Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 02:17:44 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Restoring Trezor seed with Electrum Windows crashes  (Read 1435 times)
sipak
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
August 03, 2015, 09:23:22 AM
 #1

I tried to recover Trezor seed on Electrum Windows, but when I tried to do so, Electrum does nothing (or crashes) after selecting Restore / Hardware wallet > Trezor, typing in the seed and clicking Next. My friend tested the same thing on Linux and it worked. Is it a bug? Any advice?
1508768264
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508768264

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508768264
Reply with quote  #2

1508768264
Report to moderator
1508768264
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508768264

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508768264
Reply with quote  #2

1508768264
Report to moderator
1508768264
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508768264

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508768264
Reply with quote  #2

1508768264
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
ColderThanIce
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 381



View Profile
August 03, 2015, 03:04:16 PM
 #2

What version of Electrum are you using? I've heard that some versions are quite buggy with the Trezor so if you're running an older version I'd suggest updating to 2.3.2 and seeing if that helps at all.

ROLLIN.IO  BITCOIN   DICE   GAME
   ⚁    ⚂    ⚃    ⚄   ⚅   ⚁   ⚂
                                        ███████████████████    
                                      ██                                    ██
                                      ██                                    ██              
                                      ██                                    ██ 
                                      ██                                    ██
                                      ██                                    ██
      ██████████████████                                    ██
      ██                            ██                                    ██
      ██                            ██                                    ██  
      ██                            ██                                    ██
      ██                            ██████████            ██████
      ██                            ██              ██          ██
      ██                            ██                 ██       ██
      ██                            ██                    ██    ██
      ███████        ███████                        ████
                ██     ██
                ██  ██
                ████
             
███████████
S  O  C  I  A  L
C H A T T I N G
                    ██
                  ████
                ██████
              ████████
            ██████████
          ████████████
        ██████████████
      ████████████████
    ██████████████████
  ████████████████████ 
              ████████
              ████████

              ████████

              ████████
██████████████
LEVEL UP SYSTEM
   WITH REWADS
                ██████
              ████████
            ██████████
          ████████████
        ██████████████
    ██████████████████
  ████████████████████
█         ████████████████
█         ████████████████
█         ████████████████
█         ████████████████
   ██████████████████ 
     ████████████████
        █████████████
           ██████████
                █████
██████████████
 FREE BITCOINS
sipak
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
August 06, 2015, 04:16:32 PM
 #3

What version of Electrum are you using? I've heard that some versions are quite buggy with the Trezor so if you're running an older version I'd suggest updating to 2.3.2 and seeing if that helps at all.

I actually use the lastest version Sad
ColderThanIce
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 381



View Profile
August 06, 2015, 07:04:17 PM
 #4

What version of Electrum are you using? I've heard that some versions are quite buggy with the Trezor so if you're running an older version I'd suggest updating to 2.3.2 and seeing if that helps at all.

I actually use the lastest version Sad
In that case I'd suggest to try and reinstall Electrum. I just tested restoring a Trezor seed through Electrum on Windows, and had no issues in doing so. If that doesn't work, try using an older version of Electrum and hopefully that will solve the problem you've been having.

ROLLIN.IO  BITCOIN   DICE   GAME
   ⚁    ⚂    ⚃    ⚄   ⚅   ⚁   ⚂
                                        ███████████████████    
                                      ██                                    ██
                                      ██                                    ██              
                                      ██                                    ██ 
                                      ██                                    ██
                                      ██                                    ██
      ██████████████████                                    ██
      ██                            ██                                    ██
      ██                            ██                                    ██  
      ██                            ██                                    ██
      ██                            ██████████            ██████
      ██                            ██              ██          ██
      ██                            ██                 ██       ██
      ██                            ██                    ██    ██
      ███████        ███████                        ████
                ██     ██
                ██  ██
                ████
             
███████████
S  O  C  I  A  L
C H A T T I N G
                    ██
                  ████
                ██████
              ████████
            ██████████
          ████████████
        ██████████████
      ████████████████
    ██████████████████
  ████████████████████ 
              ████████
              ████████

              ████████

              ████████
██████████████
LEVEL UP SYSTEM
   WITH REWADS
                ██████
              ████████
            ██████████
          ████████████
        ██████████████
    ██████████████████
  ████████████████████
█         ████████████████
█         ████████████████
█         ████████████████
█         ████████████████
   ██████████████████ 
     ████████████████
        █████████████
           ██████████
                █████
██████████████
 FREE BITCOINS
nerioseole
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


View Profile
August 07, 2015, 01:23:58 AM
 #5

I tried to recover Trezor seed on Electrum Windows, but when I tried to do so, Electrum does nothing (or crashes) after selecting Restore / Hardware wallet > Trezor, typing in the seed and clicking Next. My friend tested the same thing on Linux and it worked. Is it a bug? Any advice?
Never ever ever enter your Trezor seed words to restore an Electrum Trezor wallet !  The Electrum Restore function does not apply to Trezor.

Trezor seed words and Electrum seed words are two different things... If the computer is compromised (key logger), and you have typed your Trezor seed words, you might have just said goodbye to your coins inside your Trezor...  

If you are starting fresh with a new Electrum install, just create a new Electrum wallet with your Trezor (select hardware - then, Trezor).  The new part, means a new Electrum pseudo-wallet file, not new Trezor private keys - Electrum doesn't know your Trezor seed words and never will, it only requests your Trezor for its Master Public Key (xpub) and derives your bitcoin addresses from it.

The only way to erase your private keys inside your Trezor, is to use the wipe function on myTrezor.com, or use the cmdtr.py terminal command from python-trezor library.

And that is the beauty about Trezor on Electrum, you can create an Electrum Trezor wallet - use it - loose it - erase it - create a new one again, again, and again - without loosing a coin!
tiberium
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
August 11, 2015, 09:51:40 PM
 #6

i thought that you could recover your trezor wallet with electrum...

https://doc.satoshilabs.com/trezor-faq/overview.html

Quote
In case your TREZOR is not available you can still recover your bitcoins using your recovery seed and a compatible wallet like Mycelium, Wallet32 or Electrum. Check out our TREZOR Apps for the full list of wallets compatible with the recovery seed.
aweg24re
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
August 22, 2015, 09:23:55 AM
 #7


Never ever ever enter your Trezor seed words to restore an Electrum Trezor wallet !  The Electrum Restore function does not apply to Trezor.




This is wrong. What happens if you have only one trezor and it gets lost or stolen? You need to recover the wallet and send somewhere safe asap, before you probably can acquire another Trezor.

I haven't been able to get it to work. The wallet is brought up by the seed and/or password, but it errors when you try to send (I'm using 2.4.2.)


http://i.imgur.com/YYQfuKj.png
nerioseole
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


View Profile
August 23, 2015, 12:11:41 AM
 #8


Never ever ever enter your Trezor seed words to restore an Electrum Trezor wallet !  The Electrum Restore function does not apply to Trezor.




This is wrong. What happens if you have only one trezor and it gets lost or stolen? You need to recover the wallet and send somewhere safe asap, before you probably can acquire another Trezor.

I haven't been able to get it to work. The wallet is brought up by the seed and/or password, but it errors when you try to send (I'm using 2.4.2.)


I stand corrected.  Multibit HD does import a Trezor seed and creates a "soft" wallet with it.  Therefore, it is a bug in Electrum to create only a "watch-only" wallet with the same seed words.  

In Electrum, when Restore > Hardware Wallet > Trezor is selected, Electrum, like MultibitHD,  creates a "soft" Trezor Electrum file, with everything inside, including the Master Extended Private Key and the seed words:  
  - The first window that appears after entering the seed words, is a place to enter the passphrase that you have used when the Trezor seed was created (it is possible that no passphrase was used - I personally don't enter one, unless I want to create a hidden account on my Trezor - that passphrase is like adding a 25th word/phrase).  
  - The second window is to encrypt the Electrum file that contains XPRIV and your seed words in plain text - unless of course you encrypt it with a password in that last window.

The bug:  Electrum identifies this wallet (look at the last line of the file) as a "trezor" wallet type.  This causes Electrum to look for the hardware device every time the file is loaded.  If it doesn't find it, it puts the wallet in "Watch-only" mode, which is why you couldn't send funds from it.   A work around while the bug can be fixed, is to use a text editor (a plain text editor... not a word processor - you don't want to introduce those extra formatting characters in the file - it won't work). Change the wallet type from "trezor" to "standard"  at the last line of the file, save, restart Electrum and load the "soft" Trezor wallet.   It should work.  I was able to do it with v2.4, but not with the latest versions of Electrum.  

But, overall, I still disagree with being able to create a "soft" wallet with the seed.  The minute you start typing those words on a computer, your Trezor has been compromised... One should empty it and never use that wallet again - and new seed words created.

EDIT: to aweg24re: since you seem to be on OSX, note that if you use TextEdit app to modify the file - it won't work.  You have to use a "real" text editor like TextWrangler - available for free on the App Store. This app is also great to look at code!
nerioseole
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


View Profile
August 23, 2015, 12:25:09 AM
 #9

What happens if you have only one trezor and it gets lost or stolen? You need to recover the wallet and send somewhere safe asap, before you probably can acquire another Trezor.

I disagree that you have to rush to get your coins out of your Trezor as soon as it gets lost or stolen (unless your PIN is 1234...). Saying otherwise, implies that the person who will find or stoled the Trezor will attempt to brute force the PIN.  In that regards:

Quote
There's no hard limit to the number of failed attempts. However, there is a firmware enforced delay after a failed pin attempt, and the delay increases very quickly with additional failed attempts.
Technically, the delay is 1.8 raised to the power of the number of failed attempts. Here are the delays for 1-10 and 100 failures. You can see that it quickly gets infeasible to brute force a PIN.
ref: https://www.reddit.com/r/TREZOR/comments/2l9do0/trezor_pin_entry_number_of_allowed_attempts/


So if your PIN is different than:
  -  the most widely used PIN in the world, or
  -  the less widely used PIN, or
  -  your birth year
 (http://www.datagenetics.com/blog/september32012/)
there shouldn't be any urgency to compromise your Trezor seed words by trying an Electrum or MultibitHD restore.

It's all about risk management...
aweg24re
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
August 23, 2015, 06:43:36 AM
 #10

You da real MVP if this works. Didn't get this to work just yet, but will have dinner and get back. Yes, TextWrangler rocks. It blows Komodo out of the water. It's very good for doing web development.

As for compromised, yes, I would never use the wallet again once I typed it into anything. It's getting sent to a wiped Trezor asap.

You are correct about pin, but there are other reasons, like doing day to day business. It's been over one day and I haven't been able to find a solution. This is bad if I really needed access.

I posted on reddit my plight trying to restore a 24 word wallet with a password. https://www.reddit.com/r/TREZOR/comments/3hybvw/restoring_a_trezor_wallet_from_a_seed_without/

It is only possible with an Android device with Mycelium. An Android VM won't work, Arc Welder loads Mycelium, but it crashes when you try to restore. The iOS version of Mycelium works great, but only with 12 words. Electrum or it's derivatives do not work on any platform (OSX is the least buggy, and Linux version the most), and Multibit HD is a crippled client, not supporting passwords (which means no plausible deniability too), nor restoration of a seed without a datestamp (it greys it out).

I don't think one should have to specifically buy an ARM processor running a version of Android in order to restore a wallet from the seed!





Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!