Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2018, 09:39:57 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin can't open socket - error 10013  (Read 2696 times)
hrafn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 03:06:11 PM
 #1

Bitcoin installed okay, but every time I attempt to start it I receive a socket error 10013.  I have created a port forward for TCP on 8333 on my router and an application rule in Comodo for Bitcoin.  Any suggestions or advice would be welcome.  Thanks in advance,
1524605997
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524605997

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524605997
Reply with quote  #2

1524605997
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524605997
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524605997

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524605997
Reply with quote  #2

1524605997
Report to moderator
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 03:26:17 PM
 #2

Check if your antivirus program. It may be blocking bitcoin
hrafn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 04:00:14 PM
 #3

I have checked and the AV does not appear to be an issue.  If I run an external scan of port 8333 (http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/portStatus.php) it reports that the port is closed, but that could be because a corresponding request has not been created on that port from within. 

Bitcoin basically will not start, attempting to start it simply gives me the socket error message.  Any ideas?
hrafn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 04:10:15 PM
 #4

Never mind, I just figured it out.  Despite my having created application rules for bitcoin within Comodo, somewhere along the line the file was tagged as "unidentified" which meant that it was partially limited.  It is now "trusted" and bitcoin starts.  On to the next step...
FreedomCoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 621
Merit: 500


Freedom to choose


View Profile
November 01, 2013, 01:11:33 PM
 #5

I realize i am resurrecting a old thread but i had this same problem when editing the Comodo's registry. I was getting this socket error and could not connect to any of my miners or wallets. I uninstalled Comodo and resolved the issue. Adding the batch files and exe's to the trusted apps did not resolve the issue.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!