Bitcoin Forum
April 28, 2017, 08:30:22 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Third card doesn't work  (Read 1009 times)
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:42:28 PM
 #1

I am running Windows 7 32bit
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 AMD 870 DDR3 ATX (SATA 6G/s USB 3.0)
I have 3 XFX 5870

The problem is that I can't get the third card to work. The two that are in pcie x16 slots are working fine. If I plug the third to pcie x1 via extender Windows doesn't recognize it. I've tried dummy plugs and even plugging in monitors, but still no luck.
However, if I take the two card from x16 slots and leave only the one in x1 it boots up fine and I can start mining on it.

What do you guys think could be the problem?
1493368222
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493368222

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493368222
Reply with quote  #2

1493368222
Report to moderator
1493368222
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493368222

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493368222
Reply with quote  #2

1493368222
Report to moderator
1493368222
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493368222

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493368222
Reply with quote  #2

1493368222
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493368222
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493368222

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493368222
Reply with quote  #2

1493368222
Report to moderator
1493368222
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493368222

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493368222
Reply with quote  #2

1493368222
Report to moderator
1493368222
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493368222

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493368222
Reply with quote  #2

1493368222
Report to moderator
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:50:21 PM
 #2

Possibly power?  Is the fan spinning on the card that won't run?  If not, you don't have enough juice running it.

What's your PSU for the setup?
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:53:47 PM
 #3

I got 850W cooler master and read about guys running three card of 700W. Besides, it's the same if I put only one card in x16 and another in x1. The one in x16 works and the one in x1 doesn't. It seems that if there's a card in x16, my computer refuses to look in the x1 slot.
Fan is spinning
Mapatti
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:08:07 PM
 #4

Quote
The PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots share bandwidth with the PCIEX4 slot. When PCIEX4 slot is populated with a x4 card, the PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots become unavailable.

Source:http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3423#sp
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:18:32 PM
 #5

That's bad news.
Mining doesn't require much bandwidth. Any way I could go around this restriction?
alexdrans
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:22:07 PM
 #6

I am running Windows 7 32bit
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 AMD 870 DDR3 ATX (SATA 6G/s USB 3.0)
I have 3 XFX 5870

The problem is that I can't get the third card to work. The two that are in pcie x16 slots are working fine. If I plug the third to pcie x1 via extender Windows doesn't recognize it. I've tried dummy plugs and even plugging in monitors, but still no luck.
However, if I take the two card from x16 slots and leave only the one in x1 it boots up fine and I can start mining on it.

What do you guys think could be the problem?

What're you buying from Overclockers for? You could have saved yourself £30-£45 by buying elsewhere.
Genrobo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:22:42 PM
 #7

It's probably a hardware level transistor that switches it off.
If it's software level, a modified BIOS might do the trick, but if it's board specific... Probably a hardware level transistor switch and you're SOL.

17YwW6cuSbXLT8cvvdAcfy1iHyPkhVE7CG
Donations welcome, not required.
I'll be honest, any donations aren't used for a good cause, they go directly to booze, food, herbal substances Wink, and computer hardware.
I will squander the money, but hell, at least you know one person is having a good time.
Mapatti
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:24:14 PM
 #8

That's bad news.
Mining doesn't require much bandwidth. Any way I could go around this restriction?
Putting 2nd and 3rd card to PCIex1 slot might work.
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:26:14 PM
 #9

That's bad news.
Mining doesn't require much bandwidth. Any way I could go around this restriction?
Putting 2nd and 3rd card to PCIex1 slot might work.

I was thinking exactly the same. Unfortunately I don't have another x16 -> x1 extender
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!