Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 01:18:36 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone sucessfully underclocked Sapphire 5830 memory? (linux/headless)  (Read 1631 times)
leepfrog
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

Hopity Hopity Hop


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 09:19:29 AM
 #1

Hey there,

atm I am running my 5830 @ 975/900 because this is the lowest memory clock aticonfig will let me go.
I am using a ubuntu 11 headless setup.

I've read that some ppl were able to lower the aticonfig threshold via AMDOverdriveCtrl, however I had no luck.

My config file looks similar to this:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<OVERDRIVE_PROFILE>
  <PERFORMANCE_LEVEL level="2" gpu="97500" mem="30000" voltage="1160"/>
  <PERFORMANCE_LEVEL level="1" gpu="55000" mem="15000" voltage="1038"/>
  <PERFORMANCE_LEVEL level="0" gpu="15700" mem="15000" voltage="950"/>
  <FAN_SETTING percentage="90"/>
</OVERDRIVE_PROFILE>

When I execute it it simply hangs while trying to apply the settings:

Code:
DISPLAY=:0.0 AMDOverdriveCtrl -b -i 0 odp_gpu0.conf
INF: Nr. of Adapters: 13
INF: Adapter index: 0, active, ID:24809776, ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
INF: Adapter index: 1, inact., ID:24809776, ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
INF: Adapter index: 2, inact., ID:24809776, ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
INF: Adapter index: 3, active, ID:25374400, ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
INF: Adapter index: 4, inact., ID:25374400, ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
INF: Adapter index: 5, inact., ID:25374400, ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
INF: Adapter index: 6, active, ID:25938480, ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
INF: Adapter index: 7, inact., ID:25938480, ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
INF: Adapter index: 8, inact., ID:25938480, ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
INF: Adapter index: 9, active, ID:26504608, AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
INF: Adapter index: 10, inact., ID:26504608, AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
INF: Adapter index: 11, inact., ID:26504608, AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
INF: Adapter index: 12, inact., ID:26504608, AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
INF: Adapter index 0 choosen.
INF: Nr. of Performance Levels: 3
INF: Perf Level 0: GPU 157MHz Memory 300MHz Voltage 0.95V
INF: Perf Level 1: GPU 600MHz Memory 900MHz Voltage 1.063V
INF: Perf Level 2: GPU 800MHz Memory 1000MHz Voltage 1.163V
ACT: Set fan speed to default
INF: Nr. of Displays to check 4
WRN: color temperature setting not supported.
ACT: Fan speed set to 90%
ACT: SetOverdriveValues: Level 0: 157MHz, 300MHz, MHz, 0.95V
ACT: SetOverdriveValues: Level 1: 550MHz, 300MHz, MHz, 1.038V
ACT: SetOverdriveValues: Level 2: 975MHz, 300MHz, MHz, 1.16V

There is actually no further output after the last line and the script continues to run (=> does not return to the shell).

Any ideas?

-----Crypto--Investor----Family--Guy-----All--Around--Winner----
1481332716
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481332716

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481332716
Reply with quote  #2

1481332716
Report to moderator
1481332716
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481332716

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481332716
Reply with quote  #2

1481332716
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481332716
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481332716

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481332716
Reply with quote  #2

1481332716
Report to moderator
1481332716
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481332716

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481332716
Reply with quote  #2

1481332716
Report to moderator
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 09:39:46 AM
 #2

You will have the best of luck booting into windows and using "RBE".

Look it up, far too much to explain here and they have a great tutorial on their website.
leepfrog
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

Hopity Hopity Hop


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 11:01:55 AM
 #3

Well I know I could flash the bios but there is a clearly higher risk of breaking stuff.
So I'd prefer to simply perform this changes on system startup where I just need to comment out a script to have the normal settings in effect.

-----Crypto--Investor----Family--Guy-----All--Around--Winner----
frozen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
June 03, 2011, 06:05:36 PM
 #4

The 5830's I am using are in fact flashed, but I recall being able to underclock to 300Mhz even before that.

Are you able to open up AMDOverdriveCtrl normally and underclock the memory from GUI interface?

exahash
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 276



View Profile
June 03, 2011, 06:37:26 PM
 #5

It's hanging because it's putting an error message up on the console.  It's ok to do a ctrl-c when that happens.

What does "aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all" show after you run your AMDOverdriveCtrl command?  You should always use that to see whether your AMDOverdriveCtrl settings took or not.

Looking at your config file, I'm guessing AMDOverdriveCtrl doesn't like you changing the voltage, even by .003 volts, and/or that 150 is too low for your mem clock.  Roll Eyes

I ran into the same exact problems when I started playing with AMDOverdriveCtrl.

Try copying your default.ovdr and changing only the mem clocks in it (set all three levels to 30000) - don't touch anything else, you want the GPU clocks and voltages stock to test - and see if it will load. 

After that, try tweaking the GPU clocks.  Wait to touch the voltage till last.  If you don't have a reference card, AMDOverdriveCtrl probably won't be able to tweak the voltages.
CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 06:45:52 PM
 #6

Can you use AMDovrdrvctrl to tweak voltages on non reference GPU's?   I am not having any luck finding something that will let me tweak my voltages in Linux like I can in Ubuntu.
twitcoins
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 06:49:54 PM
 #7

Try -i 0 , 3, 6, and 9.  Other than that your .ovdr looks pretty good AFAICT.
leepfrog
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

Hopity Hopity Hop


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 07:10:09 PM
 #8

Thanks for the numerous responses!

@frozen: This is a headless setup - so no monitor attached => no GUI :S
@Monoquark: yes, I did try that, no change to the problem
@exahash: My understanding is that the program should return to shell when it executed correctly as it -b stands for "batch mode". It seems as if something from the update process is hanging and is not allowed to finish.

aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all still displays the original threshold (900mhz). I've used the script like that which should be a valid configuration (the 3 settings at the top represent the settings current in effect, the lower ones are the settings I want to apply.. still it hangs):

Code:
INF: Nr. of Performance Levels: 3
INF: Perf Level 0: GPU 157MHz Memory 300MHz Voltage 0.95V
INF: Perf Level 1: GPU 600MHz Memory 900MHz Voltage 1.063V
INF: Perf Level 2: GPU 875MHz Memory 900MHz Voltage 1.163V
ACT: Set fan speed to default
INF: Nr. of Displays to check 4
WRN: color temperature setting not supported.
ACT: Fan speed set to 90%
ACT: SetOverdriveValues: Level 0: 800MHz, 300MHz, MHz, 0.95V
ACT: SetOverdriveValues: Level 1: 800MHz, 300MHz, MHz, 1.063V
ACT: SetOverdriveValues: Level 2: 975MHz, 300MHz, MHz, 1.163V
I wonder if the "color temperature" warning is relevant although I did not specify anything like that in the config file.

---------
That is the point while writing when I realize that there are actually predefined .ovdr files located in /root/.AMDOverdriveCtrl/ ...
>_<
until now I've tried to apply other scripts I found in the forum which indeed seemd to be the problem as the voltage cannot be changed..

Thanks again for all replies.. when I have tested more thoroghly I might post an easy to understand tutorial.

-----Crypto--Investor----Family--Guy-----All--Around--Winner----
twitcoins
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 07:11:34 PM
 #9

Color profile warning is irrelevant.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!