Bitcoin Forum
July 22, 2019, 07:27:25 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 [310] 311 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][SHIFT] The New Web | IPFS/Phantom | ShiftNrg.org Hosted Decentralized!  (Read 539473 times)
jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 106


View Profile
May 16, 2019, 06:00:43 PM
 #6181

Okay if i don't activate the 2nd passphrase, could i still have a password that i need to enter before i send shift?  Example i turn on computer, have to put in password to open wallet.  Now in the wallet, i want to send shift.  I want to have to enter a password before shift gets sent.


Could i do this without the 2nd passphrase or is that needed?  You say that 2nd passphrase is for sending/confirming but is it what im talking about here?



Example with electrum, i log into it and then put in my password.  Then when i want to send btc, it ask for my password etc.  I want to do it like electrum with shift.
1563823645
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563823645

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563823645
Reply with quote  #2

1563823645
Report to moderator
1563823645
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563823645

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563823645
Reply with quote  #2

1563823645
Report to moderator
1563823645
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563823645

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563823645
Reply with quote  #2

1563823645
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1563823645
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563823645

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563823645
Reply with quote  #2

1563823645
Report to moderator
1563823645
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563823645

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563823645
Reply with quote  #2

1563823645
Report to moderator
1563823645
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563823645

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563823645
Reply with quote  #2

1563823645
Report to moderator
free-bit.co.in
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 519


Free Crypto in Stake.com Telegram t.me/StakeCasino


View Profile
May 18, 2019, 10:13:19 PM
 #6182

To enter into your the Shift wallet, you need the 12 words that's the password (passphrase). You don't need anything else, no file backup. Your Shift wallet is generated from the unique 12 words and you enter into your Shift wallet with that.

That's why the second 12 words is good to have activated (for sending transactions). 1st 12 words for generating/entering your wallet and the second 12 words for sending transactions. No other options, only the 12 words.

jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 106


View Profile
May 18, 2019, 10:32:07 PM
 #6183

Hi.  So just to confirm this.  When you create a shift wallet, you get a 12 word passphrase like you do with say electrum etc.  Now let say you do not put a second passphrase.  When you turn on your laptop and open the shift wallet, will it display your wallet automatically and your balance and anyone could send the shift if they had access to your computer at that moment?


Everytime you open the shift wallet from your computer, you have to copy/paste the 12 word passphrase each time?  In electrum, you get to choose a password if you want to not have your balance shown in wallet when you turn on electrum and when you send btc from it.  Thus to be more secure, you put a password because when you do this, someone who turns on your computer or has access to your computer, they cannot view your btc balance on electrum... and also they can't send btc from it unless they have your electrum password.  Almost all people put a password for sending btc with electrum.  But not all ppl would enable the not show balance etc. 
But obviously you should because that way no one know how much btc you have in electrum when you turn it on.



So with shift, the 2nd passphrase is for sending transactions.  But you cannot put your own password or passphrase for sending shift?  I find that a bit strange. 
jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 106


View Profile
May 18, 2019, 10:41:45 PM
 #6184

Also you say best to put a 2nd passphrase for security as anyone who has your 12 word passphrase cannot send the shift from the wallet.


So the 2nd passphrase for sending shift from the shift wallet... do you make up the 2nd passphrase yourself as you choose the passphrase/password for it?  Or does the shift wallet generate that for you as well and thus you don't have that option to put your own password?
free-bit.co.in
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 519


Free Crypto in Stake.com Telegram t.me/StakeCasino


View Profile
May 18, 2019, 10:48:22 PM
 #6185

Hi.  So just to confirm this.  When you create a shift wallet, you get a 12 word passphrase like you do with say electrum etc.  Now let say you do not put a second passphrase.  When you turn on your laptop and open the shift wallet, will it display your wallet automatically and your balance and anyone could send the shift if they had access to your computer at that moment?


Everytime you open the shift wallet from your computer, you have to copy/paste the 12 word passphrase each time?  In electrum, you get to choose a password if you want to not have your balance shown in wallet when you turn on electrum and when you send btc from it.  Thus to be more secure, you put a password because when you do this, someone who turns on your computer or has access to your computer, they cannot view your btc balance on electrum... and also they can't send btc from it unless they have your electrum password.  Almost all people put a password for sending btc with electrum.  But not all ppl would enable the not show balance etc.  
But obviously you should because that way no one know how much btc you have in electrum when you turn it on.



So with shift, the 2nd passphrase is for sending transactions.  But you cannot put your own password or passphrase for sending shift?  I find that a bit strange.  

Every time you launch your Shift wallet you need to enter the 12 words or you have the option to save your public address and next time you open your Shift wallet you can automatically see your Shift balance and transactions.
Quote
Saved accounts: This will save public key of your account on this device, so next time it will launch without the need to log in. However, you will be prompted to enter the passphrase once you want to do any transaction.

Then if you have only the 1st passphrase activated , enter it to make a transaction. No password is possible to choose.

Don't copy/paste your passphrase, that's is a bad idea..

Also you say best to put a 2nd passphrase for security as anyone who has your 12 word passphrase cannot send the shift from the wallet.


So the 2nd passphrase for sending shift from the shift wallet... do you make up the 2nd passphrase yourself as you choose the passphrase/password for it?  Or does the shift wallet generate that for you as well and thus you don't have that option to put your own password?


The second passphrase is a additional security for your Shift wallet.

Yes, I have it activated..Shift wallet securely generates it itself. You don't have a option to put a password only the passphrases. Same thing is having the Lisk and Ark wallets.  

jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 106


View Profile
May 18, 2019, 11:28:17 PM
 #6186

Hi.  So everytime you launch shift, you manually type in the 12 word seed?  Or you save your public address and next time you open it, you see your shift balance and transactions?  So the 2nd option is not that safe right since someone with access to your computer, assuming you don't have a password to the windows computer, thus make it not safe?  I do have my laptop encrypted though windows.


So you basically write your passphrase on a sheet of paper and anytime you want to access shift wallet, you look at it?  That seems a bit frustrating don't you agree?  Because for electrum and many wallets, we put a password and usually store that password in a program like lastpass or keepass to log in.


So basically the 2nd passphrase is if someone gets access to your 12 word passphrase, they still need the 2nd passphrase in order to send shift right?  Thus imagine someone got your 12 word shift passphrase, enter it on their computer.  But they can't do anything to the wallet access watch it right?  Thus it would be like watch only?


Don't you think that sucks that you can't put your own password for sending shift? 


I'm surprised they don't give you that option.





jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 106


View Profile
May 19, 2019, 06:23:49 AM
 #6187

Hi there.  So to confirm, best to have a 2nd passphrase.  But if you choose this, shift will generate it for you?  Thus you can't choose your own password for the 2nd passphrase?  That sucks that you can't pick your own password for the sending.


free-bit.co.in
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 519


Free Crypto in Stake.com Telegram t.me/StakeCasino


View Profile
May 19, 2019, 06:47:22 AM
 #6188

Hi there.  So to confirm, best to have a 2nd passphrase.  But if you choose this, shift will generate it for you?  Thus you can't choose your own password for the 2nd passphrase?  That sucks that you can't pick your own password for the sending.




Yes, it's best to have the 2nd passphrase, yes shift will generate it for you just like the first passphrase.You can't choose your own. I like it that way, the passphrase generated from Shift wallet is more secure and random than any password you can imagine on your own.

jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 106


View Profile
May 20, 2019, 07:42:40 PM
 #6189

Hi.  I am going to download the wallet now. 


Okay to make sure everything is fine, download the wallet and have 2 passphrases.  Then when i send shift from an exchange to it, its pretty simple right?  Should i try testing a small shift withdraw from exchange to shift wallet to make sure it works first?  Or its fine sending shift from exchange to wallet at once? 
free-bit.co.in
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 519


Free Crypto in Stake.com Telegram t.me/StakeCasino


View Profile
May 21, 2019, 09:06:17 PM
 #6190

Hi.  I am going to download the wallet now. 


Okay to make sure everything is fine, download the wallet and have 2 passphrases.  Then when i send shift from an exchange to it, its pretty simple right?  Should i try testing a small shift withdraw from exchange to shift wallet to make sure it works first?  Or its fine sending shift from exchange to wallet at once? 

You can first send a small ammount to test it, just make sure that you're sending to the right Shift address. Check it twice. Smiley

You can only activate the second passphrase when you have some Shift in your wallet, because the activation of the second passphrase muss be cemented into the blockchain as a type of transaction.

jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 106


View Profile
May 22, 2019, 06:36:36 PM
 #6191

Hi there.  I created the shift nano wallet. 


I got the passphrase that was created.


Now i will have shift sent from exchange to the shift wallet.  When i click receive shift, then have shift sent from exchange to shift wallet, then there will be some option in edit/view/window to do the 2nd paraphrase correct?  Or would it ask me the moment i log into shift to do a 2nd passphrase?


And when i do this, should i bother testing it out and send shift or there is no point of doing this after receiving the shift??  Such as send a tiny bit of shift to the exchange and then receive back?  Or there is no purpose of this as long as i make sure i have the 2nd passphrase correct?


Also the shift address ends with the letters.  Its long numbers and then the letter s.  Is that how all shift addresses are?


Also you say its more safer having the 2nd passphrase enabled in order to send/receive shift.  This is what confuses me a bit.  Well if the login is the 12 word passphrase, and the 2nd 12 word passphrase is to send the shift, someone would need both passphrases.  But wouldn't you be physically keeping both passphrases in the same place etc?  Now say it was a password you create yourself in order to be able to send shift... i could understand that as you could memorize it.  Do you have opinion on this?




jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 106


View Profile
May 22, 2019, 06:37:50 PM
 #6192

Also i assume there is really no point in sending a test amount of shift from exchange to the shift wallet right?


When i have shift wallet opened, it basically shows the address ... which is long numbers and ends with the letter S.


It seems as straightforward as it could be for receiving shift?
jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 106


View Profile
May 23, 2019, 12:12:04 AM
 #6193

I requested shift from an exchange to my wallet.  I did not register 2nd passphrase or do anything like this yet. 


It shows the shift was sent from the exchange as it shows as authorized and completed on the exchange details.  But it still doesn't appear in my shift wallet.


Does it take a while for the shift to be received?  Or its probably because the exchange might take a while?  It was in pending for a short while and then shows up as completed in my withdraw history.  Its bittrex if it means anything.
jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 106


View Profile
May 23, 2019, 12:24:36 AM
 #6194

I did not have to register as delegate or anything like that with my shift nano wallet before i had shift sent from bittrex to shift right?


I logged in and out of my shift nano wallet few times and there still shows 0 shift.


But bittrex shows that the withdraw has been completed.
jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 106


View Profile
May 23, 2019, 02:48:59 AM
 #6195

I forgot to mention one other thing.  I notice when i log into my shift wallet, the network is testnet.  I then clicked on the scroll and there is option of mainnet or custom node.  Did i had to change it to mainnet?


When i first created the wallet, I don't think there was an option to do that?  Or you could have chosen mainnet? 



So do i log in to the mainnet with my passphrase?  Will it then show the shift i have?  When i login to the testnet as that is the default and enter my passphrase, there is 0 shift showing.  Im really worried now because the txid showed that there are over 200 plus confirmations already.  I mean my shift address in the testnet is still a legit shift address right?  Really concerned now because i had shift sent from exchange to the address and there is 0 shift showing.  Anyone with shift nano wallet can help here?
jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 106


View Profile
May 23, 2019, 02:56:16 AM
 #6196

Shift is the coin.


The other thing i notice is this.


When i log into my shift nano wallet, it shows testnet.  That is the default for shift wallet.  I notice there is option of mainnet or custom node but i never changed it to that because i didn't know you could do this.


I typed in the txid into the shift explorer from the explorer on coinmarketcap... it shows over 200 confirmations.





However what is strange is when i type in shift testnet in google,


It shows


https://explorer.testnet.shift.shiftnrg.org



and



https://explorer/shiftnrg.org




I entered the txid into the 2nd one as that is the one shown on coinmarketcap.  But it shows the transaction as confirmed in the 2nd one.  So do i type it in the 1st link on google?


The thing is the shift address i have in my wallet, is the address that the shift was sent to.
jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 106


View Profile
May 23, 2019, 03:26:28 AM
 #6197

Hey all really desperate now.


I have the 12 word passphrase.  So i can't get these coins? 


The thing is when i first created an account, im not sure if i clicked on new account to create a wallet or it just automatically created a wallet for me.  Then i wrote down my 12 word passphrase.  Then i logged out of it... then logged back in the shift wallet to make sure my 12 word phrase worked.  When i logged back in, i just typed in my 12 word phrase.  I never even really looked at the testnet thing because it was just there as default.  Basically it shows top line English then testnet below it.


Then i had shift sent from exchange to the shift wallet as the address is right there when you open the wallet.


I mean you can't even tell there is an option to change testnet to something else because its hard to even notice the arrow where there is dropdown menu.    Its all the way on the far right.  It does say Select a network above testnet but even if i noticed that, i wouldn't even had changed it.


Can someone tell me if i could login to the mainnet and use the 12 word passphrase and the shift would show up there?


So there is no way to recover my shift?  If so, why in the world would it show the default as testnet?  Any shift users can help out on this?
jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 106


View Profile
May 23, 2019, 05:02:57 AM
 #6198

Hey all.  I changed it to mainnet and typed in my 12 word phrase and i had to do a confirmation sending and it worked.



Again im wondering if i did create this shift wallet in testnet or not?


I mean i could have created it in mainnet... then logged out.  Then accidentally logged in again with testnet but i dont think this happened.  I think i might have accidentally clicked on testnet before i clicked on new account right?   Someone who was helping me downloaded the wallet and told me when he opened it... it was set as mainnet. 




free-bit.co.in
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 519


Free Crypto in Stake.com Telegram t.me/StakeCasino


View Profile
May 23, 2019, 05:21:51 AM
 #6199

Hey all.  I changed it to mainnet and typed in my 12 word phrase and i had to do a confirmation sending and it worked.



Again im wondering if i did create this shift wallet in testnet or not?


I mean i could have created it in mainnet... then logged out.  Then accidentally logged in again with testnet but i dont think this happened.  I think i might have accidentally clicked on testnet before i clicked on new account right?   Someone who was helping me downloaded the wallet and told me when he opened it... it was set as mainnet. 






You have created the wallet in mainnet because the default landing is on mainnet when you open your Shift wallet. You have probably switched accidentally later after logging out and login in to testnet.

jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 106


View Profile
May 23, 2019, 05:54:47 AM
 #6200

Hi there.  That is what i thought as well.  But could you create the wallet in testnet?  Example you change it from mainnet to testnet.  Then create an account.  If you have shift sent from exchange to shift... would it work or not?  Would it get rejected because the address is not valid?  Or would it get sent and you get your shift?  But if you do, would it be in mainnet or testnet?  Is it possible to have shift coins lost if you created it with testnet... then have shift sent from exchange to the address shown in testnet?

Pages: « 1 ... 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 [310] 311 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!