Bitcoin Forum
May 24, 2018, 05:17:15 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Restoring Trezor seed with Electrum Windows crashes  (Read 1527 times)
sipak
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 03, 2015, 09:23:22 AM
 #1

I tried to recover Trezor seed on Electrum Windows, but when I tried to do so, Electrum does nothing (or crashes) after selecting Restore / Hardware wallet > Trezor, typing in the seed and clicking Next. My friend tested the same thing on Linux and it worked. Is it a bug? Any advice?
1527139035
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527139035

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527139035
Reply with quote  #2

1527139035
Report to moderator
1527139035
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527139035

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527139035
Reply with quote  #2

1527139035
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
ColderThanIce
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 03, 2015, 03:04:16 PM
 #2

What version of Electrum are you using? I've heard that some versions are quite buggy with the Trezor so if you're running an older version I'd suggest updating to 2.3.2 and seeing if that helps at all.

ROLLIN.IO  BITCOIN   DICE   GAME
   ⚁    ⚂    ⚃    ⚄   ⚅   ⚁   ⚂
                                        ███████████████████    
                                      ██                                    ██
                                      ██                                    ██              
                                      ██                                    ██ 
                                      ██                                    ██
                                      ██                                    ██
      ██████████████████                                    ██
      ██                            ██                                    ██
      ██                            ██                                    ██  
      ██                            ██                                    ██
      ██                            ██████████            ██████
      ██                            ██              ██          ██
      ██                            ██                 ██       ██
      ██                            ██                    ██    ██
      ███████        ███████                        ████
                ██     ██
                ██  ██
                ████
             
███████████
S  O  C  I  A  L
C H A T T I N G
                    ██
                  ████
                ██████
              ████████
            ██████████
          ████████████
        ██████████████
      ████████████████
    ██████████████████
  ████████████████████ 
              ████████
              ████████

              ████████

              ████████
██████████████
LEVEL UP SYSTEM
   WITH REWADS
                ██████
              ████████
            ██████████
          ████████████
        ██████████████
    ██████████████████
  ████████████████████
█         ████████████████
█         ████████████████
█         ████████████████
█         ████████████████
   ██████████████████ 
     ████████████████
        █████████████
           ██████████
                █████
██████████████
 FREE BITCOINS
sipak
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 06, 2015, 04:16:32 PM
 #3

What version of Electrum are you using? I've heard that some versions are quite buggy with the Trezor so if you're running an older version I'd suggest updating to 2.3.2 and seeing if that helps at all.

I actually use the lastest version Sad
ColderThanIce
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 06, 2015, 07:04:17 PM
 #4

What version of Electrum are you using? I've heard that some versions are quite buggy with the Trezor so if you're running an older version I'd suggest updating to 2.3.2 and seeing if that helps at all.

I actually use the lastest version Sad
In that case I'd suggest to try and reinstall Electrum. I just tested restoring a Trezor seed through Electrum on Windows, and had no issues in doing so. If that doesn't work, try using an older version of Electrum and hopefully that will solve the problem you've been having.

ROLLIN.IO  BITCOIN   DICE   GAME
   ⚁    ⚂    ⚃    ⚄   ⚅   ⚁   ⚂
                                        ███████████████████    
                                      ██                                    ██
                                      ██                                    ██              
                                      ██                                    ██ 
                                      ██                                    ██
                                      ██                                    ██
      ██████████████████                                    ██
      ██                            ██                                    ██
      ██                            ██                                    ██  
      ██                            ██                                    ██
      ██                            ██████████            ██████
      ██                            ██              ██          ██
      ██                            ██                 ██       ██
      ██                            ██                    ██    ██
      ███████        ███████                        ████
                ██     ██
                ██  ██
                ████
             
███████████
S  O  C  I  A  L
C H A T T I N G
                    ██
                  ████
                ██████
              ████████
            ██████████
          ████████████
        ██████████████
      ████████████████
    ██████████████████
  ████████████████████ 
              ████████
              ████████

              ████████

              ████████
██████████████
LEVEL UP SYSTEM
   WITH REWADS
                ██████
              ████████
            ██████████
          ████████████
        ██████████████
    ██████████████████
  ████████████████████
█         ████████████████
█         ████████████████
█         ████████████████
█         ████████████████
   ██████████████████ 
     ████████████████
        █████████████
           ██████████
                █████
██████████████
 FREE BITCOINS
tiberium
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 11, 2015, 09:51:40 PM
 #5

i thought that you could recover your trezor wallet with electrum...

https://doc.satoshilabs.com/trezor-faq/overview.html

Quote
In case your TREZOR is not available you can still recover your bitcoins using your recovery seed and a compatible wallet like Mycelium, Wallet32 or Electrum. Check out our TREZOR Apps for the full list of wallets compatible with the recovery seed.
aweg24re
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 22, 2015, 09:23:55 AM
 #6


Never ever ever enter your Trezor seed words to restore an Electrum Trezor wallet !  The Electrum Restore function does not apply to Trezor.




This is wrong. What happens if you have only one trezor and it gets lost or stolen? You need to recover the wallet and send somewhere safe asap, before you probably can acquire another Trezor.

I haven't been able to get it to work. The wallet is brought up by the seed and/or password, but it errors when you try to send (I'm using 2.4.2.)


http://i.imgur.com/YYQfuKj.png
aweg24re
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 23, 2015, 06:43:36 AM
 #7

You da real MVP if this works. Didn't get this to work just yet, but will have dinner and get back. Yes, TextWrangler rocks. It blows Komodo out of the water. It's very good for doing web development.

As for compromised, yes, I would never use the wallet again once I typed it into anything. It's getting sent to a wiped Trezor asap.

You are correct about pin, but there are other reasons, like doing day to day business. It's been over one day and I haven't been able to find a solution. This is bad if I really needed access.

I posted on reddit my plight trying to restore a 24 word wallet with a password. https://www.reddit.com/r/TREZOR/comments/3hybvw/restoring_a_trezor_wallet_from_a_seed_without/

It is only possible with an Android device with Mycelium. An Android VM won't work, Arc Welder loads Mycelium, but it crashes when you try to restore. The iOS version of Mycelium works great, but only with 12 words. Electrum or it's derivatives do not work on any platform (OSX is the least buggy, and Linux version the most), and Multibit HD is a crippled client, not supporting passwords (which means no plausible deniability too), nor restoration of a seed without a datestamp (it greys it out).

I don't think one should have to specifically buy an ARM processor running a version of Android in order to restore a wallet from the seed!





Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!