Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:25:01 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Motherboards, multiple gpu's  (Read 1759 times)
Wes1180
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:23:57 AM
 #1

I've been looking for a motherboard that would let me have two gpu's for mining (6950's) although it will have to be decent as it is a pc that I use for gaming.

So my question is, does the fact that 1 slot may be x16 but running at x8 make that much of a difference (if any) as the only motherboards that don't are £150 plus ($250)

Here's a couple that I've came across, tell me what you think

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/193443
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/255175

Also if those are no good, or you think there may be ones that are cheaper that may be usefull could you please post a link?
1481415901
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415901

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415901
Reply with quote  #2

1481415901
Report to moderator
1481415901
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415901

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415901
Reply with quote  #2

1481415901
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481415901
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415901

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415901
Reply with quote  #2

1481415901
Report to moderator
1481415901
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415901

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415901
Reply with quote  #2

1481415901
Report to moderator
1481415901
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415901

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415901
Reply with quote  #2

1481415901
Report to moderator
Kain
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:41:16 AM
 #2

I've been looking for a motherboard that would let me have two gpu's for mining (6950's) although it will have to be decent as it is a pc that I use for gaming.

So my question is, does the fact that 1 slot may be x16 but running at x8 make that much of a difference (if any) as the only motherboards that don't are £150 plus ($250)

Here's a couple that I've came across, tell me what you think

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/193443
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/255175

Also if those are no good, or you think there may be ones that are cheaper that may be usefull could you please post a link?
You could just get a motherboard with a 16x and a 1x and use an extender on the 1x to connect to a second card.
For mining purposes, mining through a 1x gives the same hashrate.

You can get said PCIE extender from Cablesaurus in the marketplace forum if you so desire.
Wes1180
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:48:17 AM
 #3

I've been looking for a motherboard that would let me have two gpu's for mining (6950's) although it will have to be decent as it is a pc that I use for gaming.

So my question is, does the fact that 1 slot may be x16 but running at x8 make that much of a difference (if any) as the only motherboards that don't are £150 plus ($250)

Here's a couple that I've came across, tell me what you think

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/193443
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/255175

Also if those are no good, or you think there may be ones that are cheaper that may be usefull could you please post a link?
You could just get a motherboard with a 16x and a 1x and use an extender on the 1x to connect to a second card.
For mining purposes, mining through a 1x gives the same hashrate.

You can get said PCIE extender from Cablesaurus in the marketplace forum if you so desire.

So in that case I can just use the one I have atm, well thank you you've been a great help.
But what is this about dummy plugs, if you are running windows does gpus not in crossfire need a dummy plug in to emulate a screen attached or something?
Just to make sure

"Great for intense gaming & Bitcoin mining" is what it says on the site for the extender, what effect would that have for none mining purposes?
Kain
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:57:05 AM
 #4



So in that case I can just use the one I have atm, well thank you you've been a great help.
But what is this about dummy plugs, if you are running windows does gpus not in crossfire need a dummy plug in to emulate a screen attached or something?
Just to make sure

"Great for intense gaming & Bitcoin mining" is what it says on the site for the extender, what effect would that have for none mining purposes?
I'm not entirely sure.
I think crossfire requires giher voltage, so the dummy plug is to run both GPU's at once without the extra drain.
Of course, I'm not entirely sure, so that information may be completely false.

Since the extender is going through a 1x slot, the gaming performance won't be as amazing, but it will still provide a bit of a boost.
wol-va-rine
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 02:02:38 AM
 #5

I've been looking for a motherboard that would let me have two gpu's for mining (6950's) although it will have to be decent as it is a pc that I use for gaming.

So my question is, does the fact that 1 slot may be x16 but running at x8 make that much of a difference (if any) as the only motherboards that don't are £150 plus ($250)

Here's a couple that I've came across, tell me what you think

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/193443
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/255175

Also if those are no good, or you think there may be ones that are cheaper that may be usefull could you please post a link?
You could just get a motherboard with a 16x and a 1x and use an extender on the 1x to connect to a second card.
For mining purposes, mining through a 1x gives the same hashrate.

You can get said PCIE extender from Cablesaurus in the marketplace forum if you so desire.

or you could get it on ebay for half the price...
bitlock
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 02:11:20 AM
 #6

MSI 870-G45

Inexpesive, works good.....
lonestar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 05:16:37 PM
 #7

MSI 870-G45

Inexpesive, works good.....


Am I looking at it wrong? The MSI 870-G45 looks like it only has 3 total PCIe. Only two of which full size so the third would need an extension, right?
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 06, 2011, 06:26:59 PM
 #8

8x PCIE isn't much of a hit, a few fps here and there, totally inconsequential for mining.

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!