with 2 x 5830 (OC'd) with a closed case, and so I keep the side off of my case, and my other rig is currently running caseless. Running 4 cards in a closed case... I don't know, good luck!

From my own testing, each 5830 card uses about 140W. A base system will need about 100W, so 520W for 3 (69% of 750W PSU), 660W for 4 (88% of 750W PSU, 77% of 850W PSU).

With that said, the Rosewill PSU you linked appears promising. It has four 12V rails @ 20A each - convenient for running 4 cards that seem to require less than 20A.  One of my 2 x 5830 rigs uses a 550W PSU with +12V1@16A, +12V2@17A.

So the question I have whether to run with 4 rails or 1 rail.

frozen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2011, 07:47:47 AM
 #11

1k is probably enough for 5 x 5830's, so I am looking at smaller PSUs:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139006

I think the above PSU would be sufficient for 3 x 5830, unsure about 4x

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139009
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153106

I am thinking either one of these would be sufficient for 4 x 5830
I'm actually only running three of them, because the top PCIe slot on my motherboard is dead.  But the bottom one is too close to the bottom of the case to use without an extender.

And I use that exact PSU for 3 of them.  I have a feeling it is overkill, but oh well.  I bet it would run 4 just fine...

You are using the CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX for three of them?

SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 07:49:15 AM
 #12

1k is probably enough for 5 x 5830's, so I am looking at smaller PSUs:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139006

I think the above PSU would be sufficient for 3 x 5830, unsure about 4x

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139009
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153106

I am thinking either one of these would be sufficient for 4 x 5830
I'm actually only running three of them, because the top PCIe slot on my motherboard is dead.  But the bottom one is too close to the bottom of the case to use without an extender.

And I use that exact PSU for 3 of them.  I have a feeling it is overkill, but oh well.  I bet it would run 4 just fine...

You are using the CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX for three of them?
Yes, works just great.  I have one of them overclocked to 975mhz on a little more voltage too... would have overclocked all of them, but I couldn't figure out a way to do it with Trixx.
darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 07:58:05 AM
 #13

I found that cooling becomes an issue even with 2 x 5830 (OC'd) with a closed case, and so I keep the side off of my case, and my other rig is currently running caseless. Running 4 cards in a closed case... I don't know, good luck!

From my own testing, each 5830 card uses about 140W. A base system will need about 100W, so 520W for 3 (69% of 750W PSU), 660W for 4 (88% of 750W PSU, 77% of 850W PSU).

With that said, the Rosewill PSU you linked appears promising. It has four 12V rails @ 20A each - convenient for running 4 cards that seem to require less than 20A.  One of my 2 x 5830 rigs uses a 550W PSU with +12V1@16A, +12V2@17A.

So the question I have whether to run with 4 rails or 1 rail.

I actually have 3 5850 sapphire Xtreme OCed to (372mhash) in a case (coolermaster full tower) with very little issue.  I just need a way to stick 4 cards in a case somehow but maybe 3 is the way to go as I know it'll work (IE fit in the case). Too bad this mobo (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130274) doesn't have the pic-e 1 on the top.. that way I could actually balance a 4th on top.
frozen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2011, 08:15:12 AM
 #14

I actually have 3 5850 sapphire Xtreme OCed to (372mhash) in a case (coolermaster full tower) with very little issue.  I just need a way to stick 4 cards in a case somehow but maybe 3 is the way to go as I know it'll work (IE fit in the case). Too bad this mobo (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130274) doesn't have the pic-e 1 on the top.. that way I could actually balance a 4th on top.


Temps?

darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 08:27:26 AM
 #15

I actually have 3 5850 sapphire Xtreme OCed to (372mhash) in a case (coolermaster full tower) with very little issue.  I just need a way to stick 4 cards in a case somehow but maybe 3 is the way to go as I know it'll work (IE fit in the case). Too bad this mobo (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130274) doesn't have the pic-e 1 on the top.. that way I could actually balance a 4th on top.


Temps?

low 70s and extremely stable.  It has been running without a hiccup for 2 weeks now.
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 09:26:50 AM
 #16

with four cards in a closed case your overclocking limits will be quite tight unless you manage to somehow create a very good airflow through that case...

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 09:46:24 AM
 #17

I ordered that case.. we'll see if I can do this.  Will be interesting to see.  I just wish I could extend the slots longer then 7 inches so I could put the card on the front.
inh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 12:01:36 PM
 #18

Get a single rail PSU otherwise you have to dick with adapter cables to get power from all the different rails.
wol-va-rine
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 12:29:59 PM
 #19

1k is probably enough for 5 x 5830's, so I am looking at smaller PSUs:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139006

I think the above PSU would be sufficient for 3 x 5830, unsure about 4x

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139009
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153106

I am thinking either one of these would be sufficient for 4 x 5830

I wouldn't take the chance, four 5850s...? maybe, but 5830s use more power than 5850s and almost as much power as 5870s, if you OC them they'll probably use about about as much a quad 5870 setup, would you trust anything lower than a 1kw PSU with a quad 5870 setup...? I wouldn't...
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:12:32 AM
 #20

1k is probably enough for 5 x 5830's, so I am looking at smaller PSUs:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139006

I think the above PSU would be sufficient for 3 x 5830, unsure about 4x

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139009
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153106

I am thinking either one of these would be sufficient for 4 x 5830
I'm actually only running three of them, because the top PCIe slot on my motherboard is dead.  But the bottom one is too close to the bottom of the case to use without an extender.

And I use that exact PSU for 3 of them.  I have a feeling it is overkill, but oh well.  I bet it would run 4 just fine...

You are using the CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX for three of them?
Yes, works just great.  I have one of them overclocked to 975mhz on a little more voltage too... would have overclocked all of them, but I couldn't figure out a way to do it with Trixx.
Just FYI, my 750TX just died last night.  I was running 3 5830's and a C2D processor (50%-60% usage).  I suspect heat had something to do with it, as the air coming out of it was always blazing hot, and I don't have any case fans (just left the side panel off).  Still, it may be insufficient for 3 5830's, so I thought I'd send out the warning.  I bought an 850w ThermalTake to replace it, as that was the only decent PSU available within a 2 hour drive.  Now I have the case laying on its side, so less heat will be directed through the PSU.  We'll see how things go this time around...  Smiley
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!