Bitcoin Forum
September 22, 2017, 01:50:31 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can I mine without OpenCL?  (Read 6767 times)
nerp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:13:16 AM
 #1

My GPU chip type is intel series 4, which isn't supported by intel's SDK with their openCL. Is it still possible to mine without openCL (maybe using something else?)
1506088231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506088231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506088231
Reply with quote  #2

1506088231
Report to moderator
1506088231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506088231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506088231
Reply with quote  #2

1506088231
Report to moderator
          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
.
|
.
|
          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
unthy
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506088231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506088231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506088231
Reply with quote  #2

1506088231
Report to moderator
1506088231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506088231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506088231
Reply with quote  #2

1506088231
Report to moderator
1bitc0inplz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:14:23 AM
 #2

You could use your CPU, but don't expect much more than 1 MHash/sec or so.

Mine @ http://pool.bitp.it - No fees, virtually 0 stales, what's not to love!
Chat with us @ #bitp.it on irc.freenode.net
Learn more about our pool @ http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=12181.0
nerp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:29:06 AM
 #3

Will GUIminer use CPU as default if it can't find OpenCL? Otherwise, I'd assume I'd have to change a setting somewhere but I can't find where. Under Device it doesn't even give me an option for CPU, it just says "No OpenCL Devices."
goatpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610

Armory Developer


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:30:13 AM
 #4

Then maybe you don't have an openCL device altogether. What's your gpu?

1bitc0inplz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:39:03 AM
 #5

Will GUIminer use CPU as default if it can't find OpenCL? Otherwise, I'd assume I'd have to change a setting somewhere but I can't find where. Under Device it doesn't even give me an option for CPU, it just says "No OpenCL Devices."

I don't know much about GUIMiner, but I don't think it can use a CPU.

When I used to do CPU mining I used jgarzik's CPU miner. It seemed to work pretty well.

Mine @ http://pool.bitp.it - No fees, virtually 0 stales, what's not to love!
Chat with us @ #bitp.it on irc.freenode.net
Learn more about our pool @ http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=12181.0
RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:48:39 AM
 #6

GUIminer can use a CPU, IF it supports openCL. You change it with device box. If it says "No openCL" then none of your hardware supports it! Try the bitcoin client. Once the blocks load, in Settings-->Generate Coins. If it's going to work, you'll know it! Your CPU will go to 100%. Watch your temps! Wink

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!