Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 08:30:10 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Third card doesn't work  (Read 983 times)
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:42:28 PM
 #1

I am running Windows 7 32bit
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 AMD 870 DDR3 ATX (SATA 6G/s USB 3.0)
I have 3 XFX 5870

The problem is that I can't get the third card to work. The two that are in pcie x16 slots are working fine. If I plug the third to pcie x1 via extender Windows doesn't recognize it. I've tried dummy plugs and even plugging in monitors, but still no luck.
However, if I take the two card from x16 slots and leave only the one in x1 it boots up fine and I can start mining on it.

What do you guys think could be the problem?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481445010
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481445010

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481445010
Reply with quote  #2

1481445010
Report to moderator
1481445010
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481445010

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481445010
Reply with quote  #2

1481445010
Report to moderator
1481445010
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481445010

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481445010
Reply with quote  #2

1481445010
Report to moderator
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:50:21 PM
 #2

Possibly power?  Is the fan spinning on the card that won't run?  If not, you don't have enough juice running it.

What's your PSU for the setup?
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:53:47 PM
 #3

I got 850W cooler master and read about guys running three card of 700W. Besides, it's the same if I put only one card in x16 and another in x1. The one in x16 works and the one in x1 doesn't. It seems that if there's a card in x16, my computer refuses to look in the x1 slot.
Fan is spinning
Mapatti
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:08:07 PM
 #4

Quote
The PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots share bandwidth with the PCIEX4 slot. When PCIEX4 slot is populated with a x4 card, the PCIEX1_1 and PCIEX1_2 slots become unavailable.

Source:http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3423#sp
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:18:32 PM
 #5

That's bad news.
Mining doesn't require much bandwidth. Any way I could go around this restriction?
alexdrans
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:22:07 PM
 #6

I am running Windows 7 32bit
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 AMD 870 DDR3 ATX (SATA 6G/s USB 3.0)
I have 3 XFX 5870

The problem is that I can't get the third card to work. The two that are in pcie x16 slots are working fine. If I plug the third to pcie x1 via extender Windows doesn't recognize it. I've tried dummy plugs and even plugging in monitors, but still no luck.
However, if I take the two card from x16 slots and leave only the one in x1 it boots up fine and I can start mining on it.

What do you guys think could be the problem?

What're you buying from Overclockers for? You could have saved yourself £30-£45 by buying elsewhere.
Genrobo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:22:42 PM
 #7

It's probably a hardware level transistor that switches it off.
If it's software level, a modified BIOS might do the trick, but if it's board specific... Probably a hardware level transistor switch and you're SOL.

17YwW6cuSbXLT8cvvdAcfy1iHyPkhVE7CG
Donations welcome, not required.
I'll be honest, any donations aren't used for a good cause, they go directly to booze, food, herbal substances Wink, and computer hardware.
I will squander the money, but hell, at least you know one person is having a good time.
Mapatti
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:24:14 PM
 #8

That's bad news.
Mining doesn't require much bandwidth. Any way I could go around this restriction?
Putting 2nd and 3rd card to PCIex1 slot might work.
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:26:14 PM
 #9

That's bad news.
Mining doesn't require much bandwidth. Any way I could go around this restriction?
Putting 2nd and 3rd card to PCIex1 slot might work.

I was thinking exactly the same. Unfortunately I don't have another x16 -> x1 extender
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!